We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Island Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was my husband and my first time in Negril and at Catcha and it was simply amazing. The room was very nice and clean. The grounds were beautiful and the views were breathtaking! The staff really made our visit spectacular because they were professional and friendly. We enjoyed the food at the resort as well. I highly recommend Catcha, however, the sister property, Catcha Gardens is not half as nice as Catcha Falling Star. We are still talking about the resort and making plans for next year!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have great views. We recommend the Aquarius room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Wildcats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    156
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
103
606
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We went to Catcha last year and had to go back! It says a lot that a lot of people are return customers -- I wouldn't stay anyplace else in Negril. The cliffs are great, and we didn't eat anyplace except Ivan's. The setting is beautiful.

Noise was an issue the first night-- members of a band were playing their guitar and singing late at night and the walls don't protect from that. Management addressed that and though the people were there the test of the week that didn't continue... that speaks highly of management! I know those can be tricky issues to deal with, and appreciate it... it saved our vacation.

Thanks to all the great staff, I will forget some people, but Mauvette is awesome at the front desk (as was the other front desk person who I can't remember her name)

The daytime and dinner time staff at Ivan's were great and the food fantastic!

The staff remembered our names from last year... Very impressive! Don't miss having a massage by Tara!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MeT1nT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our third stay at Catcha, each time we have managed to stay longer. We just love it! The location in the west end on the cliffs is perfect if you don't like the traffic of the beach and just want to chill.The staff are professional and friendly and make you feel like family, in a good way. The rooms are comfortable and clean and most have a million dollar view from your bed, veranda or both. The bar staff at "Ivans" make the most fantastic drinks, their smoothies are the best I have tasted anywhere. The chef and cooks have made the best meals we have eaten in Negril. The restaurant is open to the public after 5PM, but as guests at Catcha we have never had a problem being seated. All tables have the ocean view and some are situated in private areas that seem to float above the water. The swimming in the cove, caves in the coral cliffs included are what you imagine the water in paradise is like. We will be back!

Room Tip: The Gatehouse room is one of two rooms at Catcha without a view, but it has its own private court ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougChill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Once again, the team at Catcha does not disappoint with their incredible service and beautiful grounds. As I arrive, they always say "welcome home!" And they truly make you feel like you belong there. Special shout out to the guys behind the bar, out breakfast girls. Order the curried lobster (when in season) for dinner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Goombaydube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We just returned from Catcha and we enjoyed it very much. It was super laid back. Jumping off the cliffs was a lot of fun. Staff was very friendly. We found a very cool gym within walking distance of the hotel. A lot of the restaurants don't serve lunch so be prepared to eat at Catcha which is by no means a bad thing. The food was very good. The age range seemed to be people in their 40's and 50's.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pbull79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishicot
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Finished our 10 day stay in Negril by spending a few nights here.
Don't need to add much which has already been said in previous reviews.
Place and staff is awesome. Surprised my girlfriend with the 100 candle dinner.
A dinner to remember.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GWKonStripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was our third time at Catcha and they never disappoint me. From the moment we arrived everyone that works there greeted us and said "welcome back family". Even Ben the resident dog came running to greet me,(I actually think he was smiling at me!) It is an awesome feeling to be so welcomed at a resort.
This year we were suppose to have one of the suite rooms, followed by 5 days in the Sky room. Mauvette, the most wonderful lady on earth surprised us, and we stayed in the Sky for the entire time. This room is absolutely beautiful.Sonya(housekeeping) keeps the room very clean. I needed quite a few hangers, and within moments I had plenty. There is even a ceiling fan on the front balcony. The view of the Caribbean is breathtaking. The bed is very comfortable, I slept like a rock, even with the barking dogs down the street.
I cannot say enough nice things about the entire staff at Catcha. It starts with Louis, the security guard with his huge smile,genuinely glad to see us. Next is the entire waitstaff at Ivan's bar and restaurant. My favorite morning gals, Carol and Ordia, I could talk with them all day. Then the best bartenders, Kevin, Bradley and Richard, they made our drinks perfect. The food is always good and reasonable, and they add a couple of new dishes every year. All of the evening waitresses greet you with a smile and always polite, and they always remember your name. Keniesha set up a romantic table for us on our last night, how thoughtful of her. Everyone and I mean everyone bend over backwards to make your stay perfect. Everyone makes us feel like we are part of their family. This is why we keep coming back year after year. One piece of advise, book early in high season, it books up fast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
3.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing