We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fans of Grace Ann”
Review of Gatehouse Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gatehouse Villa
Norwalk, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fans of Grace Ann”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stumbled in and crawled out. What a warm and fuzzie feeling .Sqaure in the middle of the beach. I'm here to tell you the sevice was great. Grace was fun, and intelligent. Be sure and stop . We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grangeville, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We just got back from Jamaica two weeks ago... wonderful trip. We stayed 4 days at Gatehouse. The place was clean, the view of the ocean was AMAZING, GraceAnn the bartender was a great resource (and dirty banana maker), Joan the housekeeper was very sweet, and the location was perfect. Highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a taste of "real Jamaica". We'd love to come back in the future... maybe when the kids a little older. Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned from another stay at The Gate House Negril. Ever day-dream what it would be like to have your own little vacation villa where friends and family can relax and enjoy the beach of Negril - where your children have grown up with the staff over the years - the staff knows you and your children and everyone embraces one another with a heartfelt greeting upon arrival? Look Know further.

We came across The Gatehouse well over 15 years ago, very much by accident, have visited almost annually ever since, many times we have brought friends ( 4 bedrooms easily accommodate 8 to 10 people ) and have referred many others, all of whom have experienced a lovely time and returned at least once.

The setting, staff and location are delightful - sometimes we cook our own meals in the kitchen and other times we walk along the beach to any one of the great restaurants. The little thatch roofed hut along the water line has hosted many a memorable time and the drinks are always perfect.

All of the rooms have AC and Ceiling Fans ( we prefer the fans as they allow us to hear the water and crickets when we sleep ) The back yard is well shaded and frames the waters views perfectly - very picturesque.

All in all this place is perfect, safe and delightful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were recently looking for an affordable beautiful getaway on a white sand beach in the Caribbean (at the last moment) and chanced upon the gatehousevilla. What luck. Spent 8 nights there and it couldn't have been better. Joannie, our housekeeper, and Princess Grace Ann, our bartender at the perfect small beach bar on the property, both became great friends. Ali who we dealt with on email before we arrived, gave us lots of great tips and arranged transport from the airport to the villa. Lots of wonderful beachwalks, jerk chicken, red stripes, snorkeling, boat rides into the morass. Perfect. Also went to church on Sunday in Negril which was an amazing and moving experience. Tourists are welcome and it's one way to have a close to indigenous experience. Spent a lot of time reading and beaching it. The villa is well maintained, has a big kitchen if your room has access to it. We stayed in the front room which had lots of light and a beautiful view onto the garden. The house is back from the beach about 100 feet and the tree lined garden gives you lots of privacy. This was a great value and I doubt you'll find a better spot for a couple, a family, or a group if you want to rent the whole house.

Room Tip: for a couple, I'd go with the front room (attaches to the kitchen)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed at Gatehouse six years ago and were looking forward to returning. A week on the seven mile beach and a week at an all-inclusive resort are two separate vacations. If you are planning on a "Jamaican" vacation experience Gatehouse Villa is an ideal destination. It's right in the middle of the beach and an ideal location.

We stayed in the upstairs room and were the only people at the property. The room overlooks the courtyard and Tony's Bar on the beach. It's got a small refridgerator and coffee maker in the "dressing room". The bathroom has an open shower which is a unique experience. The shower head was clogged and we had pretty bad pressure but Tony replaced it as soon as we asked.

You're never really alone at Gatehouse since Tony's bar acts as a magnet for folks walking the beach. After walking to dinner at one of the nearby beach restaurants we'd return to hang out at Tony's. We had a blast every night and made new friends nightly. Grace Ann is the bar tender and she is a delight. Most folks return just to chat with Gracie.

Tony cooked jerk chicken for us one night on the new grill. It was one of the best meals we had on the beach. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fauxqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario canada
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We were walking past the Gatehouse and Tony's Hut on Seven mile Beach and we were enchanted by the lovely bar but that was just the beginning. As we admired the cute little bar we overheard the bartender Grace welcome back some guests from a year ago and then the guests looked at us and said come on in and join us.
Grace is a terrific host and within a minute another group of 4 returnees joined the bar. All the patrons congratulated us for coming off our "all-inclusive" resort and experiencing the real Negril.
The Red Stripes were cold and the bar experience very warm!
We look forward to coming back to Negril and visiting this Seven Mile Beach Bar. The property was in very good shape and the location was central on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at the Gatehouse Villa in Negril and it was amazing!!! We went with our two year old son and two other couples. What a terrific place, right on Negril beach and such a comfortable house. This is not a luxury villa but only in the sense that there is no tv or stereo. It is a nice big house, every room has its own bathroom and separate entrance. There is a large, well appointed kitchen and a really nice patio area. The house is situated in a well landscaped place so while it is directly on the beach it is set back a little and has a really lovely little yard area. Tony's bar is excellent because it is well stocked and Tony himself is so great. The housekeeper Joanie is a doll and she will even cook and do laundry for you for a little extra. I highly recommend this place as it is well worth the money and is really affordable, comfortable and enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lhh119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#34 of 81 in Negril
1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.3 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#37 of 81 in Negril
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatehouse Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatehouse Villa

Property: Gatehouse Villa
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatehouse is comprised of four very large bedrooms, each with their own entrance, shower and bathroom. We also have a fully equipped kitchen that can be used when renting the entire villa or the apartment which includes the downstairs suite, kitchen and front room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Villa Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing