We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chippewa Village
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
US$767
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$469
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
31
14
1
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
14
1
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswindow unittwo double bedsmini fridgethe cottagesloftpropertyjamaicabeach
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I traveled to Negril with 4 other friends, all female. John (The owner) helped us straight away with a tipping crazy taxi driver! Had the most amazing time whilst we stayed here. The rooms were perfect and the people staying were really friendly and full of great advice for 5 girls with a very tight budget! John's home made bread is to die for! Give him the ingredients and he will happily help you out :) He made our stay worthwhile and I will absolutely be re-visiting in the near future! Thanks John you were great! x

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingaddict15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My husband and I have travelled fairly extensively around Jamaica and were very satisfied with our stay at Chippewa village. As other travellers have commented, owner John is an excellent host – very knowledgeable, helpful and generous. He made us feel really welcome.

The guesthouse is well located in Negril-both for beaches, eating out and nightlife. After a couple of days on the beach in Negril we were really relieved to be staying on the Morass (wetland) side, as opposed to staying right on the beach.

Chippewa is really peaceful with lots of on-site outdoor chilling spots daytime and evening. The porches, lounge and pool area are lovely during the day and under the stars. The shaded platform John has built extends out into the Morass , offering supreme relaxation and nature appreciation – we recommend taking breakfast/coffee out there.

An excellent choice for independent travellers on a mid-range budget. If you stay at Chipppewa you can enjoy Negril but also have the possibility to escape from the constant frenetic beach hustle and beach-front all-inclusive hotels. We’ll definitely be staying there again next time we’re in Negril.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebozid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We recentley travelled to Negril, Jamaica this past January. We found Chippewa Village on the internet. Room price was reasonable and it is hidden back away from the road and beach resorts. It is a tropical paradise, with over 100 species of various tropical lovelies! Great bird watching too. Tons of parrots, red headed woodpecker, song birds and hummingbirds. This unique hideaway also backs up to the Great Negril Morass, with the mountains and royal palm groves at the foot of the mountains. A more glorious sunrise have never seen! John Babcook the owner, is an awesome host. He took us to town for banking and groceries, he is also and excellent baker. He delievered fresh made bread hot from the oven. Wonderful hospitality!! We spent ten wonderful days at Chippewa village and we will be returning next year for sure!! This is not a hotel, it is more of a retreat. I called it Jamaican camping. If you are looking for a posh resort, this is not for you. If you love the outdoors and camping and just the essentials, then you will love this place. You need to be self sufficient to stay here. No one is going to wait on you hand and foot. Nadine and Neville who are staff there along with John are very accomodating and friendly. John also has three dogs who are friendly and came to visit me every morning at the penthouse. Yes those dogs climb stairs!! The entire compound is rustic. We were also able to enjoy a few radio controlled air shows from some of John's friends who are enthusiasts and come nightly to fly their planes on John's airstrip. Very cool to watch.
We felt very safe and secluded. What more do you need when you are there for the weather? If you are beach bums like us, you will find everything you need at Chippewa Village. Best jerk chicken stand in the world is right at the end of the driveway. Also many little local run restaurants for breakfast and dinner are within walking distance. Along with all the resorts across the road on the beach side of the highway.
Best vacation so far and we have been travelling for years all over the Carribean and Mexico. We will be back John.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank respectandlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Warm, cozy atmosphere which is personified by an excellent hotel owner and manager. Good sized rooms with native American adornments, which are kept clean and tidy. Air conditioning, fridge and safety deposit boxes appear to be part and parcell of each room and room rates are relatively low. What makes the place however is the friendliness and generosity of the owner (trips to the store, access to laptop facilities etc) and his lovely pack of dogs which make you feel extremely safe and close to home. The hotel/guest house also has a swimming pool, library/television room, and a great view of the great morass (swamps) from a hotel built viewing platform. A mere 5 minute walk to the 7 mile beach adds to the excellent location.... Oh and an excellent local jerk restaurant is just next door.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darragh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

As a female traveling alone, I wondered how to enjoy all Jamaica has to offer on my own. The owner of Chippewa was so accomidating. I had a charming apartment designed and built by him. A master woodworker, chef, and clothing maker. The pool was spectacular and so many places on the property to enjoy the moonlight. His Eco friendly nature trail winds through the property. A walk across the street puts you on the best part of Negril's 7 mile beach. True Jamaican style, crystal blue waters. No need for a car, everything you need is in the neighborhood. I would recommend Chippewa Village to anyone. I will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews