We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Way To Get Away”
Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westender Inn
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Westender Inn is truly the perfect place to set the sun. The staff are beyond cordial, they treat you like family. I have vacationed on over a dozen different islands in the Caribbean each time under different financial strains myself. Yet, when I finally found the Westender Inn in Negril, Jamaica, I honestly felt like I could stop exploring and just be. There was such a zen feeling that I found myself wondering when my positive attitude would wear thin and I would get back in the fast lane "island time be damned". But the more time I spent at the Westender the more pronounced the feeling became! Needless to say the comfort and enjoyment never did subside. I, honestly, had two other trips planned this year and instead I cancelled one, and postponed the other, just to spend as much time as possible at this secluded alcove on the western tip of unparalleled Jamaica.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We recently stayed at this small charming hotel in West Negril. When we first arrived I was not happy with the room so I went down to the office and spoke with Jhoenea and the next day she moved us to room 14. What a gorgeous room! Every single person that worked there was great! Dane and Jermaine drove us all over Negril, showing us their favorites places and making us feel safe. We travel a lot and for the first time we hugged everyone goodbye when we left. They really made us feel like family. The hotel is small and quiet and has beautiful views. I would highly recommend booking a suite..well worth the extra money. The staff at this hotel, especially Jhoenea, Dane, Jermaine, Kimberly and the staff at the restaurant will go out of their way for you. Truly a nice place..highly recommended!

Room Tip: a suite in the main building...14 was the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shar514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My 9 year old son and I recently got back from a 5 night stay at the Westender. It was my first time in Jamaica, though I've traveled extensively. I really enjoyed the trip, and this hotel in particular. It's out of the way, so if you're looking for being in the center of things, it's not the spot for you. My son probably would have preferred a place like Beaches, where there are other kids. But, for me, this was just the perfect place. It's not a huge, cookie cutter resort. It's an intimate, personal, quiet spot with beautiful scenery, well kept grounds, and a very accommodating staff. I would wake up in the AM and spend several blissful hours reading my book in the hammock, listening to the waves crash on the cliffs, sipping my coffee, and peaking out at that multihued blue caribbean water just feet away from the veranda. Heaven. We took the hotel's van into town and back every day. Jermaine was wonderful. The only problems we had were when we'd get in local taxis because we were already in town, and then we'd get ripped off or jerked around. Watch out for this, and get Jermaine's advice! I'd love to come back to the Westender. Next time, on a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed a few nights in Room 4, which is small but has THE BEST VIEW. You have the ocean to the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just returned home after a thoroughly enjoyable week at the Westender Inn and feel compelled to write a positive review based upon our experience.
My wife and I were looking for a quiet place with natural beauty where we could escape from a particularly harsh Midwest winter to relax and let the warmth of the Caribbean rejuvenate our souls. The Westender Inn fulfilled our requirements perfectly and we are now back in our winter wonderland thinking we must do the same thing again next year.
Our arrival to the Inn was a little unsettling at first as it feels like it's out in the boonies and possibly too far from the popular cliff hotels. After passing the famous Rick's Café, the tourist area sort of finishes and there isn't much development for the next few miles other than a few private homes and some unfinished properties by the roadside. We had to maneuver around some cows grazing on the road on the final approach to the Inn but don't let this put you off. This is a buffer zone that works to your advantage as there isn't much traffic down in this part of Negril and we enjoyed the tranquility that comes from the slightly more remote location.
My wife and I stayed in room 3 which has an ocean view and is only a stone's throw from the water so you get the wonderful sound of the waves breaking on the reef through the night. The room is clean and adequately furnished with a hammock on the patio/balcony which is a great place to sit and chill out, read a book or chat and drink with the couple in room 4 as we did.
Fortunately we got on tremendously with our new friends next door who had chosen the Westender for much the same reasons that we had. We compared notes whenever paths crossed and there was always an opportunity for exchange of information over breakfast or an evening sundowner.
We concluded that some visitors may be disappointed if they are expecting a Marriot type of experience as this is not what the Westender is about. Find an alternative hotel if TV and room service facilities are your pre requisites. Our small tv was only ever switched on to see if the brutal weather in the U.S. had improved enough for our flights to leave on time.
Stay at the Westender for the things that we enjoyed such as taking a swim before breakfast in a beautiful pool that seems hardly used, reading a book on one of the handful of available sunbeds by the beach, snorkeling along the reef outside our room and seeing stingrays, puffer and lion fish, watching the sun go down whilst sitting in the saltwater pool as the waves break below, enjoying the bonfire under a beautiful starry sky and best of all, being made to feel welcome by the wonderful staff that really want you to enjoy your stay.
Such wonderful smiles from all of them whenever you need anything makes it all feel very personal and certainly memorable.
Paul and Alison

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We just returned last night and I was eager to read the reviews since I hadn't done so before we left. As deeply as we fell in love with everything Westender...and wish the staff and owner much success...I almost don't want to tell the world how perfect it is!!

There is NOT one thing to complain about at this sweet, secluded home in the hills.

I can't help but be defensive about the 'tv service'...who comes to Jamaica to watch television?!! The tv actually looked out of place in the room with the Caribbean behind it!

We stayed in Room 4: oceanfront, private balcony, splashing waves. We lucked into one of the most requested rooms!

Our neighbors/friends-for-life-now were exactly what we wanted: just as amazed and grateful for the positive and warm energy of the staff, the sights, sounds and smells.

This gem is not for everyone and please read the reviews and make your choice wisely.

The Westender Inn is for those who value the authentic beauty of Jamaica, its kind people and its 'everything is good' mentality. The country has many riches that aren't obvious to all.

Please don't visit if you're looking for your house with its American amenities magically plopped onto Oceanside property.

Come to The Westender Inn for peace, paradise, smiling people, fresh food, hot sun, clear water, and a staff that's 'family'.

When we got 'stuck' down the cliffs closer to 'reality', no matter the time, Jermaine or Kemar was there, in a call, with the van to 'rescue' us.

We asked how late they pick up guests.

"When everyone is home,".

THAT is genuine service and you can't put a price on REAL.

I could write forever about the Inn, but we want to keep it in our hearts.

Go with respect, please!

Maira and Stephen Fernandez

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Maira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Westender inn is great place to escape get away from all the fast life of Jamaica. Its private and quiet. Staff was nice the property and rooms were beautiful and fair priced. Drivers available so the location is no inconvenience. I'll def stay there next time I return to Jamaica

Room Tip: The price is right on the cabins but you get what you pay for for the ocean front verandas 2 steps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived on a Friday (2/7/14) for a quick 4 day jaunt. We were located in room 24, across the street from the view of the beach.
The Room itself has TREMENDOUS potential here.
Large bedroom with King, the living room again large with 2 small balconies (the Bedroom had one). Drop a little money into fixing up some of the wood, lighting a little here and there and it is a bargain. Wouldn't take much to accomplish this.
Now the issues, and to us arriving were big and we almost left to go someplace else, First of all its pouring out so your pretty much stuck inside. So go to turn on the TV... where is the remote? OK skip the remote turn on this 90's version CRT flat screen manually, huh?
Snow?
Is the TV out?
We go to call the front desk about (this immediately after check in, as we heard another person having TV issues) but problem again.
NO PHONE ANYWHERE!
I investigate the TV issue a bit so I don't have to make more than one trip in the pouring rain across the st. to the office. BIG issue here, TV is plugged in for power but absolutely NOTHING is plugged in at all for input. No Cable, no direct TV NOTHING all hook-ups where never there to begin with. Well my wife DID want to see the opening ceremonies of the 2014 Olympics but she will now wait another 4 years to do so. (we would have gone to the bar, but their TV was never on too). We were told the same excuse as I saw someone else say, lightning storm TV's almost all fixed, no not the case here the cable box DIDN'T exist period.

LOVED the ceilings, all wood, much wood all around just needs some TLC. LOVED the Shower, and the many Balconies, but it was raining sideways so had to keep them closed most of the night too.

Meanwhile my wife is trying to put away some groceries drinks and the refrigerator is unplugged, great we have to wait for that to power up and get cold, that SHOULD have been done ahead of us arriving no question. We see there is no coffee pot or anything like that in the kitchenette. The Blender, well the base is there no top.
We kind of stopped looking after we saw we had nothing more than 1 bar soap a towel each for bathroom utilities.
No shampoo, conditioner or lotion and certainly no blow dryer.
The Shower itself was HUGE!!! Such a waste when you nickle and dime like that, people remember the bad more than the good. Give me a few $1000 and I could make this room look PRIMO!
I had asked for the manager immediately when I went across the street, I was told he would be in around supper time (it was 5:50PM), we never heard from him saw him and we finally fell asleep about 10PM. We were also told no rooms we could move to at all, totally booked, hearing this I was leaving early to check other places as this would not do especially with what we were paying for this. There were a couple of places we had stayed up the street and liked. Oh one thing if you want remote, in the middle of no where THIS IS IT! It is over a 2 mile drive off the main strip to get here, watch out for cows, the sleep in the road at night and have NO intention of "moo"ving at all. No lights on virtually any streets so you have to be alert and the road can narrow down to ONE lane too.

The next morning again across the street after breakfast (which when you book the breakfast plan, does NOT come with breakfast), after saying what happened I saw the Manager and we would be transferred to another room later that day, 2 PM comes around not yet, 4PM not yet around 6 were able to move. So basically day one, other than just hang at the pool is gone and we are out $29 for a breakfast for 2 we thought was included, Only Pancakes, bacon for me and coffee, my wife an omelet, coffee and a slice of bread. $29 w/o tip, a little steep and worse when you expect it coming with.
Now to Room 15, the middle of of rooms top floor with a beach view. Very nice view, we had access to the other to balconies left and right but would feel weird going on what should be their balcony. Our room just the sliders opened no balcony at all. That's OK, we had a far more modern room here, smaller than our last room but fine none the less, here again TV issues, BUT at least we saw something for Direct TV going into the box, they had a guy there within the hour to fix it, and it 2 minutes we were up and running. OK NOW we can start the mini vacation, everything else is working, no blow dryer again as it is on request at the office. PLEASE spend the extra $15/unit on it no excuse for that. This shower (not as nice as the HUGE one, standard size) had the modern Shampoo/Conditioner and Body gel(that one empty) on the wall. You would never think the 2 rooms were in the same resort. No issues after that EVEN had a running Fridge, and had ICE MAKERS!
Bonus! (nothing in the other one at all).
I would suggest one thing, have a TV in the bedroom as well they are cheap enough today for a 32" ($200, heck I got one on Black Friday for $98), buy in bulk and you get discounts!
The resort grounds, they were fine, the BIG Pool was what is expected, the Salt Pool was a tad cold but when it warmed up could be fun with waves crashing over into it, We had the run of the place to ourselves Sunday and Monday, for a place they said was sold out first night I never saw a person next to us in room 15.

Bottom line I would give this place a little time, I KNOW they read the reviews here and may I suggest just a few things, once these are done your place could THRIVE!

Never send a customer to a room or book a room that is not even remotely what is advertised, (i.e. room 24)
1.) Flat screen TV to everyone is LCD or LED not CRT. Yes it was in the room and there but no hook-ups. This was a definite known issue going on here.
2.) Turn on the Fridge to be working properly upon guest arrival.
3.) Make sure EVERYTHING is working and there.
4.) Spend a little money on room 24, this could be considered a GEM of a unit it was HUGE! (Guessing close to a 1000 sq. ft!)
5.) 2 TV's in every room, that is normal today
6.) Coffee makers, a must, even the WORST rooms have that.
7.) If you don't want people to use the stove and cook, fine remove it, better that than be missing most things you would need to prep a meal or a drink. You either do it right or don't at all. (They had mentioned they were phasing it out)
8.) Don't give the impression breakfast was to be included then hit you with a bill after, that was not right. Mind you they said they were comping the breakfast days (1 & 2) for what we went through, upon check out they did only one.
9.) I cant say it enough invest a little into some TLC in those rooms, you are NOT far from something special, the charm of the room is there but things should not look worn out or missing
The Lady at the Front Desk was very pleasant, staff at the bar/restaurant same as well. No complaints with the staff at all. Very friendly too.

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side, modern till the fix the bigger rooms. I would also ask about the issues abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westie_Negril, General Manager at Westender Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Westender Inn. We are very pleased with all the positive Tripadvisor comments we received over the years and we work hard to ensure all our guests are just as satisfied. We recently renovated 90% of our rooms, upgraded 100% of linen, landscape, bar/restaurant staff, website and the overall hotel appearance. We plan to complete upgrade to other 10% of rooms in the off season (May – October, 2014).

With regards to TV, we use DirecTV service and at the time you arrive, it was raining and very cloudy. Therefore, all TVs/satellite service was out due to the heavy rain and cloud cover. The fridge and coffee maker in your room should have been plugged in prior to your arrival and this oversight was addressed with housekeeping.

I did get a chance to speak with you early the next morning and you were given a complementary upgrade to our sea side Dolphin suite where you stayed for the balance of your time at Westender Inn. I remember following up with you after you moved and you were very pleased with the upgrade.

Thanks again for your review and I sincerely hope you will come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
3.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
1,382 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#45 of 80 in Negril
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#44 of 80 in Negril
528 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coral Seas Cliff
Coral Seas Cliff
#68 of 80 in Negril
142 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#36 of 80 in Negril
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#12 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £44 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westender Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate Jamaican experience since 1983, The Westender Inn is a family-owned tropical oasis that blends island charm with laidback luxury. A boutique hotel that truly encompasses the island lifestyle, The Westender Inn is the ultimate getaway for relaxation and revitalization. Tucked away on the West End atop the crystal clear Caribbean Sea, The Westender Inn is your own peaceful hideaway in paradise. The perfect place to set the sun… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing