We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Negril Escape Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 45 Negril B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I really wanted to like this resort, but . . .

I am a long time traveller to Negril and have stayed at a variety of different resorts. I don't expect luxury however I do expect to have a shower that functions properly with hot water available. I also expect that a flush toilet will actually flush. Even though we complained to management about these issues nothing was ever done to correct these issues in the 5 days we were there.

On the positive side, we did have a comfortable bed and the air conditioner worked as expected. The staff were excellent and tried hard to please. This hotel (I have a hard time calling this place a resort) needs a lot of refurnishment and a general cleanup of the grounds.

It has the potential to be a lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justchuckfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thanks for your review. We're sorry about the problems you encountered with us.

Hot water is an issue at many hotels in Negril, not just ours. Jamaica is a developing country and sometimes, despite our best efforts, things don't work well because of poor infrastructure. However, we do take responsibility for your plumbing issues. We will inspect our bathrooms and fix these problems.

On the positive side, we appreciate your comments about our staff. We also thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great value and amazing cliff view. The rooms could use some upgrades but if your looking for newly renovated you should stay somewhere else. The breakfast buffet is shabby and not a lot options. I actually asked for more bacon and plantains two different day and was told no. Not sure I would stay here again but it served its purpose and the beds were really comfortable. I was by myself and felt very safe staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanarenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We're glad that you had a positive experience with us overall.

We're sorry that you weren't 100% satisfied with our buffet. I will discuss your problem with our kitchen staff.

We're happy that as a solo traveler, you felt secure at Negril Escape. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here in January 2014. The hotel is in dire need of upgrades. A lot of what is advertised on their website is not how it is at the hotel. The "breakfast buffet" is a waiter bringing you eggs, a slice of toast and a slice of fruit. The free wifi rarely works and the pool was unusable as the filter/pump seemed to be broken. The shower had no hot water and the towels and bedding, while clean, were all very stained and dirty looking. Due to the hotel being solar powered we lost electricity for most of the first night meaning no air conditioning no tv and no lights. The good points - the staff are all fantastic and friendly. They go out of their way to help and answer any questions and to accommodate you in any way they can. The property is very quiet and relaxing and the bed was the most comfortable one we had ever slept on! Go for the quiet and the wonderful staff but be warned that if it's luxury you are seeking this is definitely not the place!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gypsynik74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.
We were unaware that you were having WIFI problems. I will discuss this with members of the team today. We were having problems with the pool while you were here, but this has been fixed. We're sorry for the other problems you encountered. We will redouble our efforts to provide better facilities this year. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was surprised at the rough condition of this hotel for the price. I vary in my travels from budget to five star, I know the difference. I suppose the cost is for location, but still pealing paint, only slightly functional shower, bare fluorescent bulb as the cottage light source, much of the place in disrepair... Ocean views were nice, and access to some snorkeling from the cliffs was good fun.

ps. If you want snorkeling, access from Xtabi is supposed to be good.

Room Tip: away from the generator if noise keeps you up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loves_to_see_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

It's true that during your stay some of the buildings needed to be repainted.
Today (February 3, 2014) we are repainting the hotel.

I'm sorry that your shower wasn't working properly, and that you were unhappy with some of the aesthetics of your room. We are working hard to upgrade our facilities. Thank you so much for choosing Negril Escape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Negril Escape is a budget resort which is reflected in the the rates and the quality of the rooms. However, If you don't need a polished hotel but want cheap place to stay with an amazing ocean view, NE may be for you. Be forewarned - although the resorts offers many sought after amenities, don't expected them to always work. When we stayed there, the pool was green for a couple days and unusable. Sometimes the air conditioning in the room would go off when the power was diverted to other uses (like karaoke night). Some of the appliances in the kitchenette (e.g. stove) didn't work. In the first room we were assigned to the shower head was clogged and sprayed everywhere. The roof leaked during a heavy rain. There were some other minor maintenance issues like rusted fixtures around the room.

We also had an issue where the room we specifically reserved was unavailable (that particular building was gutted and under construction) and we were given a room that was unsatisfactory to us. Management resolved the issue the next day by upgrading us to one of their better rooms.

Overall the property is nice, with a decent restaurant/bar and excellent cliff access. I understand that they put on a fabulous wedding, and they may be where the bulk of their business comes from. However, as a guest in one of the cottages, you will notice where maintenance and upgrades would be needed.

The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. There is a shuttle to the beach everyday, and on certain nights, the shuttle goes to the Jungle nightclub (and the driver will stay there with you).

Overall, if you are on a budget and you want a prime cliffside location but don't mind a resort that is a little worn, Negril Escape may be a good place for you.

Room Tip: Look closely at the room descriptions. About half of the rooms have excellent ocean views, while oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anatalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for your honest opinion. During your stay, we had some trouble with the pump for the pool. We apologize that the water wasn't clean enough for swimming while you were staying with us. We've fixed this problem. We are also sorry about the problem with your air-conditioning- this no longer happens. We're working hard to improve the overall maintenance of the hotel and appreciate that out of all the hotels in negril, you chose to stay with us. Please contact us and we will do our best to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

If you don't care about comfort, all inclusive resort and beach front maybe you will like it. The beach is in the cliffs so you cannot walk on the sand because doesn't have sand. Only rocks. If you are a really good swimmer you can jump in the water in a right spot the hotel has a ladder, oderwise you will have the pool with ocean view or the hotel bus that take you to the beach every day at 11 am and pick you up at 3 pm. It's a bed and breakfast hotel. The people that work there are so nice! The best thing about the hotel are the people that work there! They are really interested by helping you. The breakfast is simple but so good! tasty! Jamaican National dish (fried plantain, fried dumplings, ackee and saltfish), coffee, milk, fruits, bread and butter.

The room is not very clean at all. When I check in I went to see my bathroom and it was dirty! The toilet was used and had toilet paper in the garbage. The furniture is very old and in our bed had termite because had a wood powder next to a hole in bed. The window from the room and the bathroom were broken. We stayed in the best room in the resort. The ocean view. So I just would come back if I would younger, wilder and kinda in a hippie mood. I rather comfort in a Caribbean Island than all that!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belaclaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your honest opinion. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience.

We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We agree that it is unacceptable that your bathroom was not clean, and we will work with our housekeeping team on this issue. We also apologize that there were problems with the furniture and the overall maintenance of your room. We are fixing these problems as I type this.
Would you give us a second chance? Please contact us and we will do our best to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What a beautiful hotel. We came for a wedding and it was such a wonderful experience. Very relaxing and picturesque. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. I left knowing that I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Negril.

However, as this was our third time to Jamaica, we decided to take a day trip back to an area just 30 miles South of Negril, called Little Bay, that we had visited on our last trip here. Wanting to explore more of "undiscovered" Jamaica, we went back and visited our friend Wayne. We met Wayne on our last trip when we stayed at the Little Bay Cabins, when we walked down the road to the bar and grill he built on the beach in front of his home and served us the most spectacular candle light dinner on the beach during sunset.

The day we spent in Little Bay was actually the highlight of our trip... well, that plus our friend's wedding! Wayne provided us with kayaks, and took us to the bluehole, Bob Marley's house, the bat caves. It was so much fun and a true haven! The local people were so friendly, kind, and funny!!! We had an incredible time... and of course, it culminated again with Wayne cooking for us and serving us the best Jamaican food I have ever eaten- right on the beach, with candles, during the sunset. Truly spectacular. Wayne'z World is what he calls it.... because the minute you arrive, you enter his amazing world. Take a day and explore. Not sure if his website is up yet.

As for Negril, if you go, Alfred's is great for music and just explore! I highly recommend you use this hotel as your home base. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.4 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,372 reviews
3.8 mi away
Negril Palms Hotel
Negril Palms Hotel
#42 of 80 in Negril
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#33 of 80 in Negril
480 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Escape Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Escape Resort & Spa

Address: The Cliffs, West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range: £48 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Negril Escape Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort Located on the cliffs in Negril. Offers a natural, holistic environment. Gardens and paths winding through the limestone to the sea. Swim, snorkle, or scuba dive-(Negril Scuba Centre is located here!) enjoy a message in our spa on the edge of the cliff, or just relax by the pool. 10 cottages- each reflecting the rich,vibrant cultural heritage of Jamaica,from India to Africa, Asia to Europe. Service personalized to the guest's individual wishes. Come Escape, relax, and rejuvenate your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Negril Escape Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Escape Resort And Spa
Negril Escape Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing