We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ansell's is an experience in local Jamaican life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ansell's Thatch Walk Cottages
Ranked #24 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Reviewed 15 July 2007

You wont find anthing cheaper. It is directly on the beach. My cottage had a small crude kitchen with two burner gas camp stove and fridg. I had a TV and air conditioning. It is very Hostel like so if you like the Ritz. This is not the place for you. It is however an inexpensive stay directly on the beach. In easy walking distance to hotel restaurants on beach. Cabs are cheap and frequent to hail on main road. I enjoyed the experience, glad I ruffed it for this trip and experienced some local flavor. However if I went back to Nigril I would recomend an all inclusive situation. Dealing with the public just looks a little dangerous at times. That being said I was careful and had no problems. Ask the groundskeeper to pick and roast you some breadfruit. You wont get that at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2007

If you like a low budget place without all the frill this is your spot, there are kitchenetts, 2 beds patios and lots of beach to use. there are only 11 units on the property 4 duplex and one 3plex, there is also a house set in the back for rent, I loved the fact that we could be right on the beach without a ton of other people but just step away from great places to eat and be merry lol. They have people that come and stay for a month or more and I noticed alot of American-Jamaicans stay there when they come to see their familys. The staff was great, grounds well kept. very basic units but what more do you need, unless you go to Negril to spend all your time in your room!!!!

Stayed: February 2007
11  Thank babjsjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Magallanes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chabres semblent bien ventilées. Nous n'étions pas les premiers cottages directement...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank taylor11122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisK836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank erimej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.2 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Hedonism II
Hedonism II
#15 of 80 in Negril
2,450 reviews
2.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,164 reviews
3.4 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ansell's Thatch Walk Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ansell's Thatch Walk Cottages

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range: £39 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ansell`s Thatch Walk Cottages Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing