We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 hr day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Half Moon Beach

Half Moon Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Rhodes Hall Horseback-Riding Tour with Snorkeling
Ranked #9 of 58 things to do in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 hr day trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Small quiet beach ...did a 1/2 day boat trip which included snorkling and arrived to a lobster lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hogie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    63
    21
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Went at the wrong time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This little beach would have been a great find? But we arrived and payed to enter the beach just as a day trip catamaran with 40 people arrived for lunch urgggg! The gal at the gate also wanted to charge us 5 dollars to rent bad towels. This is a very small beach so with other folks there it's very busy. I liked our own beach at the resorts just as well and was Free of charge!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hlisajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
223 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Half Moon Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a beautiful, natural beach. They have a nice restaurant. Disadvantages: far from town so it may be costly to get there; no coral or fish.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

A very beautiful beach. It is not very big but very calm and quite, we basically had the beach to ourselves. It is clean and no hustlers!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ida-M-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited Half Moon Beach for lunch and relaxation and were not disappointed. We took a taxi from the cliffs which was kind of pricey but worth it. Make sure you have arranged for a ride back as there are few taxis driving by there. We had lunch in the restaurant which we loved. Jerk chicken was excellent - our favorite in Negril. When we arrived there were a few visitors on the beach, who I believe were staying there, but in a few minutes we had the entire beach to ourselves. Snorkeling was not very exciting but the water was lovely and the sunset beautiful. Hammocks and loungers on the beach were available for all and the dogs who live there really do just love chilling with you and watching the sunset. I highly recommend this for a off the beaten path mostly tourist-free trip. No vendors present, felt very safe. Very relaxing and worthwhile.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ashimarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Half Moon Beach also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Half Moon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing