We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like staying at a life extension clinic”
Review of Citronella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Citronella
Ranked #43 of 80 Hotels in Negril
York, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“like staying at a life extension clinic”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

i have vacationed extensively throughout the caribbean and in my opinion no other resort equals the excellence of citronella. by any measure CITRONELLA delivers the ingredients that create warm pleasant memories that last throughout the cold dark winters in maine. thecottages are situated along a craggy cliffside high above the atlantic and the vistas - especially the sunsets - are spectacular.The grounds are magnificent and are really much more like a fine botanical garden than a resort property. Each of the five cottages is uniique and totally private from each other .ALL have phenomenal views of the ocean and are equipped with all the conveniences you might desire including full kitchens. I know of no better place to relax revitalizeand disconnect from life's daily grind. I have been fortunate to visit Citronella on several occasions and hope to return soon -- for over twenty years it has earned my highest recommendation---and it only gets better with age.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We appreciate your review and are truly glad that you had a wonderful experience with us at Citronella. Your business to us is very important and if we can make any improvements on anything please let us know. We hope to see you back very soon! One Love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    18
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
132
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I went to Negril this past March and stayed at Citronella. It was such an amazing time that I had to go back again. My girlfriend and I went this November and could not have had a better time. We both live very busy lives and really needed a peaceful getaway. I knew that we could count on Citronella to provide us with just that. We stayed in the Cove House and each morning we opened the door to the bedroom and could not believe our eyes. The views of the sea never got old. The staff was so nice and helpful. They were always so willing to help us with anything that we needed. They never passed by without a wonderful smile and a warm greeting. The sunsets, snorkeling, and relaxing on a raft in the sea consumed each of our days. We will forever be fans and are already planing our trip back to Citronella for the first of the year. Five stars all the way!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Don't bring your sportcoat, dont bother with pants either. My girlfriend and I visited Cirtonella a few months ago and it could not have been more of what we were seeking. Do not come expecting white glove service. Instead, go expecting to be treated like a member of the family. We were welcomed with open arms and shown to the Cove House which in absolutely incredible. Not lavish, not even luxurious, just perfectly chic without trying to be. The view from the house is one of the best I have ever seen. Do not worry about which cottage you are in, they are all unique and equally wonderful. If you are looking for a place to really get away from it all, this is it. There is nothing to do but lounge on the cliffs and relax. The LTU pub next door serves excellent food all day long, and the staff is both knowledgeable and friendly. We ate there frequently. Also, do not miss RAS RODY's street stand a couple blocks up the road. What appears to be inviting a case of food poisioning is actually some of the best vegan cooking we have ever tasted. Truely remarkable. If you are looking to be pampered, there are other resorts that are going to be more suited to your tastes. However, if you are looking to simply relax in the natural bueaty that is Negril, there is no where finer. We will return. OOh, and try the 1000pc Abby Road puzzle.....we got the border done and gave up.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at Citronella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank My-Life-I-Sought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for visiting Citronella and for you wonderful review. We truly appreciate your business with us and we hope you come back very soon! If there is anything that we can do to make your stay even better next time please let us know. One Love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Anyone who visits Negril must stay at Citronella at least once because once you go, you'll know! The property is beautiful and the cottages are spread out so that the guests are not on top of one another. The staff is incredibly kind, welcoming and helpful wether it is your first or your 25th time there! The view is breathtaking and it seems like you are at the end of the world looking out into the ocean. Also, you can watch the action going on at Rick's cafe, hearing the soft music from the band at sunset and even see the Jamaican's jumping. We love every visit we make to Citronella and for us, there is no other place that compares to it in the west end.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissyluvsNegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My friends and I were looking for a girls' getaway somewhere beautiful. Both of them are busy moms and really in need of relaxation. "I just want to sit down and cry," (tears of joy) is what one of them said when Ricky led us through the gardens to the Cove House at Citronella. The drive along One Love Drive in Negril does nothing to prepare you for the beauty of being oceanfront on the Cliffs. We could spread out in the three bedrooms of the Cove House. The beds were very comfortable (all hung with mosquito nets, thought it was not buggy during our visit), we hit the local fish market to cook snapper in the fully equipped kitchen and there's lots of outdoor furniture and two hammocks nearby so you can chill with ocean views all day. And the setting, spectacular! You walk from the cottages down private access stairs built into the limestone cliffs that lead to a ladder straight into the sea. There's an outdoor freshwater shower on a platform cut into the rocks nearby, too. The water is crystal clear, and there are floaty mats available for free for getting your watery lounge on. I already want to go back, and we're talking about booking the entire property with friends in the future. You're walking distance to Rick's (two minutes) where they do the cliff diving at sunset every night, and lots of good eating options are nearby, too. We liked DeBar for cheap and awesome jerked chicken ($5) and LTU pub, next door, is great for drinks and expat banter. Rockhouse's Pushcart restaurant is more touristy but has delicious food. As long as you don't mind not having air conditioning and five star amenities like sunken tubs or whatever, you absolutely cannot go wrong with Citronella. It's boho-chic defined, and blows away one of the beach all-inclusives any day.

Room Tip: Cove House is the most spectacular, but all of the cottages are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We have been to Negril 7 times over the past 20 years. Can't believe this was our first time at Citronella. It is definitely one of those best kept secrets that you don't really want everyone else to find out about. It is totally private. Perfect romantic vacation. Just be sure you don't mind rustic accomodation. This is definitely not the Ritz--which was a VERY good thing for us. This is truly the cliffs of Negril.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenmamamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights with my girlfriend in June of 2011. Simply amazing. I traveled all around Negril and couldn't imagine staying at any other property. The property is private so you don't get hassled (major downside of jamaica), the view is unbelievable, owners and employees are great, the houses are cute, our house had full kitchen, and the private walkways to the ocean are sooo cool...
Tips:
A guy named Famous Vincent will ride by in his boat every day and ask if you want to go snorkeling at the reef. Highly recommended. Don't pay more than $25 per person.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninjacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
835 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
0.1 mi away
Villas Sur Mer
Villas Sur Mer
#6 of 49 in Negril
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banana Shout Resort
Banana Shout Resort
#6 of 42 in Negril
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
T-bird on the Cliffs
T-bird on the Cliffs
#10 of 42 in Negril
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn 2
Lighthouse Inn 2
#8 of 42 in Negril
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citronella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citronella

Property: Citronella
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our very private and secluded cottages provide a unique experience for Jamaica travelers who need a lot of space and privacy. Located in Negril and beautifully carved into volcanic cliffs that sit 50ft above the Caribbean Sea, this very secluded resort offers three acres of lush tropical landscape with sea breezes, quite caves, secluded coves, grottoes, and most of all privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citronella Hotel Negril
Citronella Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing