We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idle Away on the 7 Mile Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Idle Awhile The Beach
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idle Away on the 7 Mile Beach”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

The Idle Awhile resort is very true to its name and provides a perfect setting for those wishing a few lazy days spent on the beach, sampling all the great food nearby. We were booked for three nights in a standard ocean view room on the second floor. The drive from the Montego Bay airport to the hotel is scenic and Brian, the hotel’s driver was very knowledgeable about the island and provided us with a lot of interesting trivia and useful information. Check in at the hotel was quick and Karim at the reception provided us with a couple of “Idle Awhile” water bottles that came really handy during our trip. The hotel grounds are well maintained, with a very nice restaurant and bar. The property has direct access to the beach and there were sufficient beach chairs and floats. The beach is clean, the water clear blue and is perfect temperature. Also, there is a security guard always on duty, which was very comforting. Our room itself was very spacious with a large balcony that provided a partial view of the sea. The balcony had really comfortable chairs and was our favorite spot for Idling a while.
The resort is very conveniently located and a large number of great restaurants are within walking distance. We had some really great meals at the Idle Awhile restaurant, Norma’s, Cosmos, Donaldson and the “Best in the West” which is right across the street. Norma's promised us free dessert with the purchase of an entree but they ran out of desserts and we we offered only icecream. Later during our stay, we found it easier to walk along the road, rather than the beach. This was much quicker and also we were not being constantly accosted for “Bob Marley Smoke”, water sports, boat tours and excursions. The roundabout, which has a lot of shops, restaurants, ATM’s and currency exchanges, is about a twenty-minute walk. We did a lot of walking, since we were on a budget and avoided taxis whenever possible, but you can get a cab ride for about 100-1000 Jamaican dollars ( USD $2 - $10) anywhere around Negril. Idle Awhile has a tie up with its sister resort “Couples Swept Away” and we were allowed to use the fitness center and other facilities at this very large all inclusive resort. There is also a pool table, ping-pong table and large screen TV’s. Overall, Idle Awhile was really worth the money, a great location and I would definitely recommend it. Some of things I missed were a complimentary breakfast and a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CrestBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    88
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
55
212
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amish Country
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

When we arrived in the lobby of Idle Awhile, the gentleman at the front desk told us “welcome home.” For me, that encapsulates the vibe at this spectacular beach hotel.

Our room wasn’t ready when we arrived so we were directed to the beach, where complimentary drinks and beach chairs awaited. Soon we were taken to our room, which was modern and spacious with a super comfortable bed (and even a down duvet for A/C sleeping) and a stylish all-white tile bathroom. The verandah was a great place to enjoy coffee or hang out at night. The breeze from the ceiling fan and a little DEET kept us happy and bite free. The only downside to our room was that it was right on the main path, so we felt a bit on display.

The beach was absolutely amazing, and the water was perfection. There were plenty of chairs and lots of room to move around if you wanted shade. We took our chair cushions into the ocean to use as floats. Fresh towels were always available and the vendors weren’t much of a problem. We had dinner and many drinks from Chill Awhile and everything was delicious, as was our breakfast at the Charela Inn next door.

I only wish we could have stayed longer to explore the area and make use of the hotel’s beach hammocks. Idle Awhile, we’ll be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PuffinEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Overall, I would say that this hotel is beautiful and a great value. My boyfriend and I stayed in a standard room here for our first 3 days in Negril, and we agreed that we enjoyed this hotel a lot more than our second hotel (which was the Rockhouse). The beach was GORGEOUS. There are a lot of husters on the beach, but they weren't a problem. The rooms were very cozy, comfortable, and were islandy but trendy. Get a second floor room if you want more privacy on the veranda. The restaurant, Chill Awhile, had ok food. Across the street is the Best in the West, which is a must to try. The jerk chicken was delicious. If were were to return to Negril, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nieceyeffbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bear creek pa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Choose this place based on the great reviews and were not disappointed.Pictures dont do the beach and water justice.Staff is great just takes a little prodding to get them talking or they will just leave you alone.You will be asked to buy all sorts of things on the beach but will get used to it after a day,a firm no is all it takes and they keep moving along.. Moving up to the cliffs to Catcha Falling Star tommorow wifi works great here...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My fiance and I just got back from a destination wedding in Negril and almost all the guests of our friends' wedding stayed at Idle Awhile. Idle Awhile was an amazing hotel from the great and friendly staff, to the very comfortable accommodations.
We stayed in a beach view room (room 103) and it was perfect for us. The room was set pretty far from the beach, and the view was small. However, that is unimportant when it takes you 20 seconds to walk to the beach and get the full view. The porch to the room was great place to hang out, read a book, and drink. The bathroom was a very decent size for 2 people. There was AC in the room, but it was never needed due to the fans and open windows.
The bar was a perfect place to hang out and drink with friends. The staff was very nice and accommodating even though the after wedding party consisted of a bunch of loud Americans practically taking the place over. At no point were they angry with us.
The beach was beautiful. White sand and turquoise water. The size of the property was a lot smaller than we expected, but it was by far one of the nicer places that was saw on 7 Mile Beach.
The breakfasts at Chill Awhile were very good. I can't give a very in depth review of the food since we ate at other places most of the time. Most of our time eating was spent at the jerk chicken hut across the street which was absolutely delicious. I strongly suggest stopping by as much as you can. The staff at the hut are great guys and you will definitely meet a lot of travelers there enjoying the much talked about food.
We definitely recommend Idle Awhile to anyone staying in Negril. Decent value (5th night free!!),a stylish place, and a great staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJSoto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesotho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

My wife and I got married in Negril (at Negril Escape) last week and we and most of our family and a few friends stayed at this excellent hotel in Negril. The staff were outstanding, helpful and accommodating. The food is pretty good, the rooms were very clean and fresh and the beach was raked and well maintained. We had an excellent time and would recommend it for any age range and any type of group. Everyone from our college friends to our grandparents really enjoyed their stay. Thanks again to all of the staff for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batteredSuitcase007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

For many years, my husband and I have been raving about Jamaica, Negril & Idle Awhile. Apparently, we're a great "sell". Last June 2008, my family of 11 adults and 2 children packed up on the very first family vacation since childhood.

Adult ages ranged from 22 - 74 with two children ages 5 & 6. I became the appointed travel expert for our group. From the Air, Lodging, activities and dining they were open to all that Jamaica had to offer. The lovely drive from Sangster to Negril was not to be missed. Our expert driver, Brian from Idle Awhile safely and cautiously delivered the family to Idle Awhile.

The check in process is smooth and hassle free. If your room isn't ready, depending on check in time, you are able to change in the lobby restroom and leave your bags. Nathefa and the office staff keep a watchful eye.

From the moment the family stepped through the Idle Awhile gates and meandered down the path towards the beach, they were gone. The grounds are gorgeous and lush. The staff, exceptional and the small, well kept beach feels like your own oasis.

We took up 6 rooms during our stay. My husband and I took our usual, 105. It is a lower ocean view suite. It was perfect for hosting the family throughout the day. Whether lounging on the patio, or having coffee or an afternoon snack it is the perfect gathering point.

Just steps to Chill Awhile where we enjoyed many a meal & many more fantastic drinks.

Not only does Idle Awhile provide many of the amentities one needs (shampoo, soaps & lotion), beach towels, chairs, floats (a key item on this calm beach), sand toys for the children, but the staff is wonderful. Everyone is so nice and accomodating. Both the day and evening beach security are outstanding. We have never felt more relaxed.

Everyone in our group loved their own individual rooms. Whether Garden View, Ocean View or our suite. There is not a bad room in the place. It all depends on your desire. My sister really enjoyed her lower garden room. It was perfect for the children to have naps or playtime on their patio.

Our suite was well equipped.

Full kitchen; stove, oven, refridgerator, toaster oven, French Press Coffee Maker, pots, pans, dishes, glasses, silverware, pitcher...everything you need for either cooking or snacking. Plenty of storage and pantry space. I wouldn't suggest purchasing any large amount of milk. Ours went south pretty quick. You can always purchase this item from Chill Awhile if needed. The fridge did keep our drinks and left over foods cold.

Bedroom: King bed, ceiling fan, A/C (works GREAT), french doors w/privacy blinds, shuttered screened windows (no glass, just close the shutters), LCD TV, clock radio, phone, nightstands, shelves, chair. Opens to bathroom, open closet (large) safe, Large dresser large bathroom area w/walk in shower. When we stayed in 2006, our son and his friend joined us. The boys (21 yrs) slept in the living area and were fine w/the June temps. If it's unbareable (I won't be seeing Negril again in August :-) ) you could move either the sofa mat or probably push the queen over to the open french doors of the bedroom to share the air.

Living Area: Large. Queen Day Bed, Sofa (stone w/padded top), couple of chairs, desk & chair, TV, ceiling fans, shelves, & phone.

Patio: Shutters from the kitchen open up to the patio area. There is a counter/bar with a couple of stools, ceiling fans, patio table and chairs and great hammock. There are also a few hammocks in the area between the suite and Chill Awhile for everyone on the property to enjoy; watch out for falling coconuts!

The calm caribbean sea is just a few white sand steps from your room. If you prefer a pool, you are welcome to the pools and fitness center at Swept Away, Just down the beach. My husband and I honeymooned there several years ago. The facilities are outstanding. We, however, prefer the quaint solitude of Idle Awhile. We always say we'll go down the road and re-visit, but once you step onto Idle Awhile's beach, we just don't want to leave.

Idle Awhile is our piece of paradise. We look forward to many years of return trips to our extended family at Idle Awhile. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Idle Awhile The Villas
Idle Awhile The Villas
#2 of 48 in Negril
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle Awhile The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Awhile The Beach

Property: Idle Awhile The Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Idle Awhile The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Idle Awhile The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Awhile Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing