We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise…”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

After returning from holiday I always say I’m going to write a review and never do, well this time I just had to...

My husband and I stayed at the Azul Sensatori Negril for our honeymoon arriving on Monday 5th May. We opted to travel to Gatwick so we could fly on the Dreamliner rather than going from our most convenient airport and we couldn't have been happier. Much more leg room, comfortable seats, a wide variety of films / games and a vast selection of drinks and snacks. After arriving at Montego Bay airport we travelled the 1.5 hour trip to Negril passing through some beautiful scenery and many small towns and villages. It was a joy to sit back, relax and absorb our first taste of beautiful Jamaica this way.

Upon arriving at the hotel and seeing the beautiful lobby which lead out to the pool area overlooking the shimmering sea I knew we’d arrived somewhere special...

Our check in was quick, easy and hassle free – the cold flannel and glass of champagne was very much appreciated! Anna showed us to our room (6207) and explained how everything worked. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the adults only pool with the ocean just behind. Our room was amazing – yes it was very white and modern but for us it only added to the luxurious feel we experienced at this hotel.

Food:
We ate at all the restaurants and couldn’t fault a single meal. There was such a wide variety of choice that even the fussiest of eaters would find something they liked. The Italian was possibly our favourite – the steak is amazing! The portion sizes were perfect for us however some people found them to be a little on the small size. If you ask for a larger portion they are more than happy to provide this for you.

Beach:
Absolutely breathtaking! Each morning we enjoyed getting up early and walking along the beach before breakfast. The sand is pure white and the sea crystal clear. We’ve travelled to numerous destinations in the Caribbean and this was one of the very best. Each day we would see a variety of rays and starfish. There are a few beach vendors walking up and down the beach but hey they are just trying to earn a living, a simple no thank you and they don’t ask you again. Look out for Rodger – he’s a real sweetie and just wants to have a chat.

Pools:
The pools are small in size but just perfect for the hotel. There are two swim up pools both offering a wide variety of drinks and cocktails – try the Bob Marleys!

Staff:
The staff truly do make this hotel and all work so hard. Nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely want to make you feel welcome and happy. Martino (Seven Mile bar) and Christina (pool bar) were both fantastic and made us laugh every day. Dwight in the Palms Restaurant always greeted us with a huge smile and a friendly face. The staff here really do work so hard and deserve the recognition.

Trips:
We booked two trips through Thomson – Retail and Ricks and Dolphin Cove. Personally I wouldn't recommend Retail and Ricks, Ricks Cafe was OK and the retail part lasted longer than was really needed. However, Dolphin Cove was amazing! Worth every single penny and more!

We also booked the Sunset Cruise via the watersports centre on the beach with Martin. This was amazing and so much fun! We left around three in the afternoon and sailed along seven mile beach. About 30 minutes in we were joined by two dolphins. Further down the beach three more dolphins joined us :-)

Overall we had an amazing time at this hotel and couldn't fault it in any single way. If you are thinking about booking I’d say go for it! I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,094
    332
    111
    37
    40
See reviews for
312
1,064
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I didn't know this hotel was so small,its a fabulous little jewel.....their beach was fabulous their food fabulous and their service out if this world whoever did the training of staff needs to go to other hotels and train.
Wonderful experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the resort 15th May - 29 May 2014. We arrived at the resort and were met at reception by a team of staff holding cold towels, champagne and a local fish delicacy, the first of many "WOW" moments on arrival. The reception area was stunning and my first view was straight out over the main pool area with the beach and sea in close proximity, in all honesty we were both stunned and left speechless, (our first big holiday). We were taken to our room (standard deluxe double) where our suitcases were already waiting for us, another wow moment, the cleanliness, the layout and a superb spacious balcony with superb views across the swim up pool and sea beyond, at this point we both got a bit emotional and it set the tone for the rest of the holiday.
I have to say that it was the staff that made the holiday, nothing was ever a problem to them and they bent over backwards to facilitate any need, our room cleaner Tina was superb, we were treated daily to some wonderful towel art and we always looked forward to see what she had created. The food in all restaurants was of a superb standard which encouraged me to be more daring with my diet, we all had our favourites but a special mention to the Italian restaurant and our "Princess Fiona", I celebrated my birthday whilst there and she made it that extra bit special, but her lovely nature ensured a wonderful dining experience.
We were also fortunate to meet some other couples on holiday, and we formed a small group of ten, I really need to mention these wonderful people as without them our holiday wouldn't have been the same, so a special mention to my fellow "commitments" for your warm friendship and wonderful company and memories of the 2 weeks, thank you, the pool parties were of legendary proportions.
A big thank you to all the staff, too many to mention but you were all wonderful, special mention to Nicky and Anna, both a credit to your employers.
Highly recommend this resort, and will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We cannot fault this hotel, the staff and the location. We had fabulous views of the pool, beach and sunsets in Room 4206. The staff were a credit to the hotel. They were extremely professional yet personal and genuine. We had great banter with many of the staff at all levels who were so welcoming. We made friends with so many waiting on and bar staff and they took the time to come and say good bye when we left. The hotel was mainly British and we met some lovely people - it was different to other Caribbean holidays where we have stayed in larger hotels where there have been many Americans and Canadians staying at the same hotel, which brought different cultures together.

The room was clean and spacious with adequate storage, large bed, television, mini fridge adequately stocked. There was facilities to brew tasty Blue Mountain coffee. The balcony was large having a table and 2 chairs in addition to a comfortable 2 seated lounger with cushions. There was a laundry rail too. The bathroom had double sinks and walk in rain shower with plenty of clean towels and 2 bath robes. I did miss slippers being provided - conscious of noise for those in the room below when walking across room on on tiles!

The entertainment team worked hard and it was great to be involved in the impromptu music quiz which Kevan ran at the Hibiscus swim up bar, even though we just missed out winning that bottle of rum! The kayak race which Oscar, the entertainment manager compared, was entertaining though some friendly cutting corners went on! The water sports guys were very accommodating and after snorkelling at the reef for a short while they took us close to the island and to see the seven mile beach around the bay of Negril, with a running commentary along the way e.g. why the water tastes so salty! We also hired pedalo's for $5 and took out the kayak's too - the water is crystal clear and early morning you will see the rays and small fish and a large star fish (credit to Johnny for spotting). The lifeguards are always present, keeping the beach raked and tidy. And Omar was constantly sweeping the decking area. He always checked everyone was ok.

I know earlier reviews have said the refurbished hotel has lost the Jamaican vibe though we certainly didn't feel that. Yes the hotel has a new feel, it is spotlessly clean and modern, but the buskers along the beach and those that were invited to do a spot around the Hibiscus swim up bar were brilliant. If you show a little gratitude regarding their music they are so grateful. The evening entertainment on the Amber deck was a variety of singers and music styles. We loved Groovy G. The guitarist (? Shyam) played at 6 pm around the swim up bar and it was great to sit on the balcony and listen to the music. Also had early evening entertainment with the violinist by Seven Mile Bar whist watching a glorious sunset.

Palms restaurant was great for breakfast. Hyacinth was queen of the poached eggs! We ate here for lunch a few times, though Garfields provided a welcome air conditioned break early afternoon looking out onto the Carribean sea, and the Capri salad with its goats cheese and sundried tomatoes was so tasty. Any food you wanted would be accommodated - the pan fried fish and chips was tasty also. The coffee bar was amazing and most mornings we'd get a takeaway coffee. We had cookie and ice cream here too when it was raining! Our favourite restaurant was the Italian for our evening meal. Great choices on the menu and if you wanted meat with the pasta dishes - no problem. Fiona was an amazing hostess - and Damien the top waiter along with Marcon. Also the Premio red wine was the best red wine we've had in an all inclusive. A tasty Chilean red.

We have to mention one point out of respect. We only did one trip to Rick's Cafe $50 return by taxi from the hotel a real heartbreaking visit as we witnessed a guy aged 26 lose his life. Please leave the cliff jumping to the locals who know the cliffs and the dangers. All the tour operators have excursions here and the risks of cliff jumping need to be emphasised as there is a lack of local facilities to deal with medical emergencies.

Overall the Sensatori Jamaica experience was amazing and no doubt we will visit again in a few years - the resort is expanding and we were informed a Sky Bar is being built. Hope the extensions do not take away the 'boutique' feel to this hotel.

Note for Thomsons - there was no safety brief on the coach transfer to the hotel from the airport (no rep) seat belts were hard to locate and with the severe rainy conditions this was of concern. In addition there were suitcases loaded within the coach which were loose and could have caused an accident. Whilst the coach on the way back to the airport was of better condition - suitcases were still loaded within the coach. Thomson's should prioritise the health and safety of guests during transfer. However the reps at the hotel were exceptional - Nicky, Colette and Latoyah.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank deckchairdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this terrific resort, loved every minute of our stay, even the daily downpours!
Beautiful beach (best on this stretch of Coast line). Good food, although a change of menu after week 1 would be good. Rooms are on the small side but have a balcony with stylish seating and are a great place to share a drink with friends while listening to the resident guitarist.
Biggest asset the hotel has is the staff-genuine, friendly and competent. Special mention to Marion, Fiona, Damien (he's the one with bottle or desert on his head) and Neresha it was lovely meeting you. Omar-keep sweeping!
Thanks also to Nicky who retrieved our kindle from the airport for us.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IzzyBeachWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed the last week of May in the timeshare section (3000 building). Room was clean, close to beach, bar and food (Garfield's my favorite). Staff was friendly (can't name them all). Construction still going on but it didn't bother. Lots of activities to do on the water and off. Relaxed on the beach in cabana waiters on the beach bring drinks. Food was good at all places. Nothing majorly wrong, a few slights of hand but all was great. Relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: Adult section got a little loud at times but no problem:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
formenrera Del segura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had the most wonderful "Sensatori Experience". We have travelled far and wide over 40 odd years, and it has to be said that Azul Sensatori Jamaica far, far, far exceeded our expectations. We stayed from 8th-22nd May. 2 fabulous weeks!! Our room, #4110. WOW! Huge, huge bed, fresh linen continually, massive bathroom separate loo, double shower and double wash hand basins, massive wardrobes with everything appliance you could possibly want, TV and so on and so forth. Then open the patio doors onto the terrace. Apart from a little washing line facility, 2 chairs and a table, double lounger with lots of comfy cushions and a sun canopy, but then, and here is another WOW, a double day bed with sun shades overlooking, one of the 4 pools, with a few steps down into the pool and then a few strokes to the swim up bar. And that was only our room. The 4 restaurants are great, depending on what you fancy to eat on the day. All are really, really good. . All of the staff are superb, gardeners, cleaners, waiters, (special mention here for Prince), the bar staff, Sheryl, Christina, Martino and Clau with his jokes, then the security guards and the life guards every last one. Friendly and courteous. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Anna and the Thomson Customer Service Team, Nicky, Collect and Latoya, are to be congratulated on their professionalism. They made our holiday, really, really special and we can never thank them enough.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank briandeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma

Property: Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coveted stretch of Negril's world-famous Seven Mile Beach, Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica is a pristine paradise where couples, families, friends and colleagues can reconnect beneath brilliant blue skies and tropical sunshine. This oceanfront hotel offers spacious, contemporary oceanfront accommodations, with special adults-only sections dedicated exclusively to romantic honeymoon suites. You'll find a variety of restaurants serving masterfully prepared and artfully presented International cuisine, enhanced by breathtaking ocean views. There's a world-class spa. Premium liquor. Live entertainment day and night. A near endless variety of activities on land and in the crystal clear waters. And supervised programs for kids and teens designed to make sure everyone has a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing