We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to Jamaica”
Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westender Inn
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We really enjoyed staying at Westender Inn. It's the type of place where you can interact with people if you want, or you can be by yourself and it is incredibly relaxing. All verandas (at least for the ocean deluxe suites) have hammocks and chairs to relax in. Or, you can sit on the beach in the chairs provided. I cannot reiterate how friendly the staff are. When I come back to Jamaica, I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 6 (ocean side) which was on the second floor. it was cool because no one was staying in...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Westender Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend five nights at the Westender, arriving on New Years Day. To keep it short - the hotel is a hidden gem. Go there!
Because it was winter, the ocean was too rough to swim in at the hotel so we shuttled to Xtabi to swim and jump. Note- this place is secluded. Far from the other hotels on the cliff. You can't walk anywhere. But you can shuttle all over the place. Also, they have a cool Cliffside pool that we spent a lot of time in.
Food is great and staff are beyond. They are your family while you are there and they go out of their way to make you happy and comfortable.
The best, best part are the other guest who were there. We met the most interesting, warm and welcoming people we've ever met. Friends for life!
Love you, Westender - Keith, Renee, Dane, Jermaine, Terry, Abby, you're the best! See you soon!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Trayb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After researching this hotel a lot, we decided to stay in the Dolphin Suite, which was beautiful. The staff was beyond amazing and some of the nicest people I've ever met in Jamaica. After staying on 7 mile during our last visit, my husband and I were happy we chose to stay on the cliffs. The shuttle makes it easy to get around throughout your stay.

I was unhappy with a few of the accommodations that should have been included in our suite, but we're not: 1) phone did not work, 2) no tv, 3) no coffee pot, 4)stove had no gas and would not work, 5) refrigerator was too warm so we had to use the freezer to keep items cold. I felt that for one of the more expensive rooms on the property these issues should not be prevalent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank atobe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westie_Negril, General Manager at Westender Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westender Inn and I concur with your assessment of Westender Inn staff and property.

With regards to TV service, we had a lighting strike just prior to your arrival and several satellite boxes and TVs were damage. A few days after act of nature, all TVs were fixed and we immediately ordered new satellite boxes. We expect satellite TV service to be restored to all rooms shortly. The coffee pot, gas for stove and refrigerator should have been in working order in your suite. After reading your review, we immediately corrected the stove, fridge and coffee pot issues. Telephones are working but it is only an internal system to call other rooms, front office and bar/restaurant. I am sorry you did not get a chance to mention these issues to the front office while you were still on property, we certainly would have corrected them for you immediately.

Thanks again for your very positive review and I sincerely hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent a week at the Westender Inn *after* a 1 week stay at a hotel on the 7-mile beach. This helped to bring the advantages of the inn to the forefront. It is a super relaxing place by comparison, and you can tell that most of the staff has international experience by their attention to detail. No vendors at all, just friendly staff and fellow vacationers. We spent New Year's here and we had a great time.

Pros
+ Excellent staff, esp Abby, Terry and the restaurant staff
+ Great place to relax, read a book and watch the waves crash into the rocks
+ Hammock!
+ Nice bar, good restaurant with especially great breakfast
+ Convenient shuttle service every hour into town.
+ Super clean
+ Very safe

Cons
- Far from the 7-mile beach. If we hadn't done a week at 7-mile, we might have been disappointed. Something to keep in mind
- TV and Wi-Fi were not working in our room. TV was no issue, but it was a pain being able to connect to wifi only once or twice a day when we went to the restaurant.

Room Tip: We booked early and probably got the best room, with a view of the ocean literally at our doorstep
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolverine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I have traveled a lot and wanted to go somewhere that would be an authentic Jamaican experience and not the normal tourist bubble. The Westender Inn was truly amazing. We felt like we were in our own little paradise. The staff are absolutely wonderful, I can not praise them enough for making us feel welcomed, safe and cared for throughout our entire stay. The location of the Inn is on the cliffs which is off the usual path ( but only a 7 minute drive to the beach) but the hotel offers a shuttle service into town on the hour every day. Being on the cliff end of Negril lets you see the true beauty without being constantly surrounded by tourists and people trying to sell you things. The food was delicious, the room was lovely and again it was the hospitality that really went above and beyond for us. If you want to experience Jamaica, have a good value for your money, feel safe, and know that this will be your home away from home- I can not recommend this enough. Go to Westender, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The cabins in the back are secluded and private- but the rooms in the garden or sea view are wonderf...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Westerners Inn has one of the best staff i have encountered on my trip.
They are super friendly and help you with anything you need to make your stay comfortable.

The location is secluded from the rest of the area which is nice because you dont have to deal with any hagglers and prostitutes. Its a very peaceful location on the cliffs. Great view.

They also have a restaurant here which is probably the best food ive had in jamaica! You have to try it out!

my only complaints were:
1) the pool by the ocean wasnt filled which was a big reason why i booked this location because i wanted to relax in the cliff side pool.
2) our tv wasnt working
3) our phone wasnt working

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYSourDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

As stated in other reviews, this is not for those who are looking for a party and lively crowd. The place is beautiful, staff is top notch, food was excellent (good value too), and our stay was great. The room we had was average size, but very well maintained. We were treated to a clean room every day including some fresh flowers. The views of the ocean are awesome, not to mention the gorgeous sunsets and phenomenal stars in the sky at night. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was (unlike the bland buffets @ all-inclusives) and very reasonably priced also. We had no problem getting a ride into town ($3.50/person round trip) or to any excursions that we desired. Renee also helped with reservations and arrangements at other restaurants and excursions. The whole staff was so friendly and accommodating, remembering our names and what we like to eat/drink. The only complaint we had (and it is minor), was the wi-fi didn't work the first few days we were there. What a great trip for quiet, beautiful seclusion at a great price and being taken care of by an excellent staff!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jshelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
5.2 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
521 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#54 of 80 in Negril
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,357 reviews
3.7 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#33 of 80 in Negril
347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#34 of 80 in Negril
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £44 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westender Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing