We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catcha Falling Star
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
CocoLaPalm Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Negril Tree House Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Xtabi Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Sands Negril(Negril)(Great Value!)
US$78
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
US$767
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$469
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveller rating
876
165
27
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
165
27
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsivan's barthe cliffpenne pastasky cottageoutdoor showerrick's cafewest endbarking dogsfamous vincentltu pubfront gatelounge chairsday bedthe cottagescaribbean sealaid backthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a place that is our little gem and we don't want you to know about it because we want to keep it all to ourselves. But, because we love it so much, we shouldn't keep other's from it. The food is amazing, the staff are amazing, the accommodations are amazing. We visit every year but if we could, we'd visit more than once a year. And we'd stay forever.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sapfel_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stayed a Catcha for 3 nights prior to heading to the beach for 8 nights. While we remain beach people, Catcha was a great introduction to cliff living. We stayed in Gemini II, a wonderful little home-away-from-home, albeit a little small. We had rain a couple of days and not having a porch or covered place to sit outside was a little hassle, we tended to meander down to Ivan's bar and converse with staff, other guests and at night - locals who stopped by for a drink after work. The food is excellent and reasonable priced. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Sneak out and see some of the local shops/restaurants. Dr. Quality and Fay have wonderful wood carvings, heads, masks, walking sticks, paintings, jewelry and we spendt a good 45 minutes to an hours just chatting with Fay. Head down to Le Bar for some fantastic jerk chicken and fun people... it's a bit of a walk, but certainly manageable, just be careful walking on the road. This is my view, celebrating 40 years of Negril... we're fortunate we chose Catcha for our cliff stay, and if we decide on the cliffs again, Catcha will be our spot, maybe in a different room. As I mentioned, we tend to be beach people... but you will not be disappointed with Catcha.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CorbsinVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were invited to a wedding at Catch a Falling Star resort. The resort did not disappoint! Great location on the cliffs of Negril, awesome view and very relaxing. Ivan's bar and restaurant on site was superb. Great jerk chicken and burgers. Our room, the Aquarius, was comfortable, clean and had the best view of the Caribbean. The staff was polite and attentive, many new us by name after a day or so. I recommend this place highly.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank hdsauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent the week of February 15th at Catcha. We were a family of four - two parents, two 15 year old boys (one son, one friend). The minimum age for guests is 15. Although quiet, this hotel was a great place for the boys, who spent time swimming in the cove and jumping off cliffs. So here are my thoughts:

1: Our accommodations:
We stayed in Virgo, a one bedroom suite. You enter from the front patio, which has a view of the ocean, a lounge chair, a wide loveseat type chair and table with candles. The kitchenette has a microwave, toaster, fridge, plates, silver, some pots and pans and a hot plate we used for grilled cheese and eggs. There is a table and two chairs, as well as a larger comfy chair.

The hotel gave us two beds for the boys, which fit comforably in the living room. There was also a couch, TV, some tables, a TV on a set of shelves, and a ceiling fan. The living room and kitchen did not have AC, but the hotel left us a fan in the room for the boys, to supplement the ceiling fan.
There is also a closet where the boys stored their clothing. The room was large, comfortable and nicely decorated, even with the two beds.

The bathroom had a tub, shower and plenty of towels. There was soap but no shampoo or other sundries. There was a blowdryer in the bedroom closet.

The bedroom had a queen size four poster bed with decorative mosquito netting draped around the posts, two end tables and a closet with plenty of storage space. There is a safe in the closet, and, I believe, an iron. The bedroom has a window but it faces a wall. Although the property is generally beautifully kept, there is some debris in the alley along that side, which abuts the next property, so keep the windows locked. There is no clock in the room, and no phone. Watch your cell phone use. The bedroom had AC, and the AC was cool, quiet and efficient.

The bed was kind of firm and bouncy - not the most comfortable. The pillows were a bit too high and firm for my and my husband's) taste.

2. Amenities
The restaurant and bar are covered but open air, and have beautiful views. The pool is very small, and the hot tub temperature varies. Food is delicious. Although the meals were fairly priced given the quality, the costs plus tax add up pretty quickly so we opted to eat food in on many mornings and for lunches. Coffee and tea were free in the morning at the restaurant, and it was a lovely way to get going in the morning.

Although there are many seats along the interesting spaces around the cliffs, I was disappointed to learn people claimed chairs with towels super early in the morning. One day I had a hard time finding shade, so I too became a 6:30 a.m. chair-claimer.

The hotel has a lifeguard who also helps tend areas near the pool and is not always watching, but you can ask him to keep an eye if you want his undivided attention. Since my son was jumping from heights and the water was a bit rough, we asked him to watch the boys (and tipped him to express our appreciation). He also led us around the waterfront on a mini-snorkeling tour. It was great. The hotel has snorkeling equipment available for guests, as well as pool floats that some brought into the ocean. Derrick was the weekday lifeguard who showed us around while snorkeling. Orlando was the weekend lifeguard.

The water was a bit rough each day, but once you're in, there was not much current - just swells. You can snorkel near the property and see some fish and coral, but I'd recommend a snorkeling excursion out to the reef (and highly recommend Sunbaby- they'll pick you up at the hotel) You enter the water by ladder - a little challenging when swells are rising and falling - or jumping in.

3. Nearby
The property has security and the front gate is kept locked. There are restaurants and other locations of interest nearby, including Rick's and LTU. A grocery store across the street accepts charge cards, and was convenient for purchasing drinks, breakfast and lunch foods and snacks. Food gets pretty pricy in this area. If you walk around outside you will quickly learn to watch for speeding cars whizzing past you on the narrow, sidewalk-less street. You may be approached by some people selling things, but you can have some great conversations. We never felt unsafe walking around - except as cars whizzed past us.

4. That je ne sais quois
If you are in Jamaica expect to smell weed and be offered weed. If that makes you uncomfortable perhaps an AI or different location might be a better fit for you. Guests here and at other locations, especially LTU, were not shy about their enjoyment.

5. Staff
The staff was friendly and helpful. The office is open during the day, but not at night. There is security at night. I was able to cash travellers' checks in the office most days, but there was also a money exchange (which charged a fee) nearby. Mauvette made suggestions and helped us out. After we expressed an interest in Jamaican patties (pastries filled with meat, seafood and other fillings) she arranged to have a driver pick some up.

Although the security guard arranged a taxi for us one day, we preferred to catch our own. The one arranged by the guard told us he would charge us $20 to get to the beach area, but quickly came down to $10 when we negotiated. That was what we paid other drivers. Don't get in a cab until you have worked out the cost.

The shuttle to and from the airport cost $20 per kid, $25 per adult each way (plus tip).

The grounds were beautiful - the gardens and birds were lovely, the views and sunsets fantastic, and the waterfront and restaurant were truly a treat. There are not very many rooms, so don't plan on hanging out with a large hotel crowd (though the staff is a great group). One night we heard singing and went to the bar, finding the waitresses and bartender were belting out a few songs as they worked.

This was an extremely lovely venue for a relaxing, fun family trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jillles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Catcha Falling Star provided gorgeous cliffside views, friendly service, and comfortable accommodations. They have a pool and ocean access. I stayed in the Moon. The beds were comfortable, they provided plenty of fans, and the room had both an indoor/outdoor shower. There was even a hammock and day bed on the patio. Ivan's bar was quite yummy. Andrea, Carol, Ordia, Ritchie and all the staff were kind and gracious hosts. They helped us find transportation and fun activities. Andrea did a fabulous job coordinating my friend's wedding. The resort is gated and we felt safe. I highly recommend staying at Catcha!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank chairmenmeow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews