We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westender Inn
Ranked #33 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We have just returned from a short stay at the Westender Inn. We endorse enthusiastically EVERYTHING that others have mentioned about the location, the lovely rooms, the views and the truly amazing staff. Also we would like to emphasize that the hotel is only a few minutes' drive from the town and some great restaurants (try Tensing Pen and Cosmo's on the beach) but is truly a haven from the craziness of the 7 mile beach, Rick's Cafe etc. etc. So, if you are the sort of traveler who likes to decide when to be more "sociable" and when to relax completely, this is the place for you. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are all wonderful - Cactus and Almond (above the office) are roomy, comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MGDS_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Despite the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, it should be pointed out that the Westender Inn is located on a rocky strip and does NOT have any convenient access to the sea, let alone a sandy beach as one would expect it in the Caribbean. Moreover, one higly depends on transport services to move around for the very secluded location.

On the other hand, it is a very relaxing place where outstanding sunsets can be enjoyed with a Red Stripe (local beer).

Room Tip: Take an upgrade and negotiate the rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisTobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westie_Negril, General Manager at Westender Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Westender Inn. We are very pleased with all the positive Tripadvisor comments and we work hard to ensure all our guests are just as satisfied.

The Westender Inn is located on Negril cliffs so there is not a beach but we are on the sea front. We have two convenient ladder access points to the sea and another one walk in area next to our sea pool - and excellent snorkeling in the area.

The vast majority of our guests come to the Westender Inn because they prefer a private location that is close to town but not in the middle of all the action. We have shuttle buses for airport transfer and to move guest around town or tours.

We absolutely love our location. Thanks again your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The nicest staff, EVER! Make you feel like family, but not too obtrusive. I've been to Jamaica, many times, many parts of the island. Unlike many vacations were I takes a few days to wind down, you are immediately at ease at the Westender. Not a place for high maintenance divas, just for people who like to chill out, enjoy good food, quite, and great service! I will be returning here again and again. Thanks to the amazing staff! Wow!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite- you won't regret it! You'll feel very safe here. No gym, but nice walks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellannasomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Just returned from the most relaxing vacation ever. We stayed at the Westender Inn in Negril for our first ever visit to Jamaica, this certainly won't be our last. The staff was simply amazing and the grounds stunning, I truly felt like we left family on our last day. The food was authentic and very delicious, chef you know the way to my heart. We met so many wonderful people that were also staying on the property and we even got to witness a wedding, so beautiful. The Sunday night Bonfire and dinner is not to be missed. Renee, Keith, Trevine, Dane ( you let me call you Dan in my southern drawl all week), Germaine ( remember Jesus, Joseph and Mary...lol), Sheldon, Chef Anthony, Kmar and Nelson (thank you for all the history on the way back to the airport), you all made our first trip to Jamaica amazing and we will see you again.

Room Tip: Room 12 is amazing and you can hear the ocean while you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atlantagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed at the Westender Inn on my first visit to jamaica the last week of November. We couldn't have asked for a better place. We were treated like family on every occasion. It's a little ways from the hustle of negril, which adds to the charm. Westies (the on property restaurant) has an incredible staff along with awesome food. If you want to experience what jamaica is really like, have Renee hook you up with one of their drivers, (we considered them our personal tour guides) and head to the back country. I highly recommend the Westender Inn, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mjcarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Just got back from 7 awesome nights at the Westender Inn. Nelson picked us up at the airport and he was a great tour guide. It's quite a trek to the hotel but he had lots on interesting information for us along the way. Renee was wonderful and helped us organize our activities. Jermaine was very helpful and always around to drive you where you want and pick you up again. After spending a day at 7 Mile we knew we made the right choice on the Westender. It is so quiet, relaxed and peaceful. The view is beautiful and the snorkeling is great just outside your front door. The room (number 3) was clean and comfortable and just steps from the water. Thanks to Anthony for the fantastic food and Sheldon's rum punch was delicious. We will definitely be back again and stay longer next time. Thanks to all the staff that made us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

In the past I have stayed at several big name beachfront resorts in Negril and Ocho Rios. They are enjoyable, but you are very distant from Jamaican culture. All you get to see at the big resorts are staff and the annoying hustlers on the beach. The Westender offers you a taste of authentic Jamaica - away from the irritating money grubbers, the loud tourists, and the enforced "fun" of the big resorts.

When you first see the property you will have come through some back roads where you'll see Jamaican homes, tons of vacation resorts, hotels and short term apartment rentals along with jerk shacks, knick knack shops, half constructed buildings, and lots of loose (docile) dogs and goats wandering around. The property itself occupies both sides of the road. One side is the rooms and ocean, the other dining and pool.

The main feature of this resort is the staff. I stayed with three friends for my 43rd birthday. I planned a birthday dinner with Renee who coordinated getting a chocolate birthday cake, arranging a nice dinner, and a flower centerpiece. She saw that we had a beautifully decorated table set up by the ocean, and arranged for a wonderful chef who prepared an amazing meal - there was a bonfire and we all wrote on a paper balloon and sent it into the night sky. It was a very special birthday thanks to Renee's attentive efforts.

As long as you understand that this facility is on the cliffs and that you need to take a short shuttle bus ride to the beach, you will be fine. It's a bargain. The staff will help you get to anyplace you want to go.

Advice- go to the supermarket and get some rum or whatever you like, and set on the veranda and enjoy the beautiful property for a lazy morning or afternoon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
3.9 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#54 of 80 in Negril
281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,358 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#44 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
3.7 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#32 of 80 in Negril
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £41 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westender Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing