We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got married here and LOVED it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
vermont
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We got married here and LOVED it!”
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We got married at Catch A Falling Star on Febuary 20th 2008. We can't say enough about this place. This is a very romantic setting and small enough where you feel like you are the only people that matter. We want to thank everyone starting with Andrea. Your heart is pure. Your amazing attention to detail and the countless emails made the wedding planning a breeze. Kevin for making Ivan's bar the best in the world. Wayne King for bringing us everywhere. Thanks for the Rooster! Carol, Hillary & Barbara for making us feel like family. Bull and Monday for keeping the grounds beautiful and creating the picture perfect landscape for our wedding day. Big-A for his smile, and to the whole cook staff who made our wedding reception so memorable. The food was AMAZING! Big Wayne & Andrea's daughter for singing at our wedding. The Mighty Beestones for playing the best authentic mento music. To Reverend Campbell for conducting our ceremony. To Big Tex, Bev, Gary and to the rest of the regulars who made us feel like part of the group, thank you for being involved with our special day. Seeing all of you on the front porch during the ceremony is a great memory for us. To whom we might of missed, thank you all. Catch A Falling Star is the most magical place we have ever stayed. Nothing quite compares. Most of the guests come back year after year. One of the most impressive aspects of the Catcha staff is that they are real, down to earth people that do not put on a "front" for tourists. If you want to experience real Jamaican hospitality then this is the place. If you are looking for a westernized stay then try the Rockhouse. We had booked the Rockhouse in advance for our honeymoon and wished we stayed at Catcha the full trip. We have our reservation booked for 2009 and can't get there fast enough.

  • Liked — The beautiful location and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cindychittenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    160
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
109
616
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

This place is absolutely beautiful. Loved the grounds and the views. We stayed in the Leo and that was perfect too. The only bad thing is the location...we were traveling with two teens and one young adult and they would have preferred staying on the beach where there appears to be more action. Perfect for those who want a peaceful getaway.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerCMapleGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Catcha Falling Star. We were in "Sagi" and really loved our cliffside room. It's a bit larger than the pictures make it look. The view is just incredible.

The grounds at Catcha are absolutely lovely too, there are beautiful flowers and vines growing everywhere. And those sunsets are simply unbelievable.

The staff at Catcha is fantastic, everyone made us feel very welcome and they took great care of us. Heavenly aromas wafted out from the kitchen, we could not pass by there without getting hungry. The food was great, and it was lots of fun to hang out at Ivan's bar in the evenings.

We can't wait to return to Catcha Falling Star !

  • Liked — The view, friendly vibes from resort staff, food, drinks, Ben the dog
  • Disliked — It's great now, it will be fantastic once the pool is finished.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Omsibuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

We stayed in Aries, one of the new 1BR suites, from 2/26 - 3/7/08. The suite was huge, fresh and had a spectacular view of the ocean from our balcony. The bed was great. Food at Ivan's was excellent (but where were all the other guests??) and very reasonably priced. Service was as leisurely as everyone says, but with a great view of the ocean it wasn't a problem.

Staff was fantastic - warmly friendly, and called you by name after the first couple of days. Standouts: Carol ("Karl"), Andrea, Nan, our housekeeper, and Dandy ("Dondi"), our driver. Complimentary breakfast was good, but menu is limited - eggs and french toast, primarily.

There's not a lot to do at catcha - it's about relaxation - , and the highlight of our stay was the day two big catamarans full of drunken, rowdy, naked people came sailing down the coast from Hedonism II and anchored off of Rick's Cafe. Very entertaining!

Missing stuff: No telephone, hair dryer, shampoo were provided. A/C was bedroom only, and given the heat/humidity/lack of breeze, full A/C would have been appreciated.

My wife said she preferred Catcha to our vacation at Four Seasons on Maui last year, which cost 5X the daily rate of our Catcha suite!

  • Liked — Great suite and ocean view
  • Disliked — Partial A/C
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank khaug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

Sorry this is so late! I forgot that I never wrote a review upon our stay. My husband and I stayed in Saggitareus the first night and Pieses the second and third night. Both rooms are amazing but both had a different feel. We were amazed by Sag. We felt like we had our own personal island on the tip of a cliff. Room was large and bed super comfy! Bathroom was large and grounds were emmaculate. Breakfast was amazing! The akee and saltfish my fav! Could see Ricks from our room, the only downfall was that when we got there we could see our room and could not bare being away from it! Pieses was smaller but more private and romantic. The outdoor showere was really cool, especially when the power went out b/c of a storm, we found lots of ways to keep busy!!! The staff was really fun and their bar beautiful! Good food too! We would walk to 3 Dives which was the best Jerk ever! Had drinks at the Bar at Xtabi (banana drink is the best! Liquor was poured down the straw so watch that first sip!)
We had Alfred as our driver to and from the airport and went to Mayfield Falls. Even had lunch on the side of the road with a genuine rasta man, an experience I will never forget.
Afterwards we went to the beach part and stayed at Nirvana which could not compare with our experience on the cliffs!
We always remember our times in Saggitareus and would definitely recommend any room there!
I will be glad to answer any questions if any!

  • Liked — Everything! Exactly what we were looking for!
  • Disliked — Would'nt change a thing, just book early so you wont have to switch half way through
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marleylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

My DH and I visited Catcha in early February, and have already booked to return next year.

We stayed in Gemini 2, a rustic, and beautiful cottage. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well. Everything was kept spotless by housekeeping. We had a spectacular view from our very private veranda.

The food was excellent, especially the Coconut Pimento Shrimp! The prices were reasonable as well. We ate there quite often, only venturing to Rockhouse and LTU a handful of times. After full days of swimming, snorkeling, and relaxing, it was nice to just chill at Ivan's and enjoy hanging out with newly made friends. I hope we get to see many of them again!

Andrea and Hillary were always there with a smile to answer questions, make dinner reservations, and call for taxis. Kevin continually had us laughing and singing at the bar. Carol, Ardea, Barbara, Security Wayne, Bull, and everyone else I may have missed, thank you so much for all of your hard work. We miss you, and can't wait to return to our *home away from home*.

B&K from Wisconsin

  • Liked — The accomodations, the staff, the food, the privacy
  • Disliked — Nothing! We didn't want to come home!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank upsy_daizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

My husband and I stayed at CFS from 12th to the 17th of Feb. Our stay at CFS was absolutely incredible. The Staff was amazing and the property was well managed and landscaped beautifully.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Hillary the front desk clerk. She's a great person. I was allowed to use the phone to contact family at home, and informed them of our safe arrival. Hillary also gave us a tour of our room and the property. She also gave us great recommendations on where to eat for dinner outside the property.
We stayed in the Pisces cottage. The smaller and least expensive of the cottages, but it was a work of art. The room was just the right size for us, which included a TV, small fridge, safe, air-condition and ceiling fan. The outside shower was great, good water pressure and we took showers at any time of day, very private. The only problem with the room was the noise due to the cottage being so close to the street. Bring ear plugs and it would be just fine. The back porch was also a great touch. Relaxing in the hammock sipping on a red stripe is something to look forward too. We were always shaded by the ackee tree and flowers that covered the porch.
You can have breakfast on your porch each morning, but we chose to eat by the cliffs because the view was amazing, and it was so peaceful. We even saw dolphins one morning swimming by. We have to say that the staff was very attentive and all had great personalities. Thank you to Ardia and Carol for our great mornings and putting up with our sometimes complicated breakfast orders.
We never ate lunch at CFS, we would venture out to the many jerk stands outside the property. We did have dinner the first night we got there, curried chicken to die for and shrimp in pimento sauce. Also the appetizer sautéed conch was very tasty, so I guess if we stayed for lunch it would have been just as delicious. At night we would hang out at the bar with the crew, Kevin you're an awesome guy always there to answer our questions and fix us the best drinks in town. Sorry about my husband catching the bar on fire. “Our little secret". Also Shelly, Barbara and Karen amazing girls thanks for everything.
We would also like to say a special thanks to Wayne (CFS's driver who took us to the store and restaurants when we needed to and arranged for our snorkeling trip to a private island. Also to Wean (pronounced Wayne) the security guard always there with a smile and even serenaded us one night.
Overall our stay was an amazing one. I will always remember the fun that we've had here. The memories we will always have and most of all the wonderful people we experienced it with.
Thanks to all At Catch a Falling Star.

  • Liked — Staff and whole experience
  • Disliked — Nothing....Didn't want to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CaribbeanQueen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,108 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and LoveHolidays so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing