We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise, carved out of the cliffs of Negril”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Catcha is a lovely hotel: gorgeous rooms surrounded by lush gardens and featuring the kindest, most helpful staff we've ever encountered. Within an hour of checking in, we were greeted by name, and every accommodation was made to ensure our comfort. When my daughter stepped on a sea urchin, the staff went into high gear, doing everything in their power to get the spines out of her foot (right in the middle of the open patio restaurant, no less). While we went there for the cliffs, which were spectacular (and which my family enjoyed to the utmost), we would go back to see the splendid people there.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms, and each had its own charm. I don't think you could go wrong, as they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BeckMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I booked Catcha for our honeymoon based on other Trip Advisor reviews. We wed in Negril at The Rockhouse (see my Rockhouse review) and wanted to get away from everyone for our honeymoon. We booked the Pisces room based on the photos. When we got there, we were not overly impressed with the room. It was much smaller and darker than it looked in the photos. Since it was our honeymoon, we wanted something a little nicer. They were able to upgrade us to The Sun room....more lik apartment. It was really nice, and the best part is that they comp'd us because it was our honeymoon. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful, and the staff are wonderful! I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Catcha is beautiful! The cliff views everyday are unreal, and we loved jumping in for some snorkeling. The rooms were great, beautiful ocean views. The food at Ivan's was the best, and a good value as well. It was such a peaceful and relaxing stay, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the building - Aries the first 4 nights which was 2nd floor, and Virgo the last night w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank alaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great hotel. The ocean breezes make it the place to be for climate. What really makes the place is the staff and organization put into the place. There is a pool, hot tub, and some of the best Caribbean swimming off the short cliffs into their own inlet. And all this with a restaurant and bar that was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank mkane231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

well where do i begin? arrived around 2pm on a tuesday afternoon, after a long morning of traveling from dallas. My wife and i were delighted to meet mauvette, the wonderful lady we have been corresponding with for about a year now coordinating our belated honeymoon adventure. she was wonderful! a huge help, super nice, and fast check in, she just couldnt do enough for us.

The room we stayed in was the SKY COTTAGE, and it was absolute heaven! an amazing a/c that cooled the room down to about 68 degrees in about 15 minutes. there was plenty of windows to give us an amazing 180 view of the cliffs and ocean. the room was spotless and well stocked with just about everything one would need to stay comfortably, mini fridge, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, plates, silverware, glasses, etc. i highly recommend the sky cottage for its large veranda, and amazing view of the ocean and beautiful gardens. this is our first time at this property but we will come back for the same room over and over again. also the location is great, there is a lil market across the street, as well as a scooter rental, and about 10 places to eat all in a 1 minute walk from the front gate.

the staff around the entire property were nothing but friendly and helpful. house keeping does a great job, and will bring you anything else you might need at anytime. the security guards and gardeners are pleasant and always greet you with a smile and a "yah mon". they all work very hard to keep the property looking tip top and functioning flawlessly. the property feels very safe and most of all very quiet. we are very low key non "touristy" people who enjoy local food,drinks, and company. we enjoy quiet low key spots. if you are a party-holic,this is not the spot for you. the most noise you might encounter is the reggae band playing at ricks ( which is about 200 feet away from our room) and who woudnt mind that??? or some of the drunk tourists who pile onto catamarans and get goofy waiting for their chance to goto, or leave Ricks via some rickety old fishing boat. GOOD TIMES!

IVANS RESTAURANT: FANTASTIC! surprisingly affordable for any property by any standards. price range is about $10- $18 for entrees and about $35 for lobster. and the food is fantastic!! all fresh prepared, and cooked with nothing but fresh ingredients. frozen drinks usually in the $6-$10 range. all fresh fruit, no syrups or mixes in the drinks which to a foodie like me makes all the difference in the world. the waitstaff are equally as amazing, unbelievably friendly, caring and outgoing. we had ORDIA S as our waitress every morning for breakfast or lunch, and she was great!! she couldnt do enough for us, she custom ordered our breakfasts (my wife and i split alot of our dishes} to just about anything we could think of. she is also a HELL OF A BARTENDER, have her make you a fruit daquiri,it is out of this world.

all in all this resort is everything i would consider to be functional and important. of course as with just about anywhere you go in jamaica you might encounter a couple people asking if you want some weed on the down low. of course i was normally seen first thing in the morning hitting a spliff in the garden, soo i guess i kinda had the sell me some weed im a tourist bullseye on my back, haha. but of course never pushy or rude. this resort has a magical way of making you feel relaxed and stress free from the second you step on the property. we will be back and back and back....

Room Tip: ask which rooms have a/c before booking. some dont have a/c and it will not be pleasant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DallasNoreaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Catcha Falling Star is like no other place on Earth and I have traveled quite a bit since I am a travel agent. Top notch service, accommodations, cuisine, and location are just a few of their outstanding attributes. If possible try to get one of the older cottages, you won't be sorry. Eat at Ivan's, swim at the cliffs but also be sure to get "off property" for dining and shopping, so many wonderful bars and restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank travelwithCarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Catcha and it just gets better with every visit! We stayed in the new Coral room and it was fantastic. Great front porch to chill and excellent view of the ocean. They did a great job making it look like it's been there from the beginning.

We ate almost every meal onsite and the food is amazing. You can't go wrong with anything from the menu. During the day, Ordia, Kenshia, and Carol took great care of us and drinks at the bar with Bradley and Kevin are always a blast. Mauvette is the best for helping us get settled and making sure the stay is a great one.

Can't say enough good things about the property, the ocean setting, and the staff. It's like coming home each time we stay there. Already making plans for the next tripl

Room Tip: Sagittarius is our favorite, but Coral is a great option too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank truthNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
243 reviews
3.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#10 of 80 in Negril
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,631 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
27.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £83 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing