We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, Tranquility…. a Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westender Inn
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
flowdesigns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peace, Tranquility…. a Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a review that I have been looking forward to writing. My husband and I just returned from a five night stay at the Westender Inn. This was one of our most relaxed and memorable trips of all time, largely due to our accommodation and the staff at the Westender Inn.

For those of you who are not familiar with Negril, it is a bustling beachside community with lots of small inns, a gorgeous beach….. and lots of vendors, solicitors and noise from end to end. If you go a bit past the main town to the "west end", you will find a mellower, funky scene. Located at almost the very end of the road is the Westender Inn. It is set miles away from the touristy scene up the road and well worth the journey.

The rooms are modestly furnished, but are clean and include very comfortable beds. Most of the units are set right along the ocean, which is a rocky beachfront that you dive right into for snorkeling. There is a small beachfront pool set right into the rocks. Its a gorgeous setting. Each of the units have a private porch with hammocks and chairs.

The true highlight of this place is its staff and management. The owner, who resides in the US, was there during our stay. It is clear that he has built a very strong management and staff team, and has earned the respect of the local community. Each member of "the team" is dedicated to making guests have an exceptional experience.

The food at their restaurant is very good. Meanwhile, there was a "guest chef" staying at the Inn during our stay. This led to amazing meals including a roasted pig that was cooked along the beach and an enormous snapper that was fetched from a local market and cooked to perfection. Did I mention that this guest chef is also a very talented musician who entertained us all after creating culinary masterpieces?

The inn maintains a shuttle with a fabulous driver who will take you where you need to go for a very reasonable rate ($3.50 each way to most local destinations).

This place is not for everyone. If you want high end luxury with a ton of amenities, it is probably not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a true getaway that will offer unique, memorable experiences… this is your destination. There were quite a few repeat guests staying at the inn who return year after year. We may have to follow suit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    71
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
217
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We really enjoyed staying at Westender Inn. It's the type of place where you can interact with people if you want, or you can be by yourself and it is incredibly relaxing. All verandas (at least for the ocean deluxe suites) have hammocks and chairs to relax in. Or, you can sit on the beach in the chairs provided. I cannot reiterate how friendly the staff are. When I come back to Jamaica, I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had room 6 (ocean side) which was on the second floor. it was cool because no one was staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklin, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend five nights at the Westender, arriving on New Years Day. To keep it short - the hotel is a hidden gem. Go there!
Because it was winter, the ocean was too rough to swim in at the hotel so we shuttled to Xtabi to swim and jump. Note- this place is secluded. Far from the other hotels on the cliff. You can't walk anywhere. But you can shuttle all over the place. Also, they have a cool Cliffside pool that we spent a lot of time in.
Food is great and staff are beyond. They are your family while you are there and they go out of their way to make you happy and comfortable.
The best, best part are the other guest who were there. We met the most interesting, warm and welcoming people we've ever met. Friends for life!
Love you, Westender - Keith, Renee, Dane, Jermaine, Terry, Abby, you're the best! See you soon!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trayb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

After researching this hotel a lot, we decided to stay in the Dolphin Suite, which was beautiful. The staff was beyond amazing and some of the nicest people I've ever met in Jamaica. After staying on 7 mile during our last visit, my husband and I were happy we chose to stay on the cliffs. The shuttle makes it easy to get around throughout your stay.

I was unhappy with a few of the accommodations that should have been included in our suite, but we're not: 1) phone did not work, 2) no tv, 3) no coffee pot, 4)stove had no gas and would not work, 5) refrigerator was too warm so we had to use the freezer to keep items cold. I felt that for one of the more expensive rooms on the property these issues should not be prevalent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank atobe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westie_Negril, General Manager at Westender Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westender Inn and I concur with your assessment of Westender Inn staff and property.

With regards to TV service, we had a lighting strike just prior to your arrival and several satellite boxes and TVs were damage. A few days after act of nature, all TVs were fixed and we immediately ordered new satellite boxes. We expect satellite TV service to be restored to all rooms shortly. The coffee pot, gas for stove and refrigerator should have been in working order in your suite. After reading your review, we immediately corrected the stove, fridge and coffee pot issues. Telephones are working but it is only an internal system to call other rooms, front office and bar/restaurant. I am sorry you did not get a chance to mention these issues to the front office while you were still on property, we certainly would have corrected them for you immediately.

Thanks again for your very positive review and I sincerely hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent a week at the Westender Inn *after* a 1 week stay at a hotel on the 7-mile beach. This helped to bring the advantages of the inn to the forefront. It is a super relaxing place by comparison, and you can tell that most of the staff has international experience by their attention to detail. No vendors at all, just friendly staff and fellow vacationers. We spent New Year's here and we had a great time.

Pros
+ Excellent staff, esp Abby, Terry and the restaurant staff
+ Great place to relax, read a book and watch the waves crash into the rocks
+ Hammock!
+ Nice bar, good restaurant with especially great breakfast
+ Convenient shuttle service every hour into town.
+ Super clean
+ Very safe

Cons
- Far from the 7-mile beach. If we hadn't done a week at 7-mile, we might have been disappointed. Something to keep in mind
- TV and Wi-Fi were not working in our room. TV was no issue, but it was a pain being able to connect to wifi only once or twice a day when we went to the restaurant.

Room Tip: We booked early and probably got the best room, with a view of the ocean literally at our doorstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolverine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I have traveled a lot and wanted to go somewhere that would be an authentic Jamaican experience and not the normal tourist bubble. The Westender Inn was truly amazing. We felt like we were in our own little paradise. The staff are absolutely wonderful, I can not praise them enough for making us feel welcomed, safe and cared for throughout our entire stay. The location of the Inn is on the cliffs which is off the usual path ( but only a 7 minute drive to the beach) but the hotel offers a shuttle service into town on the hour every day. Being on the cliff end of Negril lets you see the true beauty without being constantly surrounded by tourists and people trying to sell you things. The food was delicious, the room was lovely and again it was the hospitality that really went above and beyond for us. If you want to experience Jamaica, have a good value for your money, feel safe, and know that this will be your home away from home- I can not recommend this enough. Go to Westender, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The cabins in the back are secluded and private- but the rooms in the garden or sea view are wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto madero
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Westerners Inn has one of the best staff i have encountered on my trip.
They are super friendly and help you with anything you need to make your stay comfortable.

The location is secluded from the rest of the area which is nice because you dont have to deal with any hagglers and prostitutes. Its a very peaceful location on the cliffs. Great view.

They also have a restaurant here which is probably the best food ive had in jamaica! You have to try it out!

my only complaints were:
1) the pool by the ocean wasnt filled which was a big reason why i booked this location because i wanted to relax in the cliff side pool.
2) our tv wasnt working
3) our phone wasnt working

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSourDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
3.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#30 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#28 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.7 mi away
White Sands Negril
White Sands Negril
#21 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Property: Westender Inn
Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#14 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westender Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing