We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 April 2014

When I contacted Melissa from Beach Bum Vacations about a trip for my daughter's 18th birthday and Spring Break, she provided me with a few possibilities. My daughter and I chose Negril and the Azul Sensatori. This was by far the BEST vacation! As we stepped off the bus, we were greated with cool cloths and cold champagne. The staff knew our names and wished my daughter a happy birthday. Carlos took us on a tour of the resort on the way to our room. We were expecting a single room, but we were pleasantly surprised to be given a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with a large sitting room. As we settled into the room, room service arrived with a birthday cake and chocolates for my daughter. We had a gorgeous view of the ocean with the beach and a pool just steps from our door. The staff was incredible! Claudia, our hostess at the Palms cafe, always greeted us by name. Dwight, who was frequently our waiter at the Palms, was friendly and quick to get me coffee. Odane, one of the lifeguards, reserved our cabana and chairs for us every morning. He was friendly and helpful. O'Ryan and Shellian kept us entertained. The staff went out of the way to see to our comfort and by the end of our stay we felt like family. The food was fantastic...there's nothing tastier than Jamaican jerk! Make sure to book the sunset cruise from the Watersports company next door. Robert and Martin will take excellent care of you! Overall, I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! As the renovations are completed this destination will get even better. We hope to return to see our Jamaican friends someday soon.

Room Tip: Definitely request an ocean view room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,973)
There are newer reviews for Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,751 - 1,757 of 1,972 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Where should I start

The flight:

We flew with the sunwing airline to Montego Bay the plane was a bit too small but we managed

The line:

The customs line took about 1.5-2 hours and there was not much air conditioning, all you could do was look at the mural of a beach and wait

Arrival:

It was a 2 hour long bus ride to the resort but when we arrived everything was great. They showed us around the resort and led us to our room

The room:

The room was small with only one bathroom, bedroom and a pullout couch, and not much closet space.

Service:

The serving was definitely the best out of any resort we've been to 24 hour room service, and were always nice

Excursions:

We went snorkelling and saw many different and interesting types of fish, we also went to ricks cafe which was also very fun

Negatives:

The only negative was the construction but it should be done by the end of May

Overall a great vacation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bestreviews113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My family and I just returned a 1 week stay at Azul Sensatori~Negril. Last year we went to Azul Beaches in Cancun and wanted to stay with an Azul property but a different location. Although it is still under construction, it didn't make a difference to us. We have 2 ~ 11 year olds and stayed in the Ocean view Family Loft Suite. We had so much space and it was very clean. The beaches are fabulous!!! The STAFF!!! Where do I start?? They are AMAZING!! They are genuinely nice people and will do anything for you. My kids became so attached to many of them as they really help make their vacation. Gary, Kevan, Shelly, Oryan, Christina, Lensworth and many many more. I do hope that they make some of the swim up rooms "family" rooms similar to those at Azul Beaches once the Adult section is completed. My kids really enjoy the swim up rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed for 8 days at this resort, from 3/14-3/22. I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff is, they really couldn't be nicer or do more for their guests. We used to stay here when it was Beaches Sandy Bay and the renovations the new owners did are very impressive. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit and the accommodations were absolutely perfect and spacious. The pools they added are awesome and the swim up bar with Christina as bartender are the best addition! Restaurants were all good but we especially loved the breakfast and lunch service at The Palms - Dwight, Anthony and Marion were always there to fill our coffee cups and orange juice glasses and they were so upbeat, happy and always with a smile - we loved them! Now on to the beach....you will really be missing one of the best parts if you don 't use Stanley's Deep Sea Fishing Service for the sunset cruise! We did that twice and it was one of the best parts of our trip. Martin, Robert, Djayne (sp?) and Jacko as captain made for an extremely fun and beautiful experience - 3 hours cruising 7 mile beach with a swim to the caves was as beautiful to me as the Amalfi Coast in Italy which we just did last August - no joke, this part of Jamaica literally is as beautiful as that to us. And Gary McCormack, who is a lifeguard at the resort - when I asked the owner for permission - was able to come with us and he made sure my 7-year old got to swim in the caves and my son can't stop talking about those caves. He also can't stop talking about how much he loved Gary the lifeguard who played football every day with my son and really made him feel special. We will never forget Gary! My son cried when we left because he was going to miss the locals so much - he really fell in love with the Jamaican people. The entertainment was also very good - especially when they did the beach party with live music and dancers, that was our favorite. We travel 2-3 times a year and this was by far, one of the best vacations we ever had, and that's saying a lot! We will always come to this resort when we visit Negril!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jon811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Azul Sansatori-Negril Resort is definitely a 5-star. Small property with lots of charm. My husband and I celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary at this hotel on 15 Mar 14. Wherever you looked there were staff everywhere. we were greeted and taken to the lounge where we were given a nice glass of champagne. While we drank this a member of the staff booked us in. Within a few minutes we were taken to our hotel room that had a "swim up" area located outside the balcony door with a cabana. We had a wonderful time. The hotel was extremely beautiful and exceeded my expectations. . Hotel facilities were great but what really exceeded our expectations was the staff who were extremely friendly and made our stay a memorable one. Front Desk Staff: Tineta Thorpe and Christopher Brown; Concierge: Measha Lews; Bellman: Carlos Spence; Dining Room: Damien, Junior, and Simone; Entertainment: Kevan. The managers, Mr. Marvin Grant and Mr. Andrew Cummings should be very thankful to have a wonderful staff on their team that cares about providing good hospitality to their customers.

The hotel is immaculately maintained and the rooms are kept spotless and are cleaned every day. The food is second to none and we ate there most nights out of choice rather than necessity.

The pool area is beautiful and very relaxing with plenty of loungers so much so that you can actually hear the blood rushing through your veins. The 7-mile beach is amazing.The hotel had entertainment every night which was just superb.

Room Tip: Choose a "swim-up" room with cabana. More relaxing and easy access to swim-up bar.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Wonderful time at Azul. Small resort, which we found much better then some of the gargantuan ones we've stayed at. Still under construction is some spots, so there is a bit of noise. Great beach!!! Rooms, we had a family of 4 staying in a one bedroom with a pullout for the boys. It was not the best solution, but was passable.

Staff, absolutely A1, terrific service!!!!!

Food, perhaps not to foodie specs but we enjoyed it thoroughly.

Still trying to understand how the Karisma vacation club thing works, we passed on it.

Overall, a great week!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank P_Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We are a family of 2 Adults and 2 teens that just recently returned from a one week stay at the Azul Sensatori Negril. What a Wonderful Vacation!!!

There were a few disappointments but overall it was a fantastic holiday and we can't wait to return.

Travel:
We flew Sunwing from Toronto. The plane was a pretty tight fit, not a lot of leg room even if you upgrade your seats. The flight itself was pleasant enough. Once we arrived at the Montego Bay airport it took approximately 2 hours to get through the extremely long line for customs. Be prepared for a hot sweaty wait. The bus ride to the resort took another two hours, this was comfortable and had some nice views.

Arrival:
We were greeted with a welcome cocktail and a smile. Which was very nice. Carlos took us around the property and familiarized us with the restaurants, pools and bar locations. He was very helpful all week, such a pleasure to deal with.

Room:
We had a one bedroom suite. Very clean but we found it to be a bit small, with little storage space for clothing. The one bathroom in the room is located in the bedroom area, so anyone using the pull out couch had to pass through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. We would have liked a little more space, but we managed ok.

Dining:
The Palm Restaurant and the Italian Restaurant were our favorites. The food was well presented, always fresh, very tasty and the areas were very clean. One of our kids is a very 'selective' eater and he had no trouble enjoying all the food. Especially the 24 hour room service! That was a big hit. We didn't venture into the caribbean restaurant so we can't comment on that, but we did speak with a few guests that had and they seemed to enjoy it.

Entertainment:
The night shows are small and intimate and very enjoyable. The staff go out of their way to ensure that everyone enjoys themselves. Although the occupancy during our stay was a bit light, I think the shows would be much more enjoyed if more guests attended. Come on folks support the entertainment!

We snorkeled at the beach for about $30 per person. We really enjoyed it, it was very pretty. We also ventured out to Rick's Café (about a 13 minute taxi ride away). That was a great time as well. The outdoor bar and band was fun, the sunset there is beautiful and the cliff divers we're entertaining.

Service:
This was by far the most impressive part of our holiday. We are seasoned travellers and the service we received at the Azul was top notch. We've honestly never had better. Carlos at the front, O'Ryan and Dwayne for entertainment just to name a few. All the staff, from the front desk to restaurant, bar, housekeeping etc., etc., they were all the most genuinely friendly and helpful staff we've ever met.

The only real negative was that construction was still going on, so if you were in close range to where they were working you would hear banging during the day. Place yourself at the other end of the beach or pool and you couldn't hear a thing.

All in all it was a fantastic trip. Very clean resort with beautiful grounds. As the days went on we found we liked it more and more. By weeks end we really didn't want to leave.

We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#23 of 80 in Negril
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.3 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Price Range: £228 - £761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coveted stretch of Negril's world-famous Seven Mile Beach, Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica is a pristine paradise where couples, families, friends and colleagues can reconnect beneath brilliant blue skies and tropical sunshine. This oceanfront hotel offers spacious, contemporary oceanfront accommodations, with special adults-only sections dedicated exclusively to romantic honeymoon suites. You'll find a variety of restaurants serving masterfully prepared and artfully presented International cuisine, enhanced by breathtaking ocean views. There's a world-class spa. Premium liquor. Live entertainment day and night. A near endless variety of activities on land and in the crystal clear waters. And supervised programs for kids and teens designed to make sure everyone has a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing