We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citronella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Citronella
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

From the moment we arrived at Citronella we were greeted with the friendliest of workers who were willing to do whatever we needed to help make our stay easy and comfortable. We were blown away with what we got for the price we paid. We felt perfectly safe and confident that we wouldn't have to worry about our safety or items left in our rooms. The location was perfect. Being on the cliffs you are not staying on a sand beach but you can access the water and swim, snorkel, explore the caves etc. The sand beach is a short cab ride away. The beach was of course fun to visit during the day but we had absolutly no jealous feelings for the people staying on a crowded, over-priced, non-private beach. At night there are plently or local bars, restaurants, etc to visit. Citronella was by far the mose beautiful place I have ever been and we look forward to returning.
Only down side was that the cottage we stayed in was fairly close to the road which made it diificult to sleep in the morning with all the honking and workers coming in through the gate to begin work. However, I was happy to wake up to such beautiful sites and lovely workers with coffee ready!
If you are looking for an authentic, unique, private, and incredible stay in Negril, go to Citronella. The only regret we had was not staying longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGo927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the great and honest review. We're so glad you appreciated the beauty of both Negril and the property itself. We'd also like to offer our apologies for the noise you had to experience due to the construction of the new restaurant on the property. Growing pains! Thanks again and we hope to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    18
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
132
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

My wife and I spent a week in the Round House and it was a delight. Private access to the Caribbean directly from our villa, and a beautiful blue view every day on our wraparound deck. Private enough that we had peace and quiet and time to talk and lounge, yet close enough to the great house that we could find conversation and food in a matter of moments. Very close to Rick's Cafe, but noise was not a problem any night. In fact, the booming crash of the waves hitting the cliffs each night served as a natural lullabye for us. John, Cathy and Adrian were wonderful hosts, and we were able to get just about anything we wanted whenever we needed it. Walking West End Road felt completely safe, and being immersed in the Jamaican culture beats the hell out of staying in some all-inclusive where the only taste of Jamaica you get is on the ride in from Montego Bay before you retreat behind the walls of your own private town. The shower by the sea was a great for getting salt water off before coming in for the night and, despite a recent drought, beautiful flowers and colors abounded. About the only issue we had the entire week was lack of warm showers, but that hardly seemed enough to complain about. All in all it was a wonderful experience. We have shared photos and details with several friends who already seem interested in checking this place out.

Room Tip: The Round House was fabulous. We'd stay there again if we go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coolpoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave the wonderful review. We really appreciate it, and hope to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Peace,quiet and friendly people! Each house is separate, and private. The view is amazing,
The is nothing but a view of the ocean. The water is accessible via a ladder which enters
you into 30 foot snorkeling water. There is no pool or beach but if you love the water this is it.
The hotel offers you great meals prepared special each night by Adrian, one of the owners.
There is a great Bar next door and walking distance or taxi to a variety of restaurants.

I found the property amazing! I hope you will too!

Room Tip: I stayed in the A frame which was the best. A large private yard, two large beds with great natur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renoshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to leave the great review of our resort. We appreciate it, and hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Cave House in December. The owners were great, the grounds were very nice, but the reason you stay at Citronella is because the view is absolutely amazing, particularly at sunset. On top of that, the snorkeling was almost perfect. We brought our own snorkeling gear and spent several hours per day exploring the different coves. We saw tons of rays, large bottom feeder fish, eels, starfish, and lots of fish. The reef isn't in excellent shape, and there are urchins everywhere. In fact, my husband stepped on a sea urchin that was on our ladder -- so check your ladder on your first day there and you'll be fine. There was one day where there were very small jelly fish in the water, but they were gone the next day. It was an absolutely wonderful 5 days and we didn't miss not being at the beach at all! I would probably stay at the Cave House again, or try the Round House.

Room Tip: We LOVED the Cave House, and would try the Round House as well. Lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you, Christine for taking time to leave the great review. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Citronella the first week of December. We took the advice from several previous reviews and only stayed at Citronella instead of moving between resorts and we’re so glad we did. We stayed in the Cove house and enjoyed every minute of it. The grounds were very well kept, the house clean and all the staff were friendly, helpful and a joy to talk too. It was very relaxing and everyone in our group enjoyed swimming and snorkeling in the cove. There are several very good restaurants within walking distance or a short taxi ride. We enjoyed a great lunch prepared by Adrian and look forward to visiting again when his new restaurant is open. When we return to Jamaica we will be staying at Citronella again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoNell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks for taking time to leave the great review! We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed in the round house for our honeymoon the second week of december and were so thrilled with our decision! we also looked at catcha, rockhouse, and tensing pen, but ultimately decided on citronella. best decision we made--the cottages are so private, grotto shower is amazing, balcony is the perfect spot to watch a sunset, and private ocean entrance is awesome. The staff is very friendly and the owners are great. We were married on 7 mile beach the week before our honeymoon, but both agree that Citronella is by far the best property in Negril. Would not recommend for anyone looking for top notch amenities, but perfect for laidback travelers who want to experience Negril's beauty in complete privacy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks so much for choosing us to spend your honeymoon, and we're very happy to hear you were satisfied with your stay! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us the glowing review. We wish you the best of luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was our first trip to Jamaica. We decided to split our trip up between the cliffs and the 7-mile beach. BAD= we should of stayed the whole time in the west end(cliffs area).. Citronella is an awesome serene resort. We stayed in the round house and was perfect for two adults and two kids. The scenery was breathtaking and the cliffs and ocean were heaven on earth. Jennifer, Trevor, and maids were the best and sooo friendly. Adrian is an awesome host and made us feel like we were home! Safe location and felt safe leaving our valuables, camera, etc. in the room. Can't wait to go back soon!!!!

Room Tip: Round house was perfect for two adults and two children
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jahfernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citroJA, Manager at Citronella, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff was able to make you feel at home. We hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banana Shout Resort
Banana Shout Resort
#3 of 42 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Inn 2
Lighthouse Inn 2
#7 of 42 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Sur Mer
Villas Sur Mer
#4 of 47 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#31 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citronella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citronella

Property: Citronella
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our very private and secluded cottages provide a unique experience for Jamaica travelers who need a lot of space and privacy. Located in Negril and beautifully carved into volcanic cliffs that sit 50ft above the Caribbean Sea, this very secluded resort offers three acres of lush tropical landscape with sea breezes, quite caves, secluded coves, grottoes, and most of all privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citronella Hotel Negril
Citronella Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing