We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th year at Catcha!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“4th year at Catcha!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

No reason to stay or eat anywhere else..period! We got married here, made friends here and love it every year that we return. Many thanks to the entire staff for making our trip so wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindychittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    159
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
106
613
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Best staff in Jamaica! I'll never stay anywhere else again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our fifth time there a few weeks ago - nothing but wonderful!! Thanks Susan, Andrea, Kevin, Ty, Carol, Barbara, Keniesha, and everyone else for welcoming us into your family year after year. Rob & Nina (ps see you next Feb!)

Room Tip: don't bother leaving unless you really need a beach fix. It doesn't get better in Negril for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robdavis309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Spent 5 nights at Catcha, Great location on the cliffs and the economical alternative to
The Caves, which is close enough to snorkle to. Stayed in the Sun room which was quite roomy with a kitchenette. No stove, just a nice double hot plate, which was fine. Both hot and cold water were fine, AC in the BR was fine, and fans throughout. The front veranda was nice and roomy with double doors leading to it. We took the inside table through the doors and enjoyed being outside a few nights. View was fantastic, not a lot of fish but snorkeling was good. Water goes down to about 15 or 20 feet within feet of the cliffs so if you can't go that deep you need to stay near the cliffs to see much. The dining, bar, and pool area is great with a nice cove coming into the property. Food at Ivan's was always great with no need to go off-site unless you wanted to try someplace different. Wew did go to the highly rated 3-Dives and the food was good, not great. The grounds are very well maintained and quite pleasant. You will love the many carved out niches to relax in private along the cliffs. There is a nice mini-mart across the street where you can get groceries, alcohol, soda, etc. Always felt safe in and around the Catcha area though we were told not to go too far alone as someone was robbed about 1/4 mile south of the property. Don't even think of renting a car. The roads are quite narrow and not maintained. We wanted to rent scooters but once again, not a good idea because of the roads. Used Rocky's Taxi and Tour services to go on trips, he is the number 1 rated service in trip adisor. Also used "Famous Vincent" for snorkeling, he drives his glass bottom boat by the property each morning about 9 AM to pick people up for snorkle trips about 1/2 hour boat ride away. He actually goes in the water with you and gives you a guided trip around the reef. The depth of the water at the reef is 1 to 6 feet deep so pretty easy. Unfortunately it appears that this area of Jamaica has been fished out so not many fish. We were in the water every day and the biggest fish I saw was less than a foot long. Rick's is definately overrated. Went there once to see what the rave was but didn't see anything great. the cliff divers were neat to watch but that was about it. Every evening boats from the other resorts all come to Ricks and then leave right before sunset. From Rick's you can look over and see Catcha and it is said that the sunset view at Catcha is better than at Rick's, which I would have agree with. Went to the Craft Mart one afternoon where people have their little shanties with mostly carved stuff. Nothing great but I liked to support them as they are desperate to sell stuff to live on. Some of the shop keepers looked to be in such hurt that I started leaving them a few dollars as a gift. You do not need any Jamaican currency any where. They all take US dollars, just make sure you know what exchange rate to expect. If you are looking for a romantic place away from the crowds and are not looking for those long walks on the beach then Catcha has the best deal going.

Room Tip: Sagittarius is closest to the water, this is the highest demand cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Beautiful place, great staff, excellent resturant. This is our 3rd trip to Negril and Catcha is by far the top place we have stayed on the Cliffs. The Little Capricorn is the least expensive room they rent but it was very nicely appointed and clean. The only drawback is no louvered windows, can not open windows. Have to use the air conditioning all of the time. Most of the trip was spent around the cliffs and pool so the windows were not an issue for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

just stayed for a week and love it, mainly because we hate the garbage they call food at all inclusive resorts..we eat at all the great places near catcha...LTU is bulletproof great, jamcan right down the road did us the best conk stew ive had yet and without question, the food right at catch a falling star might be the best you'll find..views, the pool, the 'warmtub', snorkeling, ivans bar, all you'll ever want from a resort..now the bad news.. do not stay in one of the two cottages by the front gate! we had pisces and listened to dogs bark ALL NIGHT! Im not joking, we are going back but we'll be by the water and probably not hear so much..but by the gate its just amplified dog barking and cars..not fun and the fan and air conditioner wont drown it out..so go there, youll love it, but dont do pisces, youll never sleep

Room Tip: take anything as close to the ocean as you can for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We rented Aquarius for 6 nights in Jan. Loved this little place ! Friendly staff, beautiful sunsets. Walking distance to several other restaurants and so close to Rick's ! Ivan's restaurant on the grounds is amazing ! No need to go anywhere else for food. Not luxurious but certainly a bargain ! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a good, clean, place with a wonderful restaurant and amazing views.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moorekath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Hotel.de so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing