We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we were looking for...quiet and beautiful!!”
Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westender Inn
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for...quiet and beautiful!!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

As stated in other reviews, this is not for those who are looking for a party and lively crowd. The place is beautiful, staff is top notch, food was excellent (good value too), and our stay was great. The room we had was average size, but very well maintained. We were treated to a clean room every day including some fresh flowers. The views of the ocean are awesome, not to mention the gorgeous sunsets and phenomenal stars in the sky at night. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was (unlike the bland buffets @ all-inclusives) and very reasonably priced also. We had no problem getting a ride into town ($3.50/person round trip) or to any excursions that we desired. Renee also helped with reservations and arrangements at other restaurants and excursions. The whole staff was so friendly and accommodating, remembering our names and what we like to eat/drink. The only complaint we had (and it is minor), was the wi-fi didn't work the first few days we were there. What a great trip for quiet, beautiful seclusion at a great price and being taken care of by an excellent staff!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jshelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    73
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
46
222
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Euclid, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great first experience in Jamaica, the staff is A-1. Everyone made you feel at home and treated you like family. I would recommend this establishment to anybody planning a trip to Jamaica. Make sure you experience the Blue Hole and ride the horses into the ocean, yes actually ride the horse into the water waste high. For food you must try Three Dive jerk restaurant and of course the food at the Westender Inn.

Room Tip: The Dolphin room #15
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Let me start off by saying this is our favorite place to stay in Jamaica. If you are looking for the bustling/loud, crowded all-inclusive experience this is NOT the place for you. This is definitely the type of place you go to escape the day to day stresses and relax. It is SO quiet the only thing you hear is the ocean. It is a bit out of the way but they offer shuttle service that is very convenient. All of their staff is awesome. Do yourself a favor and have Dane pick you up from the airport, it is much easier than haggling with the taxi drivers at the airport and he is great. My husband and I were so excited to see that pretty much all of the staff was the same from our previous visit the year before. The staff is one of the main reasons we went back. Everyone is so nice and hospitable. We have had nothing but positive experiences here. Don't let that they are not on the main 7-mile beach area dissuade you, Germaine will take you anywhere you want to go. Make sure you go to Three Dives jerk center and Blue Hole Mineral Springs. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Almond Suite #14
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlucas202dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Westender in March of 2013. We had a most wonderful, relaxing time! The property is beautiful and meticulously maintained and the staff could not be more accommodating. Although we went into town a couple of times, the restaurant and bar right at the Westender is top notch! Our bartender, Kerith, was extremely knowledgable and talented at creating refreshing libations and the chef went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed each and every meal. The rooms have walk-around terraces with beautiful sounds and views of the blue Caribbean, with the waves breaking on the limestone shore below. Although there is much to see and experience nearby, I would be content to spend weeks at this hotel alone without going anywhere. For a quiet, romantic, relaxing and beautiful getaway, I cannot say enough great things about the Westender. Say hello to Kerith, Raymond, Jose and the whole staff- they are amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapitanVasily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maritimes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our third trip to the Westender - a total of over 30 glorious days and nights hanging out at this great small inn at the far west end of Negril. We crave the peace and quiet, the hypnotic views of the sea, chatting to the other guests and most of all having the chance to get to know and be taken very good care of by the down to earth, professional but warm and friendly staff! We took friends on this trip and of course were concerned that they appreciated our home away from home in Jamaica. No worries there...they have already booked a Xmas visit with family and friends! The only downside is that I do feel a little sad when leaving! We have found the atmosphere perfect for us. We love being out in the country, knowing that we can head into cliffside restaurants or to the beach anytime at a fair price. We love our morning breakfasts at Westies, sitting out on the point watching the surf pounding in, late evening swims in the Jamaica shaped pool and sleeping in the comfortable bed while listening to the peaceful night sounds. The Westender is a perfect option for people who appreciate staying in a small friendly, well- run inn that takes pride in friendliness, service and in the peace that being in the country can afford you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebWCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a late check in at Westender, and Raymond just quickly let us into our room, we didn't get bogged down by the check in process so we were able to go straight to sleep. Woke up the next morning to their comp breakfast cooked fresh to order (LeRoy is an AWESOME cook), chatted with Bill their F&B manager about local hangout spots (great recommendations). Then went for a cool down in their pool, before we took their shuttle into town for some more food and also to the beach for some jet-skiing, hanging out and walking along the beach. The property is out of the way but the property is so quiet, relaxing and really convenient if you want to go anywhere since they have a shuttle right there. Everyone at Westender is SO pleasant, Keith, their GM, knows how to run a business! Honest, good, no-hustle, clean, helpful. We even hired their driver, Germaine, on his off day to take us around town to do our engagement photos. Then the staff put together a bonfire for my fiance and I during dinner along the waters/cliffs, along with a signed sky lantern with "CONGRATULATIONS CHRIS & VIVIEN" on the lantern, we lit it and we all watched it sail into the sky. MAGICAL and AMAZING night for us :) THANK YOU WESTENDER!

Room Tip: We were in the deluxe oceanview room, we could hear the waves crashing against the rocks from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Let me start off by saying that this is my second stay at Westender Inn. This hotel is simply amazing! Great staff, great food, great people! We spent 5 days and we had so much fun. What we love about Westender Inn is that it's quiet and away from all the noise of the busy streets. I recommend that you rent a car if you're planning on staying there. To get downtown into the heart of Negril, it's a 15 minutes drive. It only took us 7 Minutes to get to Ricks Cafe from the hotel. We didn't mind driving 15 minutes to get to the hotel because once we got there, it was so quiet & peaceful, unlike other hotels whereas you step out, there's someone bothering you to buy any sort of souvenirs. The main pool is always clean, the infinity pool gets sand or other stuff from the ocean inside when the sea gets rough, they always clean it once the sea gets calm. The food was great! We stayed in the Almond Suite, room #14, which was recommended by Renee who was so polite & very helpful. The room is HEAVENLY! It has a nice King size bed with plush sheets, a Jacuzzi, Fridge, Microwave, Flat Screen TV with Direct TV & a Coffee Maker. There's also a little living room area with a sofa. A slide door separates the living/bedroom area from the spacious balcony. The balcony has a patio table with two chairs, a hammock, a rocking chair and a Chaise lounge. Did I say anything about the view from the balcony ?? It's AMAZING! I highly recommend that you stay at this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
3.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
3.6 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#30 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#31 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.7 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#21 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Property: Westender Inn
Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#14 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westender Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing