We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falls just short of the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Idle Awhile The Beach
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I feel bad writing a review saying anything negative about this property, since it always gets glowing reviews and has tons of repeat visitors. Many people book years in advance. I would have to agree with all the positive reviews regarding the room (which was gorgeous) and the beautiful gardens. Any time we brought up an issue, the staff were very quick to remedy it. Eric and Aaron were always ready to set up loungers for us on the beach wherever we wanted, complete with umbrella. Chill Awhile restaurant/bar was a wonderful option for meals if we didn't feel like walking anywhere. They have an amazing quesadilla menu. So the property has lots going for it.

There were a few negatives that would prevent me from giving it highest marks in all categories. First, our room (#101) was noisy. There is no glass in the windows, just screens and wooden louvers. Tree frogs at night were soothing, all the people walking by the room all day and night talking and laughing not so soothing. People use the walkway as a shortcut to Best in the West jerk chicken stand across the street, and the room is also very close to the kitchen, so the kitchen staff would go by very early in the morning, waking us up before we wanted to be. Apart from the noise, there was very little privacy on our lovely patio because of the constant stream of people walking past. We had a garden view, which faces the road, so quite a bit of road noise can be heard. The day we left, construction was just gearing up for major work at the neighbouring property, Coco la Palm, and it is exceptionally close to the left side of Idle Awhile, so I think there will be a lot of construction noise for quite some time, probably several months.

We also weren't really sure how much security there was. There was one guard at the rear of the property (some of the time). We had spent a week at Negril Treehouse before we arrived at Idle Awhile, and their security was visible and excellent. You didn't get hassled at your lounger by beach vendors, because they would be shooed away by the security people. We got hassled far more at Idle Awhile. For whatever reason, all the beach musicians (there were at least 6 different solo acts and groups) would park themselves in front of our loungers and play several songs, whether anyone wanted to hear yet another version of Bob Marley's songs or not. Again, didn't happen at Treehouse.

The 6 suites are attractive to families. We were surprised by the number of children that were there. If you would prefer a more adult environment, this is not going to be the place for you.

To sum up, all the good things about Idle Awhile (and there are many good things) just didn't quite overcome the negative things to meet our expectations for a small boutique type property, for the price.

Room Tip: Possibly rooms on the second level are less noisy. At least there wouldn't be foot traffic goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beadssusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

After some thorough and meticulous research I booked a post bar exam getaway for my fiancé and I at this gem partially based off the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. My faith was rewarded as the stay was amazing. First off the location is fantastic. The rooms were spacious and clean. No pool but one isn't necessary withThe best beach in the world right outside your door. The service is great with some trademark Jamaican easygoing charm. The greeting is nice with a potent rum punch ready to welcome you to Paradise. The on-site restaurant Stay Awhile is delicious. The beach is gorgeous although it does have its share of pushy peddlers. Stern no thank you's typically get the job done. Overall the feeling of a quiet relaxing getaway is what this place is all about. After staying here we moved on to Rose Hall Iberostar beaches which provided the opposite end of the spectrum and needless to say we missed our time at Idle Awhile. We would definitely return!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JMcEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have been vacationing in Negril for 25 years.....and 10 years ago we bought a Timeshare at The Beachcomber Club.........After the "Adventure's" of staying there.....we finally had enough and looked for another place to stay.....after walking thru many beach resorts and looking .......we chose to stay at Idle Awhile this year.........Holy Cow......we wasted ten years staying at the BCC.........This place is the "Best" well run and managed resort we have ever stayed at........It's on the small side....only 14 rooms.....but for the 14 rooms they have 6 maids.......Need I say any more??.........LOL.........The place is spotless and very well maintained.....the Restaurant is probably one of the best on the Beach.......Unlike the other Beach Resorts you don't have to get up at 6am to go out and get a beach chair............10 am......No Problem......11 am......No Problem.........Can't say enough good things about Idle Awhile........

Room Tip: Any Room........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter (14) and I just returned from a 5 day stay at Idle A While. All the reviews are accurate. The property gardens are very well maintained. We had a garden room that was spacious enough, nice comfortable bed with comfortable linens and large flat screen TV with satellite (plenty of stations to even keep my daughter entertained in the evenings before bed). On site restaurant (Chill a While) had good breakfast and dinner selection. Staff is friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Put this place in Belize and it would be a little slice of Heaven !!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good, size will dictate room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben8145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is my 4th time coming to this Idle Awhile paradise and 5th time in Negril. I imagine this is what heaven would be like -- perfect service, rooms and of course the beach, which in my opinion, is the best one out of the 7 mile stretch. The beach is like a gigantic pool with waves being so calm. Although I was a bit apprehensive for my kids wanting the pool, my 3 and 5 year olds didn't miss it a bit. As for drinks and food, must-haves are the dirty bananas at the bar, jerk chicken at the Best of the West across the road and beef patties at Mike's, next to the chicken spot. Niah's on the beach also makes excellent chicken and veggie patties but make sure you go there when he's awake. While he'll still greet you with a smile, waking him up will diminish his pattie-making-skills. As for transportation, be sure ask for Mark to be your "official" driver. He'll guide you to tours, bars and restaurants that will not disappoint! Please be sure to tell him I said, "waddup mon" You'll cultivate precious friendships with the locals that will keep bringing you back for more. While I've traveled quite a bit in my life, this place is by far the best for chillaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kangotango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I am so in love with this place. Our suite was heaven. The walk way to the beach was heaven.. The staff is friendly. King was a great help. Idle awhile is the perfect place to stay on 7 mile beach. I refuse to stay any where else. The rooms are clean; bathroom is clean; the maids clean after you every day while you are out. I will recommend this place to everyone!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank shanellmeylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed at Couples Swept Away many times over the last 15 years. Now they're too big and too expensive. We love the Couples vibe tho' and decided to try Idle Awhile which is owned by the same family. The hotel is a thin slice of tranquility on 7 mile beach. Large rooms, nice understated design, very cool, tropical and not "fussy" or overdone. Clearly the same designer as CSA. Smaller rooms don't have enough storage. Larger rooms have plenty! Mix of staff - most friendly, some not (just like anywhere else). Rooms cleaned as expected, bugs just like anywhere else in hot, humid climate. Liked the idea of the recyclable water bottles given to each guest but water from cooler and bar areas was kind of stagnant tasting. Also very slippery tile floor bby central fountain area - be careful! Nothing else bad to say about the hotel except food was disappointing , but seemed on par with other similar hotels along the beach. Entertainment non-existent but we didn't go there for that. Did exactly what it said on the label. You can certainly spend a few days relaxing here without needing to go anywhere else, or you can use as base and sample other places along the beach/cliffs/surrounding area. Beach loungers and umbrellas plentiful and in good condition. Lounger cushions double as floats. Caribbean Sea is beautiful here, azure blue, smooth as glass in the a.m., nice little waves as the day goes by, then back to smooth again. Beach vendors - constant - but a friendly "no thanks" is all you need. But ....you can buy everything you need for the day from them without leaving your beach lounger and sometimes that works better than eating at hotel or local restaurants. Fresh juice, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit nicely sliced for you by the older lady who works her socks off every day (except Sunday), jerk pork from the man, who we were told raises his pigs, processes, cooks and then serves 'em up to locals and tourists alike. And patties. AND fresh local fish - make your pick and the guys will cook it and bring it back to you. Tip - stop at a supermarket on the way from the airport or in Negril for beer, rum, snacks etc. The guy across the street (next to Best of the West - hit or miss food) makes up his prices based on how much he thinks you'll agree to pay. Didn't feel particularly safe/unsafe - just overly hassled, for that reason will probably give Jamaica a pass for a few years. Final note - Airport at Mo'Bay is a complete nightmare and the Jamaican authorities need to give serious thought re. improvements - makes Newark seem like the pinnacle of perfection in comparison. Underwhelmed with whole experience this time round.

Room Tip: Hotel is so small that there doesn't seem to be a bad room. All rooms set back from beach so con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HobokenReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 80 in Negril
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#27 of 80 in Negril
64 reviews
2.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle Awhile The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Awhile The Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £151 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Idle Awhile The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Idle Awhile The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Awhile Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing