We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Villas Sur Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Sur Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

First of all, thank you Villas Sur Mer for making my dream wedding a reality. I was really anxious before arriving at the resort. When we arrived at the airport, our driver Erdley was there to pick us up. The nicest guy ever! As soon as we arrived at the villa, I was really impressed with the staff. We were all welcomed with warm hugs. Our chef Bull, our housekeeper Donna, our go-to guy Richard, our daytime security Williams (thanks by the way for removing the sea urchin spines from my foot after jumping off the cliff), our night security James, our bartender Cliff, Bedford, and our wedding coordinator Lecian - you guys are the best!!! They were always there for anything and everything.
The Seaside Villa and cottages are so nice. Rooms are very clean. Our guests were extremely happy with the service they were given. Love how the villa has stairs that lead to the reef. Its our stairway to heaven :)
Welcome Dinner and Wedding Day, everything was perfect. Lecian did such an amazing job with the decor and she had given me more than I had asked for. Each staff did wonderfully and made sure we all had an amazing time. The food was delicious, the flowers were beautiful, and the dj played the music I had asked for and more.
It was difficult to leave. This place was like home to us. We will never forget the people who took care of us while we were there. We are so happy we found VSM thought tripadvisor. Peter, thank you thank you thank you for everything. Your staff are amazing! I cannot thank you all enough. They went above and beyond for us. The best trip I've ever had! We love you guys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Where can I begin but to say THANK YOU and bless up to the amazing people of VSM! You made our trip incredible and put Negril on the map for me as a regular getaway. I have read so many reviews before writing this and anything wonderful I can say will simply echo all the previous posts by so many people who's lives you have touched through your kindness, warmth, and genuine hospitality. Cliff, Richard, Lecien, Marlon, James, Williams...gracias por todos! You have made more friends in the North and you are truly missed already! Special thanks to Dain for your patience with us on the back deck during your overnights (Always remember Big Sexy and his reggae siren- you loved it!) An extra special thanks to our chef Bull for sharing your passion for good food and providing us with nourishment, laughter, and your warm smiles. Super, extra special love to our "Villa Mama", Donna...so, so, so much love to you for caring for us, big big hugs, and keeping everything perfect! Hope to see you all again soon xx

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DelilahJonez80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Pete Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First I want to say thank you to all staff there ! Back in my memories and forever be..I been waiting this longtime to review this place..year 2002 wow! this is the place I meet my husband for first time flow from Philippines and get married and this place! This is our home! For about a month...and back on 2003 again.....love it...And thank you to elton the manager before hope he still there and Winston our driver and maid the lady so nice and next door LTU BiLL.......this people you can trust....! Hope someday I be back here.....safe area,fun,fun....close to everything...this my song, I left my heart in Negril west end .....la,la.........love you guys

Room Tip: Don't go in the dark! So no one can rub you...lol ...eat more fish and aki...lol they all good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWestlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have spent the last two years visiting the seaside villa with 5 other couples. Each year we want to stay a little longer and book our stay for the next year before we even leave. The staff is absolutely amazing, there is nothing to want for and if there was they would make it happen. Chef Bull fed us three times a day, he is an amazing cook. We just tell him to cook for us his delicious food and he scores a 10 every time. Donna took care of us, she is absolutely amazing, and James, Hesron, & Marlon made sure the house was secure and the coolers were full ;0). Richard was always right around the corner to make sure things were tidy and Cliff would stop over to make us banana drinks from the bar across the road at Villas. I hate to say staff, as they feel more like family, we truly do love them all. The house is amazing and would keep you wanting to come back but the "family" is all the more reason to return. There are so many beautiful places to visit in this world but when you find something this lovely I feel you just need to go with it. The cottages across the road look great as well, the grounds are always beautifully manicured. LTU next door is a great place if you want to hang with some locals as is DeBar up the street. Best jerk sauce ever, we take some home with us. Order it on the day you arrive with Eddie and then remind him towards the end of the week. Just Natural is a short walk past the light house and has great smoothies and $25 massages in the gardens.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I rented the seaside villa for five nights for our wedding. Our immediate family stayed in the five bedroom villa with us and our other guests stayed in the smaller cottages on the property. The location and accommodations are unmatched and we had an amazing time throughout the entire stay. We spent most of our time relaxing by the pool and snorkeling in the ocean. A few guests did take a taxi to the beach and it is just a quick 10 minute ride. It was great having a full kitchen in the villa as we could walk to the market just a few blocks away to buy food and cook for ourselves. There was also a large cooler on the pool deck that we filled with beer and soda and the staff kept it stocked with ice.

It was a little nerve-racking planning a wedding at a location we had never visited and we initially had some difficulty communicating with the managers but dealing with it was well worth it. Once we arrived at the villa, all of our apprehensions melted away. The private location of the villa was breathtaking and made for the perfect backdrop for a wedding. We pretty much had the property to ourselves and the staff treated us like royalty. They were always available to help with anything we needed. The housekeeper Donna always had a smile on her face and we were especially thankful for the outstanding security team. Dain was there during the day and he helped with not only security but first aid, errands and even some fishing. The night team was equally friendly and always there to help us cross the road between the seaside villa and other cottages.

Our wedding coordinator Lecian was also fabulous. She made sure we had nothing to worry about. Her recommended vendors were a pleasure to work with. The food was delicious... the flowers were beautiful... the cake was delicious... the minister truly captured our spirit... the hair and make-up was done just right... the band was entertaining... We could go on and on! We would recommend Villas Sur Mer to any couple who wants to have a casual yet intimate wedding. It was such a wonderful event, we wish we could do it all over again!

Room Tip: Organize a group of people to rent the seaside villa. It is the perfect location for a group getaway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAB017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Have been traveling to Villas Sur Mer since January, 1997. The staff is incredible, friendly and willing to do anything that will make your stay more enjoyable. The first time I walked through the gate, I couldn't believe my eyes! I have had plenty of vacations that have fallen short of my expectations, this is not one of them!

While there, try the LTU Pub next door fro friendly service and good food. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Our favorite place to stay on the island.

Pros:

- Staff is wonderful. They make you feel like family. Richard, Cliff, James, and everyone else...you rock!
- Super Private. Last time we went (off season) we were the only people staying at Sur Mer. Even when there are people there you still feel like you are the only people there.
- Villas are luxury. Beautiful, spacious, clean, air conditioning keeps the room super cold. Beds are super comfy.
- Internet is super fast. I work online so this is a must. Other parts of the island we have stayed have not been so good with Internet connections.
- Pool is awesome. Has waterfall and is and super relaxing
- You can order food from next store and they will deliver. Also will charge to your bill so you can just pay at the end.
- Access to the water for scuba diving and swimming
- Close to great restaurants. Da Bar (Eddie!), LTU right across the street and many other great spots. LTU has great food and is much less of a tourist trap than Rick's Cafe. If you head to LTU get the Papaya Snapper. One of the best meals I have ever had.
- Only a few minutes ride to 7 mile beach.
- Full kitchen so you can cook your own food.

Cons:

- No beach. This doesn't bother me, but I can see some people being bothered by having to catch a ride or drive to the beach.



See you guys soon. Will be back in February!

Room Tip: We always stay in the honeymoon sweet. We love it. The only issue my wife has is there are no doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jstover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sur Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sur Mer

Property: Villas Sur Mer
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sur Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning cliffs of West end Negril, Villas Sur Mer offers luxurious accommodations that offer privacy, and tranquility. Villas Sur Mer is only steps away from the cliff divers of the famous Rick's café or a short drive to seven mile beach. We offer unforgettable guests experiences that will leave you wanting to return again and again. Our six bedroom seaside villa is truly the jewel of the cliffs of Negril. It offers a personal Chef and housekeeper and each bedroom has its own en suite bathroom. The breathtaking views of the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea can be seen while sipping a red stripe at your own private bar, in the hot tub or lounging in our private pool, atop the private, most majestic Brazilian hardwood deck which will be yours for your stay. Across the road, we have several 1, 2, and 3 bedroom beautifully appointed villas nestled in a tropical garden setting. Each villa comes equipped with a kitchenette and each bedroom has an en suite bathroom. Sit on your private garden veranda and watch the hummingbirds flicker by.....or sip on a refreshing drink poolside at our cascading waterfall pool, with a super large Jacuzzi on another beautiful deck. Don't forget, we also have an underground cave walkway leading to an ocean deck that allows ocean access for swimming/snorkeling in the turquoise waters below. Enjoy a couple's massage on the deck in the am or pm, or yoga, or simply a sun worshipping experience like never before. A Villas Sur Mer vacation will give you long lasting memories that will have you missing Jamaica the moment you get back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sur Mer Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing