We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday - would question this as a 5 * hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab Holiday - would question this as a 5 * hotel!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

On arrival to this hotel you are encouraged to relax while they take care of everything. You are shown to the room and our first impression was that we had reached paradise. The bathroom was lovely. As was the room we had a swim up room. There has been a lot of negative reviews on these not getting any sun. Ours did have sun as the sun moved round in the day but I personally LOVED this feature and would thoroughly recommend anyone to book it. The all inclusive mini bar was a nice touch.
The positives of this resort -
The biggest one is the staff ( I never thought I would write that) They are incredible and will do anything for you! Prince and Carian especially.
Palms - I don't think this gets enough positive press. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal that we had in here and always found some thing to eat. At breakfast the egg lady was great and if you ask will get you Eggs Benedict.
Italian - I know people have been negative about the portion sizes, I think because they don't realise that you are supposed to order a starter, pasta and meat course (as in Italy) but doing this I was always full and enjoyed this.
Smoothie bar - My favourite part was the cookie jar - they tasted very good.
Gourmet corner - we enjoyed the Jamaican pattie from here.
Pools - The pools were a good size and always kept very clean.
Beach - The beach was amazing and if you walk down the beach you will see that the Sensatori part of beach is much better quality than near by Sandals and further Hedonism.
Water sports centre - They don't apply any pressure they give you the information that you asked for. We went snorkelling with them and would highly recommend it to anyone.
The bar - the staff are great and you can get branded drinks from here. They have cocktail menus but the staff always make up different cocktails. You could go a whole 2 weeks and never have the same drink twice!!
The lounge - This was also a nice place to go and have a drink and again would play any music that you requested.
The rep (Nicky) - My partner wanted to watch a football match which wasn't on the room TV. The rep and the hotel tried many different ways to try and ensure that my partner was able to watch the match. Unfortunately it wasn't possible but they tried their hardest and that is what counts!
Anything you ask for the hotel will try their best to make it happen! Nicky was very approachable and always visible around the resort. She also went to the shops for guests when necessary.
The negatives - Shade on the beach - The only shade there is on the beach is from the Bali Beds however these are limited and people were getting up at 5 am to reserve these. There are rules about not reserving them until 7 and if you don't return in 2 hours losing the bed, however these are not enforced in anyway. This is an issue that the hotel needs to address.
Spa - We had a complimentary foot massage on the beach and it was outstanding, however after deciding to book a massage we were shocked by the high prices and as a matter of principal refused to pay the price.
Beach party and Pool party to be honest we only attended one of these and found the food to be of a lower standard and didn't particularly enjoy this.
Entertainment - The entertainment was very low key and although they had some talented entertainers this needs to be improved on. On a Thursday look out for the magician around the 7 mile bar he is amazing.
There is no major negatives about this hotel just things that need tweaking to make it 5* resort.
A lot of people have talked about children in our opinion this isn't a resort for children. Most of the children there were bored and jumping off bridges and on peoples swim ups and things. Or running around and screaming at night. This was due to them having nothing to do. So although we didn't travel with children from what we saw we wouldn't recommend it for people with children.
Club Mobay - We didn't book club Mobay either way we were on the coach in 25 minutes on arrival! When leaving we got through immigration faster than some people who had book Club Mobay. However I think that this is all pot luck as I know some people who had very bad wait times and would highly recommend it.
One love bus tour - this was a brilliant afternoon/evening and I would highly recommend it.
Anybody going to this hotel Carian the concierge works for a local charity and needs resources for children so anything you could take over would be very appreciated and gratefully received! Including stationary, toys or even clothes.
We met some of the most amazing people on holiday staff and guests. They helped to make this one of the best holidays that we have ever had. The people defiantly made this hotel for us. We wouldn't hesitate to go back to the hotel or book another Sensatori. However I wouldn't go somewhere because it was a Sensatori particularly either.
To sum up Great room (loved the swim up), Great food, Great drink, Great staff and Great holiday. A few little niggles but nothing that would spoil your holiday.
An amazing holiday.

Room Tip: The swim ups with the lower numbers at the end get more sun. We had 5105 and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cub_and_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    420
    144
    45
    48
See reviews for
382
1,250
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I with our 11 year old daughter recently returned from the most fantastic holiday at Azul Negril! We stayed in the family block in a two bedded room which was large,bright and spotlessly cleaned every day. The restaurants were all lovely,we didn't really have a favourite in the evenings but lunch was great in Garfields or Oceans for the best jerk chicken which you could eat there or on the beach sat on your cabana. We spent a lot if days at the swim up bar in the family pool and special mention to Christina who made the best Jamaica Smile cocktails! Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and I'd like to mention them all but there just isn't room in this review so all of those I've left out,sorry but we aporeciated every one of you!! Neville and Dwayne in the restaurants,Roydell in Gary in Garfields bar and Javor in concierge to name a few. I'm not going to repeat what others have written only to say that we had the most laid back ,relaxing and enjoyable two weeks and were honestly sad when it was time to leave. We made some great friends and miss everyone! I especially miss my 11am jamaica smiles... We are definitely planning to return one day,yeah man!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Bahh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Sensatori Jamaica is a lovely hotel, it's spotlessly clean and the food is well prepared, with plenty of choice. I would argue it's not 5* food however it is great quality! The staff make the hotel and are always willing to help! Omar G is fab! The best feature of this hotel with out a doubt is the beach! It is gorgeous and one of the reasons we returned to Jamaica. The hotel caters for many allergies and provided gluten free pasta etc for my husband. There is a lack of air conditioning in restaurants which can be a problem in August however the views are so beautiful, it's hard to complain. We did have an issue whilst we were there however management helped us to resolve this. Don't hesitate about booking this resort, it is beautiful! One tip, book the 50 dollar boat trip with Stanley's deep sea fishing located just on the edge of the beach, we had a fab time on the boat and they couldn't do enough for us! Great quality for the money! Jamaica is a fantastic island, with beautiful beaches and a great atmosphere! Enjoy!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hants
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is a nice hotel, it is not the best 5 star hotel that I have been to but nor is it the worse. The hotel has circa 130 rooms, it is not overcrowded and you get to know the other guests that are there in the hotel during your stay. The staff also get to know you and what you like and dislike. They are friendly and attentive and trying hard to please which they mostly do.

The hotel has 3 restaurants and a buffet restaurant, personally the Italian restaurant was the best, the food is very good and it is air conditioned.

The lack of air conditioned space in the hotel is a big issues. In August it is extremely hot and humid in the evenings, the lack of air conditioning in the restaurants and lobby can make it quite unpleasant when dining or relaxing. The Nesta bar upstairs is a fantastic place, fully air conditioned and very trendy - the cocktails are great too with much more choice than what is shown in the drinks menu.

The rooms are good - plenty big enough that being said our initial room had the smallest bathroom I have ever encountered. We mentioned it to the front desk and they informed us that all bathrooms are the same size. Half way through the holiday we found out that the vast majority of bathrooms are very big and sumptuous - credit to the hotel and management, when I complained to them that I had been misled they instantly moved us to a swim up honeymoon suite and offered my wife a complementary spa treatment as an apology - a fantastic gesture which you could not fault.

The beach is awesome, spotless white sand which is cleaned and raked each day by the beach staff. If you walk along 7 mile beach it is without doubt the best stretch of beach there - far nicer than the beach at Sandals. The major issue, which the hotel manager is aware of and dealing with is the acute lack of parasols on the beach - this is an issue at present.

I like the hotel - the staff are very pleasant, the hotel is small and has a boutique feel, the beach and sea are awesome but it does need to address its minor failings which are lack of air conditioned space and lack of shade on the beach.

In my opinion it is more suited to couples and not necessarily families, we would definitely return and we don't often say that about many places. If you have any questions then please ask.

Room Tip: Do not get rooms 09 or 10 on any floor of the blocks - the bathrooms are tiny, really tiny due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andy7561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just returned yesterday from two week stay

The hotel is nice but not sensational.

The refurbishment was only partly done and the room we were in was comfortable but definitely not luxurious. We booked a suite and on arrival were given a very poor room in the corner of the swim up section. After two days and being told that these one bedroom rooms were classified as suites we were moved further down to a better room. There seems to be some confusion over room descriptions and actual allocations. We booked and paid for a junior suite and got a room yet other couples had only booked and paid for an ordinary room and got a two room, bedroom and lounge suite. How does that work?

The buffet restaurant is very small with limited choice although the quality of food there was o.k.

The other restaurants were pretty good and it is nice that you do not have to book.

The staff are this hotels saving grace and they made our holiday memorable. So 100% for them.

The location although very close to the road is also right on the beach. Traffic can be heard from the swim up rooms but location to beach made up for that.

Evening entertainment is fair but if it has been raining there is no second plan and you will find yourselves drying off chairs to sit on before the show. Does not put you in a great mood.

I know I am in the minority of reviewers to give this hotel a little bit of bad press but I can only tell my opinion.

Stayed at sensatori in Crete last year and thought that was a lot better for food and entertainment.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you book a suite they allocate what you have paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenny1022655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Thank you for your sharing the experiences of your visit to the Azul Sensatori , we truly appreciate your feedback however please accept our sincere apologies for the areas in which we fell short. We will be use your comment constructively to perfect our Gourmet Inclusive vacation experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have traveled to different places in Jamaica 6'th time here also many other places in the Caribbean so feel that this is balanced and honest ,Had a fab holiday at sensatori Negril mainly down to the staff at the resort who try to make it special,special mention to Prince whose service was second to none, Oral the head chef for his awesome meals with a special touch. Special mention to Sheryl in 7 mile beach bar service was awesome. Garfield need to get there act together as the food was poor at best and the management not interested only ever apologised simply not good enough Danielle stand up and be counted in your job your follow up and apologies are simply not good enough, would probably return simply because of the staff mentioned but only when this is up to 5,star standards not just 5 star prices for 3 star hotel.
Top tip - do not waste money upgrading to swim up rooms you do not get the sun the way the hotel is positioned total waste of money unless you want to sit in shade .we did complain about the room and was told we would move still waiting .....
Not impressed with Thomson holidays we have been delayed since yesterday only informed 20 mins before we were being pickled up from resort that our flight was cancelled , we had connecting flights from gatwick I was informed by Thomson rep in resort to book and claim back at later date also have had to book a hotel due to arrival time in London again out of pocket simply not the service expect from Thomson holidays... Losing a loyal customer.......... Kept bit in dark that we had further delays after being dropped at airport....And to top it all had booked premium seats at more expense only to find that we are not on the Dreamliner and the upgrade is not available on the aircraft we are returning in this has happened on a previous occasion with Thomson holidays --- never again !!!!
Club Mobay we'll worth money both for arrival much quicker and stress free, well looked after and on departure .
Lynne and David Nimmo.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a swim up room we waisted £530 on it to sit in the shade but if you prefer the sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the trip advisor community.
We do regret your overall impressions fell somewhat short of exceptional, however. Our goal is to ensure every guest enjoys a memorable stay, so we seek to offer superior quality , luxurious amenities, and customer service, all at a great price to our guests. We value your insights, and hope for the opportunity to better your impressions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a great time in Jamaica and this hotel is very good. The start at the airport is a bit of a pain, it took us 2.5 hours to get through security, total shambles, no control and people pushing in, mainly Americans i have to say. The transfer only took about 1hr.25 mins, so not to bad, roads are terrible, but little taste of Jamaica on the way. Arrival at the hotel is great, glass of fizz and some aperitifs, then shown to your room and bags arrive later. We chose a Honeymoon suite, which have a big balcony overlooking the sea, 2 bathrooms and a separate seating area. Really nice room, very modern, the finish isn't perfect and we had issues with leaking windows, but didn't ruin the holiday and they fixed it a couple of times.

The pools are kept clean everyday, constant cleaning and checking the levels, swim up bars are great and staff friendly. Cocktails are good, better at night for some reason? My favourite the Rum Runner cocktail. The beach is raked everyday and the sea is clear and blue, even a few fish, starfish and rays in there. We walked up and down the beach a few mornings and when you see the Sandals resort, you'll really appreciate the Azul.

Restaurants are plenty and we probably preferred the Palms in the day, all fresh food and really well presented and staff are brilliant in there, Marion being the one who stood out. At night we ate in all the restaurants over the 2 weeks, a few issues which is why the hotel isn't perfect yet, but will be. Twice in the Ackee, we were left sitting there with a menu, no drink for 20 minutes, not the staffs fault really, they are rushed off there feet and the manageress is swaying around totally unobservant of what's going on. The waiters have to go down stairs to another restaurant to get deserts, meaning sometimes there are no waiters on the floor. Same happened in the Garfield twice. They have a zonal serving policy, so if you don't fall into a certain waiters zone, even though he/she could be serving the next table, you don't get any top-ups etc. Seems a strange way to run the restaurants, but as i say, the staff are really friendly and work very hard. The italian is the best run restaurant and we only had to wait 25 minutes twice, so more time at the bar! but food in all the restaurants is very good.

We tipped when we could or when we felt the person had gone beyond, but it's difficult as it can get out of hand, you want to tip everyone, but you can't, it would cost a fortune.

Trips i would recommend, Dolphin cove was great, we had nothing to compare it to but had a great time there. The southern tipple also good, which includes black river,Ys falls and appleton rum tour, all very good.

Look out for the diving pelicans, great entertainment from your balcony, with a red stripe in hand.

Would recommend this hotel all day long, you will enjoy it

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rossiliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royalton Negril
Royalton Negril
#24 of 81 in Negril
547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 81 in Negril
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
0.3 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma

Property: Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coveted stretch of Negril's world-famous Seven Mile Beach, Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica is a pristine paradise where couples, families, friends and colleagues can reconnect beneath brilliant blue skies and tropical sunshine. This oceanfront hotel offers spacious, contemporary oceanfront accommodations, with special adults-only sections dedicated exclusively to romantic honeymoon suites. You'll find a variety of restaurants serving masterfully prepared and artfully presented International cuisine, enhanced by breathtaking ocean views. There's a world-class spa. Premium liquor. Live entertainment day and night. A near endless variety of activities on land and in the crystal clear waters. And supervised programs for kids and teens designed to make sure everyone has a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing