We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our weddingmoon at Sensatori”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have struggled to write our review as we want to give people as much information as we can without our experiences or reasons for travel having an impact. We travelled with a group of 9 other people (aged 23-63) for 2 weeks (4th May-18th May) for our wedding (8th May).

Airport arrival
We arrived at Montego Bay and were informed by Thomson staff in the airport that we were to make our way to a particular coach. The coaches were lined up in a grid fashion - side by side with more coaches behind them. Upon locating our coach we were greeted by Latoya, one of the Sensatori Reps at the hotel. During the coach ride to the hotel she gave a little introduction to the island and pointed out some interesting things along the way, which was a lovely touch.


Hotel arrival
Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a cold glass of fizz and a cold towel. We were met by Nicky and Anna and were told to sit down and unwind whilst our cases were unloaded.
It was then we were finally able to relax and take in the breathtaking view and our first Jamaican sunset which is honestly one of the most stunningly beautiful things you will ever see. The open plan lobby looked out over the main decking and onto the beautiful white sands and blue Caribbean sea. Once our rooms were ready we were escorted by a member of staff who gave a small guided tour to our rooms.

Hotel rooms
We stayed in 4301 (a honeymoon suite) on the third floor of the multigenerational section. The room consisted of a bedroom with en-suite shower, toilet, double sinks and wardrobe in the bathroom area. There was also a large lounge and second shower, toilet and sink opposite another wardrobe. The balcony was a large wraparound balcony overlooking the pool and the stunning beach and sea. The views of the sunset were second to none. The balcony consisted of small table with 2 chairs and a two-seater cushioned love seat with canopy. There was a mini bar which consisted of soft drinks, water and beer, coffee making facilities were also provided and 2 large TVs.
The rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day and most days we were greeted by some towel art or scattered rose petals. There was no turn down service (a facility which you become accustomed to if you have travelled to the Caribbean before). The restocking of the coffee making facilities and mini bar was somewhat sporadic. On occasion there would be items missing (no mugs, no water, no coffee, no milk etc)

Hotel Reps
At all other hotels we have been to there has been one rep that services a number of hotels and has set times to visit you at your hotel. Here there are 2 full time reps, a Sensatori Manager and an Azul Manager. All the staff - Latoya, Colette, Nicky & Anna were so friendly and really approachable. Nothing is too much trouble, our group organised several trips through them and any issues with our rooms were sorted promptly with no fuss. After a few days you want to pop over to see them just to say hello. They all work tirelessly hard and really enjoy what they do and are a credit to the company and the hotel.

Pools
There are 4 swimming pools, one in the adults only section with swim up bar, one on the main deck (also known as amber deck), one in the multigenerational section with a second swim up bar and a fourth located near the villas. All the pools are spotlessly clean. The pool bar opens around 11am and closes at 5-5.30pm. They have entertainment in the evening at the pool bar (singers, guitarists etc) who perform as the sun sets which you can watch from your balcony. Its a really nice touch and one that we would hate to see disappear. The bar located in the adults only section is advertised on the website as being open in the evenings but it was always shut by 5.30pm during our stay. They do make some fantastic cocktails at all the bars and if you want to try something different the staff are more than happy to mix up something new.

Restaurants
There are 4 restaurants, Palms (main buffet open breakfast lunch and dinner), Garfields (open lunch and dinner), Di Romagio (Italian open dinner only) Ackee (Jamaican cuisine open breakfast and dinner). The food in all restaurants is exceptional. There is also a coffee bar in reception which also makes smoothies & Protein Shakes as well as having sandwiches, cakes and little snacks like cookies, macaroons and biscotti. Weather permitting there are also beach parties Wednesdays and Saturdays (some eating places may close on these nights so check on the day).
Food is quite a personal preference but we can honestly say the quality is great. The portion sizes may be on the small for some people with good appetites but if you know you like to eat, order 2 starters or ask for bigger portions. The staff are so accommodating. Another plus point is that they ask if you have any allergies and will cater pretty much any meal to suit your needs. The fact that you don't have to book the speciality restaurants in advance is another highlight. We would hate to see that change if the hotel gets bigger and busier.
One thing we noticed about the Garfields Restaurant is that there was no Coffee making facilities there, so if you wanted a coffee the waiter would have to go and get coffee from another restaurant or reception.

Bars
There are 2 swim up pool bars as previously mentioned, there is a bar located at Garfields restaurant which is open from about 11ish until when the restaurant closes, 7 mile bar and the Nesta bar. 7 mile bar is under a small canopy on the amber deck and gets very busy. There a few bar stools situated around the bar and some tables and chairs nearby. There is no table service and you often had to queue for some time to get drinks. In a 5* hotel this is unacceptable. Hopefully by hiring more staff to clear the tables and provide table service this will no longer be an issue. There is also a limited beach drinks service. For those who have travelled before, especially to the Caribbean, you will know that touches like beach and pool drinks service are what you come to expect when you pay considerable money for a 5* hotel. Again hopefully more staff will help. When it rains (which its the Caribbean so it does quite frequently) there is only the Nesta lounge which is an indoor bar. This is a lovely bar but is very small and when the hotel is full it will not be able to deal with the amount of people. This needs to be addressed.

Gym
Like many people we like to go to the gym on holiday. Unfortunately the Gym/Spa that we were sold upon booking the hotel was not finished. Thomson did email us prior to leaving to tell us the Gym/Spa would not be ready so it wasn't a surprise. There was an interim gym which appeared to be a building block from the old hotel the Sensatori is built on (Beaches Sandy Bay). The gym is small and has mostly older pulley style weight machines with very limited cardio equipment. During the second week some workmen arrived and put together some more cardio equipment as well as adding a small section of free weights. As the building that houses the Gym is older, it leaks when it rains. The building was always kept spotlessly clean just like the rest of the hotel but it was clearly a compromise.

Wedding
Our wedding in Jamaica was truly fantastic and was everything we could have wished for. The wedding co-ordinator at the hotel, Shelly-Ann was brilliant and she took care of everything for us with no fuss. The hotel were very accommodating and sent Champagne and extra beer to our suite where we had a small party for our guests to watch the sun set, we then had a fantastic meal in Palms. If you are thinking about getting married abroad we can certainly recommend this hotel.

Trips
As we travelled in a group we booked a number of excursions. We all booked a trip to Rick's Cafe and some couples booked trips to YS Falls and Dunns River Falls separately.
The feedback our friends gave us from the trips is that they are lovely when you are there but Dunns River falls for example is 4 hours away by coach and the journey can be a little tiring.
Our trip to Rick's Cafe was honestly a waste of money. It's very Americanised and we just didn't enjoy our time there. The cliff divers were spectacular but they only dive for tips and when you do your research you realise that its very dangerous and people have been killed jumping from the cliff. People talk about how great the sunset is there but honestly the sunset from our balcony, or anywhere in our hotel, was miles better.


Staff
The staff are fantastic and are what makes the place so great. Without the staff the hotel would certainly struggle. After two weeks at the resort one criticism that was shared amongst the other guests we spoke to was that the staff aren't Jamaican enough. Some of their responses sound a bit scripted. Given that the hotel was newly opened there seemed to be a large number of senior Karisma managers milling about and this seemed to unnerve the staff somewhat. Let the staff be themselves, they have bubbly vibrant personalities and guests love to see that shining through. On the occasions where it did happen - our first beach party which was also the night before our wedding stands out - the evening is completely transformed and you feel that the staff are having a party with you, it's fantastic and is one of the main reasons people choose Jamaica as a holiday destination.

There were so many members of staff who made our stay so special and we would like the opportunity to thank them personally, they do such a fantastic job and work tirelessly to make you feel like royalty, always with a huge smile. So thank you to the following staff members who really stood out for us:

Barstaff
Anieta, Alfonso, Christina, Wayde

Cooks/Chefs
Glenmar, Julio, Kevin, Rohan, Hyacinth

Servers
Overian, Dwight, Lensworth, Junior, Byran, Ernesto, Anthony, Clive, Fabian, Neville, Omar, Omar G, Prince

Front Desk
Christopher, Raul, Akeema

Entertainment
Shellian, Melissa, Kevan

Sensatori Staff
Nikki, Collette, Layota, Anna

Summary
The hotel is clean, well maintained and has some great staff who really are an asset to the hotel. The food and drink are of a high standard and it is difficult to find fault.
The main downside of the hotel, and its something you seriously need to consider when you book, is that the hotel is still being worked on - it's not finished. We had an absolutely amazing time here but if we had been told when we made the booking that the hotel would not be ready for our holiday, despite how good this place is we probably would have booked somewhere else. During our stay we noticed a number of issues which need to be addressed before this hotel can truly reach its potential.
The second week in the hotel was much busier than the first and did expose the lack of staff in the resort. For example Christina and Wayde at the pool bar would serve drinks, collect glasses from the beach, wash glasses and serve drinks on the beach. They both worked so hard and did it with a smile, but clearly they needed some help. We heard during our stay that more staff were being hired so hopefully this should no longer be an issue.
There does not appear to be enough public toilets for a fully booked hotel. 2 toilets at Nesta, 2 near amber deck, 1 at Garfields and 1 at the gym for a hotel with 136 rooms is just not enough.
The lobby is lovely and open plan but no air-conditioning means it can get very sticky and hot. The only 2 restaurants with air-conditioning are Garfields and the Italian, maybe Ackee and Palms could do with a better method of keeping guests cool.
When it rains, it really rains. For people who have travelled to the Caribbean before or have done their research this will come as no surprise - its accepted as part of the package. Its at these times you see that the design of the hotel has some unintentional side effects, for example in Ackee there is a seating area outside covered with a permanent canopy. Its open air so its very nice to sit in and the views are amazing, unless its raining. If it rains the water comes in from the sides and you and anyone else sitting there ends up huddled in the middle of the floor eating your meal.
The hotel does flood around some pathways and on the stairs, the latter becomes very slippy so you need to be very careful walking around after a rainstorm. During our stay we saw one of the chefs slip and fall and also heard that the doctor had been called to a guest who had fallen over.
All in all we have given the hotel a good rating. We really enjoyed the hotel, the wedding was truly fantastic and we couldn't have wished for a better day and experience, the food and drink were great, the staff were friendly, hard working and enthusiastic and we would recommend the hotel and come back for another visit but the hotel is new and is still finding its feet. In another 12 months or so once issues have been resolved we think this will truly be an exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: 4301 Honeymoon suite - Amazing views of the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank NorthWestHolidayLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,896 - 1,902 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just got back from a fantastic 11 night break at the Sensatori Negril. Must say right up there with best ever holidays. The Service starts when you arrive with a glass of fizz and cold towels, check in is a breeze you sit there and the staff do everything.

We upgraded to a swim up room well with the money, room was very large with one of the biggest beds we've seen, the swim up area consists of a small patio / seating area with a large four poster sun bed ( no rush to get the towels out) and what makes it perfect is the swim up bar is right there in the pool in front of you all with every branded drink and cocktails you could want. ( a bit girly but the dirty banana is my favourite)

As far as food is concerned just take your pick, Palms is the Buffet style main restaurant plenty of choice and a really nice setting. Ackee is the Caribbean restaurant really nice food (Try the Sautéed Seafood fantastic) The most popular restaurant is the Italian, the food is so nice can get quiet busy though, Garfield's is the beach front restaurant a little quieter than the rest, nice for that meal for 2 another big plus is there is no booking so if you like the Italian its a first come first serve so if you wanted you could eat there every night

The thing that we found that makes this Hotel is the staff, doesn't matter if its Joseph and Co at the bars or Omar G and all the waiting staff in the restaurants everyone is just so friendly and can't do enough for you.

The pools are really well looked after and the beach is perfect we tended to do the beach in morning then go back for lunch then do the pool with the swim up bar and then end up in the swim up part of the room to watch the world go by perfect.


There is a watersports area although this is not part of the all inclusive package, I used it for doing some Diving and Stanley and his boys were fantastic PADI registered dived at 4 local dive sites. they can also arrange for snorkelling trips fishing trips although I only used them for the scuba diving

We booked with Thomson and the staff are on site every day and were really helpful to help with any issue be it booking a trip of sorting out any other problems you may have.


If I did have any issues they are very minor, The beach area could do with some more areas of shade and an ATM would be a very good idea in the reception although there is one sited a little further down the beach but this is not on the complex and not 24hrs.
The beach BBQ which is run twice a week, good for meeting other people and really nice food but it does use up most of the waiting staff so some of the other restaurant will be close when this is on which can be a pain
Free WIFI is Ok but not great, although you can buy WIFI for your room which is fine if a little expensive 3 devices 1 week $70 US.



Finally if you do decide to go to the Sensatori do you self a favour and take short walk down the beach and take a peek at the Sandals resort and pat your self on the back for saving yourself a lot of money and getting a nicer resort.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in one but did see a 1 bed Aptmt which did seem rather small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Shelly-Ann our wedding coordinator took excellent care of us! We got married on the beach, and the ceremony was fantastic! Again, you could tell Shelly-Ann's hard work paid off for us. We had an excellent reception on the beach as well! Our room was spacious, and had a spectacular view. Everything was super convenient! Beach was a few feet from the front door of our room, pool was right there! All the staff were fantastic! We had a candle light dinner on the beach, and our server Daemon was awesome, extraordinary service, and lots of fun. There was a photographer wandering around in the evenings, but the pictures were pretty expensive for something you can print out at home. The resort was still growing into itself, the archery range wasn't open, as the staff hadn't gone through training yet. But who goes to Jamaica to shoot some arrows?? The staff was awesome! The beach was great! Pools were awesome!

Room Tip: Swim up rooms were pretty awesome if you have any intentions to float in the pool at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cpollock27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Arrived 4th June from Manchester, bit of a queue at customs then a one hour 30 min journey to Negril.

Welcomed with a glass of champagne and some cool towels, much appreciated in the late afternoon heat.


Shown to our room in block 4 with a great view of the sea, literally 30 meters away!
We stayed in a standard room on the 2nd floor which was fine for us.

Food - was fantastic, ate in all the restaurants, but mainly for breakfast we ate in Palms, apart from one morning in Ackee once just on our Anniversary.

Lunch was mainly at Garfield's right on the beach and Dinner, mainly at the Italian Restaurant, where we had excellent service on all but one night, when the young waiter had a bit if a mare, but we didn't make a big deal of it.

Drinks - just about everything or anything you wanted, in all the International Brands, died and gone to heaven, hic-hic.....

Staff - very friendly nearly all of the time, although not expected I tipped a lot but that's my choice, I didn't really see any guests being treated less well if they didn't tip and who is to know who tips as most of the time it is done with a fair degree of discretion, all I know is I had excellent service All of the time.

There were some standouts to me, Sheryl at the Main Bar would always shout across if we dared try and bypass the bar!!

Omar, who cleaned the pool area always made up nice towel designs in the morning for the sun beds and always had a good story to tell, usually the same one, but I hope he achieves his goals, very nice man.

Allison and Marion at Palms for breakfast, were always very pleasant and helpful
In fact all the guys were great serving in Bars and Restaurants, just watch out for Gok Wan lookalike in a Palms, he was very funny.

Tours - we did The Bob Marley Tour, a long day but u could combine with Dunns River Falls if u wanted, we didn't as we had already done that tour. If you are true fan then I would recommend it, although it seems to have become very commercial, which is a shame.

We also made a trip to Ricks Cafe and went on The Negril One Love Bus Tour, a little afternoon pub crawl around the west end area and it was fantastic.

We were the only Brits in amongst Americans but we made friends quickly and had a great day out, jumping in the sea from The Lighthouse was something I won't forget in a hurry, trust me!

Entertainment - not great, very low key during the day because that's what all guests want right?
Night time was low key most of the time and not great attendances either with a weekly beach party thrown in, which usually had the best entertainment.

Beach - perfect, the best part of the who seven miles on your doorstep.
We walked most of so we know!

Anyway just go and enjoy for yourself

Yeah man.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank JonnyRingoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a disapointment this hotel turned out to be. Sensatori hotels are supposed to enhance the senses ie: taste feel touch etc. I didn't think frustration annoyance and disappointment would be the experiences in the main.
The Negatives:
Room cleaning service times. Twice room not serviced by 4.30pm which is most bizarre given the times the room was empty and ready to be cleaned.
The wardrobes also were heavy & wooden and could not be easily opened even if you could get past the sinks in the bathroom to get in there.
Service times in all the Restaurants that were Al a Carte, even though the amount of people was minimal at the earlier 7.30pm time we were in were extremely long. From the taking of the order to the actual delivery.
The lobby. No Air-con where most people went to use the free wi-fi Also the coffee bean outlet was ill equipped for mass production of any drinks above 2 at a time, with a domestic blender being the only blender in operation.
Poolside. Lack of waiters to either clear drinks acquired by guests or take orders.
The Positives:
Fabulous location on the beach that was raked daily to remove the odd bit of sea grass washed ashore.
Room balcony had table & chairs & a round luxury day bed and a pull out washing hangar.
Beach BBQ's had to be seen to be believed (fully dressed tables with glasses & cutlery) done twice a week. Sadly not always appreciated due to biting sand flies.
Staff were in the main very friendly and obliging. Although some had attitude if no tips were given at the beginning of the holl.
The food was well presented in all of the venues albeit no gateaux to be had anywhere..mmmm
By far the best was the Italian restaurant (apart from slow service) The quality was exceptional and the presentation was first class.
The Air-con system in the bedrooms was the best I have ever encountered, easy to use & worked silently...bliss...at night.
No facilities for indoor play when the monsoons occur. (Unfortunately 2hrs worth a couple of afternoons)
All things considered this Hotel could have been 5* but having travelled extensively to other 5* hotels it barely warrants a 4* which is such a shame because they have the better part of the beach and leave Sandals Resort Negril standing on location.

Room Tip: If you travel via a package booking you really don't get to select a room, other than swim-up et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wow, just wow. The Azul Sensatori Jamaica has given the wife and I some fantastic memories that will stay with us forever. We flew out of Birmingham on 6th June 2014 for 14 nights. Here's my view on our holiday.....

Flights

We flew outbound and inbound on the Boeing 767. A very old plane in First Choice insignia. We had paid for extra leg room which was nice, but the seats were still uncomfortable. Inbound, the entertainment on the flight was broken which was a pain, however the Dreamliner will replace this very shortly so shouldn't be a problem for future holidaymakers.

Arrival

Once through Jamaican customs we were taken to the hotel by a private coach. The journey is around 90 minutes to the resort, but you do get to see some lovely countryside and a bit of an insight into the Jamaican way of life. Once at the hotel we were greeted by staff who passed each guest a glass of champagne and a cold towel. Much needed! We were then asked to sit in the lobby as staff handed us our room keys and maps. The bell boys took the names from the airport tags on each case to take them to the rooms on our behalf. Staff then escorted us to our room (4309) after a mini tour of the resorts restaurants and bars. Another couple had been accompanied along with ourselves and were shown to the room next door. My wife said jokingly that our room would be the one with the champagne. Once in the room, there was no champagne, obviously, it was a joke. 10 mins later there was a knock at the door, Thornille told us that if we wanted champagne, he would give us champagne, before handing over a full bottle on ice with 2 glasses. A great start to the fortnight.

Food

For each breakfast and 90% of our lunch meals we ate at the Palms Gourmet Display. There is a wide range of food for each meal, hot and cold, with a chef there to prepare omelettes in a morning and pastas/stir fry dishes in the early afternoon. Each lunch and dinner has a different theme each day so food never becomes repetitive. We only saw chips (french fries to our American guests) at one lunch. Always a sign of a decent restaurant. The Ackee Caribbean restaurant is a real treat in my opinion, though I adore Caribbean food. It does get hot, even at night, but the food is definitely worth it. The Italian restaurant below Ackee has both positives and negatives for me. The food is amazing, though portions are small and it takes a while for it to arrive. The staff in there work incredibly hard, but they need maybe another 2 waiters and 2 chefs to make it run smoothly. We went to Garfield's once for lunch and waited an hour for the wrong order to arrive. That's all I have to say about that. We didn't go back as we didn't need to. The Ocean's Grill next to the main pool serves lunches which are mainly burgers or jerk chicken/pork with chips. Nice enough if you fancy some fast food, but the waiter does need to learn to smile.

Drinks

All bar staff work incredibly hard, both at the main 7 Mile Bar and the pool and Garfield bars. They have all international brands on the all inclusive, the only drinks you can pay for, which we didn't, are selected wines in the main restaurants. The wine we had in there was ample, though I'm no wine expert by any stretch of the imagination.

The Room

Very modern and comfortable. The TV was 42 inches at least, not the 30 odd they state online. The rain shower was lovely and everything was just as we could have hoped. The coffee machine is easy to use and stocks replenished daily, just like the mini bar. And the view...amazing. Tip, ask for the top floor, those on ground and first floor have their views restricted by the large palm trees.

The Beach and Pools

The beach is immaculate. It is swept clear of seaweed each morning and raked to look pristine. A small walk along the beach past Sandals and you will see chunks of seaweed in the sea. There is little to none in view at the Sensatori. After about 11:00am the sea is as warm as some baths I've had. Beautiful. If I die and go to heaven, I hope the pearly gates open onto the Sensatori section of 7 Mile beach. The pools areas are very well kept and are being swept all throughout the day.

The Staff

As others have stated, they make the place. Most, if not all of the staff go above and beyond certainly what I would expect. I still have to give a select few a mention;

Neville. Works in the Palms Restaurant. The most helpful and friendly member of staff we encountered. Such a pleasure to speak to each morning and we missed him the minute we boarded the coach to leave. On our last day, he set the wife and I, along with another couple with whom we'd made friends, a table laid with flowers, before bringing us champagne to accompany our lunch. A genuinely nice bloke!

Melissa. Part of the entertainment staff. Seemed to work all hours of the day, yet was always smiling and made the effort to speak even when she was clearly pre occupied with other activities.

Daughn. Our cleaner. Such a pleasant lady who would always have the time for a chat and just wanted to make our holiday as pleasant as she could.

Carole. Waitress in the Ackee. Again, very helpful and pleasant. Calls herself the 'Black Barbie'.

Sheryl. 7 Mile Bar. Always laughing and always there to bring your drinks to you if you so wish. You will hear her laugh before you see her.

Staff don't expect tips, but most people do. We tipped around US$100 in total over the 2 weeks. Just $2 here and there. It does make the staff remember your name!

Weather

June is the start of rainy season, but we had about 4 days of rain, 3 of which were a 10 minute bursts in the afternoon. It rained for a few hours one evening and that was about it. Very hot most of the time, during which I prayed for a bit of cloud cover!

Departure

When you get to the airport you have to pay $1800JMD each. Pay it in Jamaican currency. Make sure you have the correct change as they won't give it you! The hotel will change any notes free of charge before you leave if needs be.

Overall

This holiday has been the best that we have ever been on. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the staff are beyond amazing. In my opinion it is a small slice of paradise. We all get the holiday blues, but it have never been so down and upset to come home. When I boarded the plane home, I left a little piece of my heart in Negril.........

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
36  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Went here expecting gourmet luxury, got average food in a building site with smelly drains. The sea views are not as described and we had to change rooms on the second day due to blocked drains. The new room was in a block that was still being refurbished and the building work was constant throughout the week. We suffered power cuts and periods without hot water. The balcony was unusable due to mosquito infestation and the doors did not close properly. Due to the orientation of the plug sockets only one was suitable for a mosquito machine and this was in the bathroom. The wardrobe was virtually unusable due to the door design which meant you could only access a few inches at each side. One of the bathroom taps dripped constantly. The food was occasionally good, but usually average. Twice per week a big fuss was made of having a beach BBQ. What this entailed was setting up several hot plates on the beach and serving up the same food that would have been on offer in the buffet restaurant, but luke warm. Very little was BBQed and the sand flies were a big problem. After this came the outdoor entertainment which could not be avoided even in our room. This usually consisted of an idiot DJ or a mediocre live band and Sensatori descended into club 18/30. All things considered, very disappointing. Don't go there.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the trip advisor community.

We do regret your overall impressions fell somewhat short of exceptional, however. Our goal is to ensure every guest enjoys a memorable stay, so we seek to offer superior quality , luxurious amenities, and customer service, all at a great price to our guests.
We value your insights, and hope for the opportunity to better your impressions in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
3.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,680 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#21 of 80 in Negril
920 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Price Range: £324 - £970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coveted stretch of Negril's world-famous Seven Mile Beach, Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica is a pristine paradise where couples, families, friends and colleagues can reconnect beneath brilliant blue skies and tropical sunshine. This oceanfront hotel offers spacious, contemporary oceanfront accommodations, with special adults-only sections dedicated exclusively to romantic honeymoon suites. You'll find a variety of restaurants serving masterfully prepared and artfully presented International cuisine, enhanced by breathtaking ocean views. There's a world-class spa. Premium liquor. Live entertainment day and night. A near endless variety of activities on land and in the crystal clear waters. And supervised programs for kids and teens designed to make sure everyone has a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing