We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from 7 day holiday to this fantastic hotel. We have already sampled the Sensatori experience in Tenerife and Crete, and we're not disappointed.
The hotel is newly refurbished and everything is clean and sparkling. We had a swim up room in block 6. Only annoying thing were the mosquito's buzzing around outside the patio doors which meant we couldn't make full use of our private sun bed.
The room was bright and airy, large flat screen tv,coffee maker,( ground coffee bags & tea bags)well stocked mini bar( refilled everyday),red stripe beer,soft drinks and water( no spirits). Great sized bathroom. Twin sinks, large rain shower. Safe in draw to store valuables ( no extra charge).
Pool area clean,plenty of sunbeds, although usual reserving of beds with towels from 7am, so need to get up early if you want a particular spot.Pools not heated but ok and we're never busy during our stay.
Food selection and quality was excellent in all restaurants and the Beaches buffet. Restaurants all "al a carte" with good selection and variety to choose from. Portions not massive as it is gourmet dinning, but you can alway ask for additional courses . I have two starters a couple of times at the Italian , and we're happy to oblige. Both wine and water flowed freely during all meals , staff constantly asking if you wanted your glass topping up.
All the staff in all departments very friendly and they couldn't do enough to make our holiday flow smoothly constantly asking " are you having a good holiday" " how,'s your day today" etc etc. They are all new and obviously trained to ask this. But they are I feel genuine nice people even if you remove the training that has been inbred into them. They need to be allowed to show more of their Jamacian culture by the management, who all walk round trying to look important with files and clip boards, instead of interacting with their paying guests. Yes they need to check standards are being met and maintained , but try smiling and talking to people. Follow the example of your excellent staff and lighten up a bit.to many chiefs comes to light!!
Beach party was great.
Entertainment was very Jamacian and not well supported during our stay. Think entertainment area a little to far away from main bar area. Maybe if they offered waiter service during the show it would encourage people to sit down closer to the stage area and watch.
In summary thought. Great hotel,great food,great location,great staff, great holiday.
Would I return. Definite yes
Would I recommend that you dear reader of this review spend your hard earned cash on a holiday here. Again a definite yes.
Enjoy. enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank MWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,783 - 1,789 of 2,046 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

On arrival we were warmly welcomed with a glass of champagne and the staff checks you in while you sit and chill.
They then take your credit card and hold payment of $375 dollars as a deposit ( I wasn't pre warned about this)
Was then given a short tour of the hotel and taken to our room.
The hotel is beautiful particularly the sandy beaches and pools are great.
Food is amazing and the cocktails are yummy...

The only issues were...
I booked a one bedroom Ocean Front Suite in Aug 2013 and requested a balcony view, i was given ground floor with a view of air conditioning units.... lovely..
I asked to be moved... the hotel was full and couldn't be moved for 4 days ....not good enough... i was later offered a swim up room which i accepted which was 10X better
(i have learnt a lesson here, just because you pay more doesn’t mean it will be better)
We paid for a bottle of wine and requested delivery to our room.... it was late by an hour...when we chased them we were advised the wine was late because of rain ?? ok.....
We arrived back to our room after an excursion one day to find a nice bottle of Champaign, fruit, chocs, cheese ... queried with reception and was advised it was given to us because of the room complaint at the beginning of the holiday.. Fantastic we were made to feel special.... only 2 mins later the phone rings again..... Have you opened the Champaign bottle?..... No we said why?.... oh good turns out it wasn't for you can we come and swap the Champaign bottles over?? WHAT!!! They turned up with a bottle you can get on the all-inclusive!! tut tut why oh why!!
At the end of our holiday our bill was incorrect by $40 dollars we challenged and it was credited.
Just felt like issue after issue after issues....

Big shout out to the staff especially Omar (pool side) Christina (pool bar) and Carlos (bell boy)
These guys made our holiday!!

Great holiday.... but in comparison to the Sensatori in Mexico this hotel wasnt as good as...would i return to this hotel.... no but glad to have experienced it.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are great :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Amie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On arrival we were warmly welcomed with a glass of champagne and a fish canape which was delicious. Thereafter, for the whole of the time we were at the hotel we experienced the most friendly service that we have ever enjoyed anywhere. The quality of the accommodation was excellent. We were on the top floor [third floor] with marvellous views of the beach; sea; and hotel facilities including the pools etc. The catering in all restaurants was excellent for all meals with a wide range of choices. We especially liked the Italian restaurant where the waiters speciality was serving certain items by carrying them on their heads. The evening entertainment was first rate. It was our wedding anniversary during the holiday and we were provided with Champagne in the room and a special arrangement of the towels in the form of animals and hearts then and every day thereafter. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel special and there was nothing that was too much for the staff in ensuring that we had maximum enjoyment. At the end of the holiday most of the staff were at the entrance to give all a most friendly farewell. A truly great holiday which was thoroughly enjoyed and represented great value for money. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to have the top floor of three which enabled great views from the balcony which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I can honestly say on behalf of my wife and I that this was the most incredible holiday experience of our lives. From the moment we were greeted on our arrival we were treated like royalty. The hotel itself is pristine and luxurious, although it does not come across as clinical and/or pretentious. From the gourmet menus to incredibly hard working staff, this hotel has got the lot. As a testament to the quality of staff, we tried to remember on the flight homeward bound as many names working at the resort as we could, so a big thanks to:

Luca
Danielle
Stefan
Raul
Carey
La Toya
Marion
Neresha
Keresha
Neville
Omar
Christopher
Naddia x2
Naddine
Carrie
Sheryl
Shedrique
Clau
Roydell
Omellia
Carlos
Big Joseph
Prince
Angelica
Damian
Howard (he the man)
Bryan
Dwayne
Deuane
Aleysa
Martino
Lensworth (Lenny, very clever man)
Kevan

and the wonderful Kedian.

Apologies to any member of staff not included above, everyone without exception was incredible.
If you are considering booking this hotel, I wouldn't hesitate.

Wonderful memories, thanks to everyone involved.

Leon and Gayle x

Room Tip: All sea view rooms; you cannot go wrong; try swim up suites for a special treat; cost of upgrade is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After returning from holiday I always say I’m going to write a review and never do, well this time I just had to...

My husband and I stayed at the Azul Sensatori Negril for our honeymoon arriving on Monday 5th May. We opted to travel to Gatwick so we could fly on the Dreamliner rather than going from our most convenient airport and we couldn't have been happier. Much more leg room, comfortable seats, a wide variety of films / games and a vast selection of drinks and snacks. After arriving at Montego Bay airport we travelled the 1.5 hour trip to Negril passing through some beautiful scenery and many small towns and villages. It was a joy to sit back, relax and absorb our first taste of beautiful Jamaica this way.

Upon arriving at the hotel and seeing the beautiful lobby which lead out to the pool area overlooking the shimmering sea I knew we’d arrived somewhere special...

Our check in was quick, easy and hassle free – the cold flannel and glass of champagne was very much appreciated! Anna showed us to our room (6207) and explained how everything worked. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the adults only pool with the ocean just behind. Our room was amazing – yes it was very white and modern but for us it only added to the luxurious feel we experienced at this hotel.

Food:
We ate at all the restaurants and couldn’t fault a single meal. There was such a wide variety of choice that even the fussiest of eaters would find something they liked. The Italian was possibly our favourite – the steak is amazing! The portion sizes were perfect for us however some people found them to be a little on the small size. If you ask for a larger portion they are more than happy to provide this for you.

Beach:
Absolutely breathtaking! Each morning we enjoyed getting up early and walking along the beach before breakfast. The sand is pure white and the sea crystal clear. We’ve travelled to numerous destinations in the Caribbean and this was one of the very best. Each day we would see a variety of rays and starfish. There are a few beach vendors walking up and down the beach but hey they are just trying to earn a living, a simple no thank you and they don’t ask you again. Look out for Rodger – he’s a real sweetie and just wants to have a chat.

Pools:
The pools are small in size but just perfect for the hotel. There are two swim up pools both offering a wide variety of drinks and cocktails – try the Bob Marleys!

Staff:
The staff truly do make this hotel and all work so hard. Nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely want to make you feel welcome and happy. Martino (Seven Mile bar) and Christina (pool bar) were both fantastic and made us laugh every day. Dwight in the Palms Restaurant always greeted us with a huge smile and a friendly face. The staff here really do work so hard and deserve the recognition.

Trips:
We booked two trips through Thomson – Retail and Ricks and Dolphin Cove. Personally I wouldn't recommend Retail and Ricks, Ricks Cafe was OK and the retail part lasted longer than was really needed. However, Dolphin Cove was amazing! Worth every single penny and more!

We also booked the Sunset Cruise via the watersports centre on the beach with Martin. This was amazing and so much fun! We left around three in the afternoon and sailed along seven mile beach. About 30 minutes in we were joined by two dolphins. Further down the beach three more dolphins joined us :-)

Overall we had an amazing time at this hotel and couldn't fault it in any single way. If you are thinking about booking I’d say go for it! I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I didn't know this hotel was so small,its a fabulous little jewel.....their beach was fabulous their food fabulous and their service out if this world whoever did the training of staff needs to go to other hotels and train.
Wonderful experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at the resort 15th May - 29 May 2014. We arrived at the resort and were met at reception by a team of staff holding cold towels, champagne and a local fish delicacy, the first of many "WOW" moments on arrival. The reception area was stunning and my first view was straight out over the main pool area with the beach and sea in close proximity, in all honesty we were both stunned and left speechless, (our first big holiday). We were taken to our room (standard deluxe double) where our suitcases were already waiting for us, another wow moment, the cleanliness, the layout and a superb spacious balcony with superb views across the swim up pool and sea beyond, at this point we both got a bit emotional and it set the tone for the rest of the holiday.
I have to say that it was the staff that made the holiday, nothing was ever a problem to them and they bent over backwards to facilitate any need, our room cleaner Tina was superb, we were treated daily to some wonderful towel art and we always looked forward to see what she had created. The food in all restaurants was of a superb standard which encouraged me to be more daring with my diet, we all had our favourites but a special mention to the Italian restaurant and our "Princess Fiona", I celebrated my birthday whilst there and she made it that extra bit special, but her lovely nature ensured a wonderful dining experience.
We were also fortunate to meet some other couples on holiday, and we formed a small group of ten, I really need to mention these wonderful people as without them our holiday wouldn't have been the same, so a special mention to my fellow "commitments" for your warm friendship and wonderful company and memories of the 2 weeks, thank you, the pool parties were of legendary proportions.
A big thank you to all the staff, too many to mention but you were all wonderful, special mention to Nicky and Anna, both a credit to your employers.
Highly recommend this resort, and will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#21 of 80 in Negril
723 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.3 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
35.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Price Range: £293 - £832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coveted stretch of Negril's world-famous Seven Mile Beach, Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica is a pristine paradise where couples, families, friends and colleagues can reconnect beneath brilliant blue skies and tropical sunshine. This oceanfront hotel offers spacious, contemporary oceanfront accommodations, with special adults-only sections dedicated exclusively to romantic honeymoon suites. You'll find a variety of restaurants serving masterfully prepared and artfully presented International cuisine, enhanced by breathtaking ocean views. There's a world-class spa. Premium liquor. Live entertainment day and night. A near endless variety of activities on land and in the crystal clear waters. And supervised programs for kids and teens designed to make sure everyone has a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing