We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Euphoria”
Review of Villas Sur Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas Sur Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Euphoria”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed at Villas Sur Mer 11/17/10-11/25/10 with a large group for our wedding. Our families and friends rented the lagoon cottages and we shared the seaside villa with a group of friends. This place is absolute paradise. It is a perfect mix of natural rustic charm and comfortable luxury. We spent each day jumping from our own private cliff and swimming in the blue lagoon. Some days we would swim along the cliff side for hours and simply swim up to other properties like Catch a Falling Star for lunch. The water there is completely invigorating and renewing- better than a day at the spa. We watched the sunset from the deck each evening. Words can't even describe the natural pristine beauty here.

The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. We would sleep with the windows open and look out at the star filled sky and listen to the ocean crash against the cliff. Our room also had chandeliers made from thin strips of mother of pearl that would softly ting like wind chimes. It was enchanting. I happened to see a shooting star and make a wish the night before our wedding - kismet.

The staff here are warm, welcoming and utterly sensational. Magonna, the property manager, was very accommodating. She made sure everyone was taken care of and comfortable and did all our shopping for food and was really able to get the most for our money. We fed everyone in the house for around $15 per person per day, although we did splurge one night with a delicious fresh seafood extravaganza. Chef Bull was excellent. He is a wonderful chef and a lovely person. He would cook up something anytime someone was hungry and was more than obliging to prepare additional food if other guests would come by. Our house keeper Donna really had her work cut out for her with our cantankerous group. She was very warm and did a great job of keeping the house comfortable. Richard was an extraordinary concierge. He could arrange any adventure you would want to get in to. He even took some of our guests on a tour of the island via scooter and would happily drive anyone where ever they wanted to go. Mr. Sing, the security guard, was wonderful. The poor man must have had no sleep. We were up into the early morning most nights and Mr. Sing would stay guard until everyone went to bed and make sure all the doors were locked and everyone was safe before he would leave.

This property is the perfect venue for a wedding. We had approximately 70 guests and a live band and everyone had room to sit, mingle, eat and dance. We had a sunset wedding on the deck that was perfectly amazing. I got my dress at Nicole Miller. She has an excellent collection of perfect destination wedding gowns.

When planning a destination wedding you really need an excellent wedding planner. We used Ophellia McKnight with A Bridal Affaire. www.bridalaffairdestinations.com. 416-938-5465. She was sensational and handled every detail from making travel accommodations and airport transfer arrangements for a large group all arriving and leaving at different times, catering, marriage documents, ceremony and reception set up and decor, renting equipment for the band we flew in, guest list and gifts, hair and makeup and itinerary, not to mention the countless emails over 9 months while we were planning the wedding. We had such a large group that we had people staying at several properties all of which she recommended and arranged. She even suggested and set up a rehearsal dinner at the Westender where we had a bonfire, jerk chicken grill, and drinks made out of fresh coconuts. She charges a flat fee and no commission. She did alot of searching and negotiating to make sure we got the best prices. My recommendation to anyone planning a destination wedding is to contact Ophellia immediately and let her handle every detail. I may be a little partial, but this was the best wedding I have ever been to and everyone had a great time.

For photography we used Scott Gunnells www.nylaphoto.com. (845)417-7341. His style is candid photojournalism. In-fact we called him the ninja. He wore all black and snuck around capturing moments. I don't have the photos yet but got a sneak peak and am so excited. He has kind of a rock and role hipster style and uses bright colors and big skies perfect for a Jamaican sunset wedding.

We are fortunate enough to be friends with an awesome jam band Dr. Don and the Boogie Monsters www.facebook.com/.../Dr-Don-and-the-Boogie-Monsters who were nice enough to fly out to Jamaica and totally rock out our wedding. Jamaican bands are expensive and we were able to fly out our own and put them up for 3 nights for the same cost of a local band.

I have a few tips for anyone thinking of having a destination wedding or visiting Villas Sur Mer.
1. Call Ophellia and let her handle everything or book directly with Villas Sur Mer
2. Stay at the Seaside Villa
3. Get a no chip manicure, eyelash extensions and a good brazilian wax- these are essentials when spending alot of time in the water.
4. Do not let anyone put a woven bracelet on you to "welcome you to Jamaica." They are hucksters and will then intimidatingly demand you pay them.
5. Exchange your money to Jamaican currency and have plenty of small bills- some people will short you when changing American currency and no one seems to have change for larger bills.
6. Be sure to tip and they will take great care of you.
7. Get a great camera because you will want to capture this forever.

All in all this has been the best experience of my lifetime, words cannot even explain but the closest is "euphoria." I got a wonderful husband and was surrounded by the people I love in total paradise. Thank you to everyone who made this experience possible.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarahplanningwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Hello my name is Linda and I recently stayed at the Villas Sur Mer along with my husband Charlie, and our two friends from Italy (Enrico and Vania).
First I'd like to say that my husband and I have been coming to Negril for the last 12 years and never have we ever encountered such a helpful and courteous staff as we did last week at the villas. We toured the property last April while staying at Catcha Falling Star, again the staff was very helpful by showing us both sides of the property and what it had to offer. This time in November we decided to stay on the property to see what it was all about. First we met Magonna, who was very nice and helpful. She went out of her way to make our stay a great one. To name a few things she set up a night where we would be able to use the Seaside Villas personal chef, which was a huge hit with our group, we ended up staying a total of 5 days and used the chef for all of them. The Chef was another part of the staff that we enjoyed very much and look forward to using in the future. He was very knowledgeable about Jamaican cuisine and very friendly in the kitchen. He was willing to explain his style of cooking from the preparation to execution of the dishes made. Having him was one of the highlights of our trip, by far the best food that we have ever had in Jamaica. Richard was another member of your group who also went above and beyond our expectations. He helped out if there was any sort of room issues (i.e. TV, ceiling fan, pool). Just an all around nice guy whom we enjoyed his company during our stay. Everyone on the property from the housekeeper, Shaky the grounds keeper to Roy the night guard was a pleasure to deal with. Like I mentioned before my husband, friends and I have traveled to Negril a ton of times but this experience at the Villas Sur Mer gave us a whole new perspective of the West End. I just wanted to write and thank the staff for giving me one of the best vacations that I have had in Jamaica I also want you to know that your attentiveness to your guests doesn't go un noticed, we really appreciate the efforts to make our stay a great one at the Villas Sur Mer. We look forward to staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlielin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Where do you start when you have such a beautiful place to describe? It was a marvelous adventure and holiday we had in Jamaica, and the Villas Sur Mer left us with a wonderful lasting impression of tropical beauty. We were in our own cottage getaway, with the lagoon pool as our backdrop, and total privacy, which we appreciated so much. Everyone was so helpful, and truly a pleasure. We had organized to have groceries sent to the cottage upon our arrival, and it was the best idea yet. We had fresh fruits and tropical juices at our disposal and a wonderful private veranda that gave us a bird's eye view of the resort. We sucked on mangoes during the day, and refreshed in the glorious lagoon pool every afternoon. We even took a "skinny dip" during one of those hot evenings. For days, we were the only ones at the resort, so it was really quiet, but there was so much to do in Negril. We loved the private grotto cove, with the underground pathway, so romantic. We can’t stop thinking about how beautiful our surroundings were. We even got a chance to visit the real Villa Sur Mer across the road; perfect for a family gathering or getaway. I must say, our only regret was not putting on enough insect repellant; lots of mosquitoes. Apart from that, hubby and I had no other complaints. The pictures don’t do the place justice. Many thanks to Richard, Margaret, Magonna, and all the others who made our stay pleasant. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanQueen1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My husband and I just returned from a vacation at the Lagoon Cottages in Negril Jamaica. I travel often and this is the first time that I have taken the time to write a review. This place warrants it! The property is beautifully landscaped, the cottages are clean and nicely decorated. And it is located right across the street from Ricks Cafe and other nice places to eat (Visit Three Dives Jerk Center). The pool and its towering waterfall transports you away to another world. It is also very economical.
My husband and I really enjoyed staying at the lovely Villas Sur Mer. It was an experience we will not soon forget. It was total luxury. The management and staff offered the best in customer service. I could not have asked for a better stay. Special thanks to Richard, Fletcher, Shanghai and Magoona.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkdkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Viias Sur Mer welcomed us with open arms, ready to accomodate our every need. The staff were exceptionally warm and treated us like royalty. We stayed in a cottage, which was decorated with sharp island flair. The bed was soooo comfortable...and the A.C. was a welcome retreat! The grounds are manicured and gorgeous...a plethora of tropical plants...wish we could take some home to the states. The staff provided all our transportaion around Negril...including a cell phone for our convenience. Very well managed; professional and personalized service to help make our dreams come true and create memories of relaxing tranquil paradise!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama200102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We just returned from Villas Sur Mer, Negril where we hosted our wedding for 47 friends and family and all I can say is WOW! Originally booked at The Caves and chose to cancel and book here thanks to a tip from an awesome Wedding Planner - Ari. This is a spectacular location and even better than the website depicts. The staff, accommodation and comfort level are second to none. We have traveled to Negril 2-3 times a year for several years now and I can tell you nothing compares. We stayed at the 6 bedroom Villa for 3 nights including the wedding night and upon arrival it took my breath away. They have every luxury you could imagine and a vista that appears straight out of your dreams. Like us, our guests were blown away by the location and its views. Robert or "Master Chef" as we came to call him is just that - a master at his craft. Donna is the most kind and discreet dream weaver and Magonna is so accommodating. If you ever have a chance to stay here I promise you - Rockhouse, The Caves, nothing even compares. It's pricey but worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweetJamaicaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

As we write this review, we are seated on the balcony of our villa, sadly waiting for the bus to take us back to Montego Bay Airport, thinking back on a perfect 8-day vacation.

The Property

The pictures on their website do not accurately reflect the heaven-on-earth feel of the property. The jungle-like vegetation creates immediate intimacy. Each villa has a distinctive architecture (from the mission-style church to the chinese-style villa #4 to the polynesian #8). This creates a visual interest that is absent from the large resorts where only the numbers beside each room differentiate one building from another.

There is one important aspect that is not explicitly stated on their website: only the seaside villa is on the actual cliffs. The cottages are a separate property across the street. Their only access to the cliffs is through the grotto tunnel under the street -- a very romantic set-up with the advantage that there is ABSOLUTELY no street noise nor noises from Rick's Cafe. If the Seaside villa is not rented, the staff will gladly open the gate to use the clifftop deck and pool. We preferred the stay at the lagoon pool with its setting in a lush tropical rock garden and waterfall.

The Cottages

The cottages are built along a central path perpendicular to the street. If you prefer to lounge in the grotto or the seaside deck, the lower-numbered cottages will be closer. If you prefer to lounge at the lagoon pool, the higher-numbered cottage will be closer. Cottages 4-8 are larger and are staggered along the property, offering a little more privacy than cottages 1-3. Cottage #8 (ours) sits directly atop the waterfall and is the last one on the property. We enjoyed the added privacy created by the pool, which became our own private backyard, and the total absence of foot traffic. In our opinion, cottage #7 is the one that offers the least privacy as its front porch faces the pool's sundeck.

Second-floor cottages will be cooler as the drafts and winds can freely flow through them but they will be noisier as there is less of a barrier to block the sounds of barking/howling dogs and music from nearby local bars and homes -- bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

The beds and linens are very comfortable and the air conditioning units in each make for a very comfortable sleep.

The Staff

Magonna, Richard, Randy, Fletcher, Mr Singh, Donna, Carol and Shakes are very friendly, always making sure that you are well taken care of, and always within easy reach via the cellphone you receive upon check-in. Richard will gladly drive you to the local grocery store to pick up anything you need.

Restaurants

Of course, each villa comes with a kitchen, so you need not ever leave the property should you desire to stay. Bring a can rim opener though if you intend to cook: strangely, none are to be found! It seems that half of the top-10 tripadvisor restaurants in Negril are located with walking distance of the Villas. We preferred Ivan's (at Catcha Falling Star) and the Hungry Lion. For lunch, make sure to try Alice's and Ras Rody's (the roadside stand immediately after Alice's). Jerk chicken from the vendor next to the property (who caters to the tours buses coming into Rick's) is very good as well, but only available between 4-6pm.

The Cove

The surf can be strong so some days it will be impossible to swim. We recommend always using fins. The snorkeling was not the best in the Carribean, but the most interesting was around the coral heads at the foot of the grotto ladder. There was the usual Carribean reef-life (blue tangs, surgeon fish, soldier fish, trumpet fish, urchins) but we also sighted a small school of small barracudas and eight foot-long squids. The cave on the left side is home to hundreds of bats. Night snorkeling revealed the different life that comes out at night: lobsters, shrimps, sea cucumbers, even a small spotted moray out on the hunt. We saw one lion fish -- a beautiful but nasty invasive non-native species.

Rick's Cafe

We had to shake our head at this carnival. Hundreds of people bussing from Montego Bay and from as far as Ocho Rios (a 4hr bus trip one way!) to spend 90 minutes in a modern, American-style bar. This place prints money! Our advice: go to Ivan's at Catcha to watch the sunset then go to Rick's once the hordes have left if you absolutely want to try cliff jumping. Otherwise, skip it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trufflelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
997 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sur Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sur Mer

Property: Villas Sur Mer
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sur Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning cliffs of West end Negril, Villas Sur Mer offers luxurious accommodations that offer privacy, and tranquility. Villas Sur Mer is only steps away from the cliff divers of the famous Rick's café or a short drive to seven mile beach. We offer unforgettable guests experiences that will leave you wanting to return again and again. Our six bedroom seaside villa is truly the jewel of the cliffs of Negril. It offers a personal Chef and housekeeper and each bedroom has its own en suite bathroom. The breathtaking views of the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea can be seen while sipping a red stripe at your own private bar, in the hot tub or lounging in our private pool, atop the private, most majestic Brazilian hardwood deck which will be yours for your stay. Across the road, we have several 1, 2, and 3 bedroom beautifully appointed villas nestled in a tropical garden setting. Each villa comes equipped with a kitchenette and each bedroom has an en suite bathroom. Sit on your private garden veranda and watch the hummingbirds flicker by.....or sip on a refreshing drink poolside at our cascading waterfall pool, with a super large Jacuzzi on another beautiful deck. Don't forget, we also have an underground cave walkway leading to an ocean deck that allows ocean access for swimming/snorkeling in the turquoise waters below. Enjoy a couple's massage on the deck in the am or pm, or yoga, or simply a sun worshipping experience like never before. A Villas Sur Mer vacation will give you long lasting memories that will have you missing Jamaica the moment you get back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sur Mer Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing