We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Think I Saw a Falling Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I Think I Saw a Falling Star”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have recently returned from our fourth trip to Jamaica, so it's obvious we love it there. Our two adult children, their significant others, and we, were invited to a family member's wedding at Sandals Negril. Not being the AI type we knew we would not stay there but at one of our favorite places on the Cliffs and then a few days at the Beach. Country Country is our spot there. Due to late planning on our part, for the dates of our various stays we were able to find a place for 1 couple at Catcha Falling Star and 2 couples at Tensing Pen, our other favorite at the Cliffs. We had originally looked at the 2 bedroom + 1 bedroom in the large building at Catcha for the 6 of us and it was not available by the time we made our decision. The staff, lodging, and amenities at both resorts is beyond comparison of any place we have stayed in our lifetimes.

I had been concerned that we may not be able to have all 6 of us spend as much time together as we wanted even though the resorts are just steps away from each other. My fears were dispelled immediately when our driver from Clives, highly recommended, dropped our son and daughter-in-law off at Catcha and Andrea remembered me and insisted "the lady" get out of the van and come over to the office for a hug and some nice conversation. We had spent two extended prior visits at Catcha, which we love equally as TP. So hard to choose, we try to spend time at both, and definitely eat at Ivans. Our previous visits to Catcha we stayed in the Virgo and Sun 1 bedroom suites with full kitchen, and the Libra Cottage, so beautiful but limited kitchen facilities.

So then my husband and I checked in at TP and were as warmly greeted, like coming home. Our previous visits had been to the Pine Pillar and Rock Cottage II, and this time we chose Garden A for ourselves, and our daughter and her guy were to arrive at Garden B the next day. We advised the office of our son being at Catcha and "no problem" for them to visit with us and his sister for the length of our stay. We immediately jumped into our suits and headed down to the cliffs for a swim. We could see across the way to our son and daughter-in-law doing the same at Catcha. We then enjoyed a great evening dinner at Ivans and playing cards on the beautiful porch of Garden A at TP.

Next day, the big arrival of our daughter and her guy, usually skeptical of anything Mom tells her, on arrival at TP she was all smiles and said, "It's everything you said it was, it's amazing!" You really just have to walk in the gate of either resort and you know you have arrived in paradise. Again everyone jumped into their suits and began jumping off cliffs and the bridge, and enjoying the gorgeous views. Lunch at Ivan's at Catcha was really fun and delicious. Their soups are out of this world. This time we had the vegetable and I still can't believe how good it was. Our son and daughter-in-law loved the breakfast, especially the syrup which may be pure maple, yummm.

Our daughter-in-law could not get enough of the flowers and greenery, walking down the paths of both resorts, Catcha has well recovered from the devastation of storm Nicole. Our daughter-in-law and our son had travelled from Wisconsin so the tropics were well received after their brutal winter. They both loved the friendliness at Catcha which is beyond compare. Seeing some of the staff from our previous visits, Kenisha, Nikki, Vivienne (who is all grown up now), and especially Carol made our time there so personal. Thanks to all.

Then there are the dogs. Since our kids own Ridgebacks as well, the dogs at TP are a special added attraction. Tensing, Shuga, and Beezy hung out with us comfortably and guarded us in our comings and goings between the 2 resorts. Special mention as well to Ben at Catcha, a very sweet dog.

While there we noticed that the 3 bedroom, 3 bath Long House at TP was available, so for a small upgraded price, all six of us moved for our 2 remaining nights so we could all be together. Our kids kept their original lodgings and moved back for their last night. The guys went fishing with "Duke" and brought in a 25 pound black fin tuna. Catcha filleted it and we gave most of it away to the staff at both resorts and cooked up the rest in the fine kitchen of the Long House. We bought rice and calalloo at the little store across the road and had a fine dinner.

I can't say enough about how great the people of Jamaica are. The hotel staff, the drivers, chefs, servers, tour guides. Jamaica must be doing something right. We will be back again and again.

Thanks again to all. Next stop Catcha, hoping the Libra is available or maybe try Sagi....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rastawoman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    160
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
109
616
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Booked this resort based on having dinner there last year, which was amazing! Absolutely the best food I've tried in Negril, and the prices were reasonable as well. The view to die for! Now,...for our experience having stayed there in Jan 2014.
I can honestly say, the grounds, cliffs, and people that work at Catcha were perfect. The pool although small, was just fine for the couple people that were in it at a time, to cool off from the hot sun shining above. Drinks from Ivans rocked,...had the Rum Punch, and am craving one now as I type this. The bartenders, were a lot of fun. Only downfall, Ivans closed at 10. Our group was just getting started!
Rooms were clean, stayed with friends, in the Gemini, 1 & 2. You needed to time your showers out between the 2 rooms, because you must share waterlines, and one of you would get less pressure and colder water if both were going at the same time. Also missed a clock in our room.
Although this resort is perfect in many ways, and I gave it 5 stars, it was way too quiet for us. No one was around. I guess I am used to the action from the 7 mile beach, having stayed there most of our visits, and missed that. No disrespect for Catcha, just my own opinion.
Booked next year on the beach, but will definitely be returning for the amazing jerk chicken pasta for a dinner off our resort. YUM!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in the Sag. We loved it. It was so tranquil to spend the days and evening gazing out at the ocean. We did not go out much but did a few walks outside of the complex. We had no problems arise while walking. We ate some meals at the restaurant on site. It was very good. We had it delivered to our room. Not sure if catcha knows this but their is a young cliff diver that would dive and walk across our balcony. It did not bother us but it could annoy some people. We definitely will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kameidotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

What an incredible view off of the cliffs. So many tourists flocked to Ricks Cafe to see the sunset but we had our own private show.

We stayed in the Star cottage. It was quaint and served our needs except we had a real issue with the hot water. It didn't exist the first 3 nights I was there. They got it working in the morning but by the time evening came, it was gone. They finally fixed it and Comped us for our troubles. That was a big issue. I am actually tempted to give them a 4 star rating for the water situation, but I will give a 5 since evErything else was incredible. The food was he best. The service was great. The staff really tried to get to know you. Very nice. Also, they had a great bar. Not too crowded but seemed personable and easy to meet people. I would go back again. A really special place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank europetraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in and we've traveled a lot. It's small, cozy and absolutely beautiful. The staff is wonderful, food @ Ivan's is fantastic. Views too die for. Pool super clean. I can't say enough good things. I was on the beach for a few days but preferred the vibe of the cliffs and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: LOVED Aquarius - 2 bedroom condo. Even though it was just 2 of us we loved the extra room and our p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverBalcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I just got back from a stay at this great hotel. It is an amazingly beautiful, special place. The plants and winding paths are incredible. The look of the whole place is spectacular and the setting and views of the water are amazing. It couldn't be nicer. On top of that, everyone who works there is warm and truly friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay as good as it can be. I absolutely love this place! It's amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JENNY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Hts.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This was our third trip to Catcha and it keeps getting better. We were picked up at the airport and promptly checked in by Mauvette, a front desk manager, who takes care of everything! And by everything I mean, booking our room, arranging transportation, and arranging for our couples massage on our terrace. If you need something done she'll take care of it! We were greeted by Ben, the resident dog, who even greeted us as returning guests. We were booked in Coral and it was just as beautiful as Sky, the room we had last year. After we unpacked and changed clothes went to Ivan's for a bite to eat, seafood pasta for me and the catch of the day for my husband; and our first Dirty Banana. We were glad to see familiar faces at the restaurant: Carol, Kevin, Bradley, Ardia. The food and service is always outstanding. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean. The property is absolutely beautiful and so well maintained.

The vibe at Catcha is very chill and relaxing, which is why we continue to come back. The service, food, location on the cliffs and he people are what keep us coming back. We like that most guests understand the vibe, but there is always some loudmouth who doesn't get it and will be loud and obnoxious, but that's no fault of Catcha's. If you're looking for a rowdy interactive place, this is not your place. This is a chill spot and that's the way guests like it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
218 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
3.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#12 of 80 in Negril
1,108 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 80 in Negril
2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and LoveHolidays so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing