We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place gets the "Wow Factor"..”
Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westender Inn
Ranked #33 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Every once and a while something comes along ang makes you say "wow"....last month was my third time staying at the Westender. The Westender is located at the western end of the island, we literally passed every hotel in Negril to stay at this one. The Westender proudly boasts a unbelieveable view of the carribean sea while being serenely nestled off the Negril cliffs. To top it off, just walk right next door and get a professional massage & treatment. If it"s peace you and quiet you want...this is the place. You want to snorkel or scuba, The Westender's the spot. My room overlooked the the sea and was nearly 30 yards from it. The people there welcome thier guests and help you feel right at home. This place has earned the wow factor, I can't wait to return for my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

My wife and I spent the last four days of our two week trip at the Westender Inn and we could not have been happier. The hotel pool and restaurant are surrounded by pastoral vistas, while the accommodations across the road face the rocks, the raging sea and the sunset. We had the place pretty much to ourselves the whole time so we got to know the staff and we must say Keith has assembled a great group at the Westender Inn. All were friendly and accommodating and Keith is a hands-on manager who keeps the place running smooth.

The pool was quiet and clean, the rooms immaculate, the small beach area was well manicured and the ocean side pool was a fantastic place to watch the sunset. My only complaint, and it is minor, was that the ocean was far too rough to even think about snorkeling, so that was unfortunate because apparently the snorkeling is quite good around there.

The other caveat is the location. The Westender Inn is NOT close to the beach, but you can arrange a ride, a pick up, or Keith will arrange a cab for you. (Call Bull if you're in the west end of Negril). It was, however, nice to retreat back to the Westender Inn after exploring the other sights of Negril: there are no hassles around here. This is not the place to go if you're looking for nightlife, but the regulars do enjoy the bar and restaurant, so you can certainly find entertainment, conversation or a rousing game of dominos.

The food at the Westender Inn was very good, but expensive; however, not out of the league with other resorts and hotels in Negril. If you want cheaper food, they will happily take you out to one of the many great Jerk shacks up the road, plus we had them take us to a local grocery store to buy food, alcohol and snacks for the room. (The rooms have a fridge and microwave).

What we will remember most about the Westender Inn is the peace and quiet, and the friendly staff and locals that we met while we stayed there. It's not for everyone, but it was exactly what we were looking for to end our trip to Jamaica: it's truly and irie place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rastaman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I had the the best vacation ever, and I have travled the world. The Westender was awsome. Iam a chef and I felt that the food was great and Kieth the manager and his staff where just great.Sleeping in there rooms next to the cliffs was tranquil and I do not think words could discribe the feelings of relaxation that my wife felt.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank licious5362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We just stayed at the Westender Inn for 8 days, and had a BLAST! What a great place with a wonderful staff. Our room was so comfortable, clean and the beds were awesome. We had an incredible ocean view. We even saw dolphins!! This place is tucked in a location that makes it very peaceful and relaxing. I had teenagers and they want to go back. That says alot for this place. :) Keith (manager/owner) was so helpful. He had a driver pick us up at the airport. He took us back to the airport when our vacation was over. Very nice down to earth gentleman. We enjoyed the beach which is only a 10 minute ride from the Inn. We had Royan for our driver and what a terrific guy he is. He would give us a phone and checked on us when we were out playing downtown. He went out of his way to make a trip an adventure. We were able to explore the island with him, and had many fun trips thanks to Royan. He was always looking out for us, we felt very secure and safe with him. Kemar was a character, and makes the best drinks on the island. You will see him at the bar. We were happy with the food we ordered there, very delicious. Jermaine is another employee which helped out in all areas of the Inn. He would take care of security mostly, and loved it when we came in late at night with left overs. :) Karen was our maid, she made sure our room was immaculate everyday. Everyone there is so NICE, and they all got out of the way to treat you like family. I want to visit again for sure, maybe X-mas. You will not be disappointed if you stay at this beautiful property! You will be able to experience much more here then a big resort. We had best of both worlds, nice and quiet at the Westender so we could just relax and enjoy the beauty, and if we wanted night life or crowds 10 mins down the road we had that. I was so happy we chose the Westender Inn, alot of the places on the beach are loud and not that clean. You will not be disappointed staying at this first class Inn. HEAVEN! :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minyhouse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The Westender Inn is the perfect place if you want a relaxing vacation. The location is beautiful and the people are friendly and accommodating. Every evening we would watch the golden Jamaican sun as it spilled a palate of colors across the sky before it sank into crystal blue ocean. We went to sleep every night to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks.
And if you want a little excitement, you can find that, too. We are already planning our next trip. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlarimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

My wife and I attended a wedding of local friends in SavLaMar over the New Year. We had a lovely suite that overlooked Dolphin Bay (alas no dolphins appeared). Keith and his staff satisfied all of our needs quickly and efficiently. They set us up with a local driver, Nelson, who provided transport to and from the airport in Negril at a reasonable price. He also drove us to the wedding and a couple of restaurants. It is a reasonable alternative to a rental car unless you are used to narrow roads with lots of dogs, goats, bicyclists, and cavorting children, as well as driving on the left. The inn has a good restaurant, especially for breakfast, which can be negotiated as part of your daily room costs. We ate two evening meals at the restaurant which were good but it is fun to venture out to other venues as well.To get into Negril or one of the restaurants along the road requires transportation. It is entirely too far to walk at night. The staff can arrange transportation to restaurants, beaches, or parks. It is a small price to pay for the quiet, great views, and lovely walks on the back roads.

The small bay is rocky and the winds (at this time of year?) might make it hard for less than accomplished swimmers to take to the water comfortably. We did swim several times, although neither of us is a strong swimmer. Many of our fellow guests did snorkel while we were there. However, there is a great salt water pool that was underused. We swam at least once each day. There is a small sand beach on the bay which is great for lounging in the sun.

So if you are looking for seclusion, great views, and quiet, away from the hubbub of Negril, I would strongly suggest the Westender. Be prepared to pay reasonable transportation costs which most likely are not any higher than the cost of a rental car. A lovely group from Atlanta came there for a wedding and they loved the place. Also while we were there several couples moved in from places closer to Negril due to the late night commotion that is the norm near many of the West End hot spots. There are lots of room choices room singles to suites and condos

We would both come back for a longer stay than our too brief week. It is a great place and it is not surprising all the reviews are so positive. A very accommodating and friendlily staff and a lovely facility make it all possible.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimMorristown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I stayed at the Westender Inn in Negril back in March and had the most Fantastic time. The staff was supper the rooms were fantastic the view breath taking. It was quite and relaxing i got a load of work done and had the most relaxed time. I would recommend that everyone spend at least one night at the Westender Inn if you are looking for some alone time.

Thanks you to Keith and the staff at the Westender for making my stay 1 of the best on the Island.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxiroxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.6 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
3.9 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#54 of 80 in Negril
281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,358 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pure Garden Resort
Pure Garden Resort
#44 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
3.7 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#32 of 80 in Negril
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range: £41 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westender Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing