We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and chilled”
Review of Citronella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Citronella
Ranked #44 of 81 Hotels in Negril
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful and chilled”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Citronella is a small and lovely place - far enough from Negril to be isolated and detached and close enough by car to get to the beach anytime you like. This property is on the cliffs outside of town and is set-up as a series of bungalows each with its own design, water access and sea-view. There's a wonderful breakfast/dinner area which is also a library and wifi-access point. There's no regular restaurant but if you want something cooked just for you, there's a fantastic chef who will do whatever it takes to make your dining experience memorable.

This place is deliberately laid-back and peaceful. The water is a bit rough so its not a leisurely walk out to the water. If anyone were drunk or otherwise impaired, this could be a dangerous location. You're high enough above the water and rocks that if you fell in it would be challenging. This is definitely the wrong place to take kids and not the place to go if you want long-beach walks outside your door. I totally loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankyk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    18
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
132
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Technically Jan 2013 but I have just started going back on my reviews

Found this place online booked and honestly I think they undersold themselves as I was a little concerned my wife may want a tad more luxury.

We stayed 2 nights, we both wished it was longer. This place will be high on my global list!

Great team sharing a name with there son helped break the ice a bit !, the privacy of the accommodations options is impressive, I booked the only option remaining the lowest price option warned to be rustic, it was still a phenomenal experience, perched right on the cliffs, which topped off our circumnavigation of Jamaica.

The food on site was most impressive, great breakfast! Really I struggle to find any concerns, unless you like big all inclusive resorts with pools, if you don't try this place

Highlight really as simple as being alone on the cliff with some red stripe and local produce... Watching the sunset and hearing the music from Ricks a couple of headlands away, a fabulous place to stay and connect. Try the restaurant around the corner, be prepared for a load of weed smoking friendly Rastas. Ask the staff for the Jerk place we went to I cannot remember its name but it was tops of all we tasted in Jamaica, he is the brother of the guy featured on the amazing race or something.

Swells was a bit up that Jan inhabiting snorkeling direct in front but I imagine when calm it's as per the pictures.

We plan on staying here on any future chance we get to visit Negril,

Room Tip: Anything on the cliffs and you will be laughing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It's hard to understand how the best could get better, but it has. I had a brief respite at Citronella recently, & it has gone from my favorite place in Jamaica to my favorite place in the Caribbean. Every aspect of the experience has been enhanced through the wisdom and experience of the owners and their family - and the incomparable natural gifts that only the cliffs of Negril offer are among the great wonders of the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We thouroughly enjoyed Citronella, the cottages are all beautiful, perched on the cliffs above the blue ocean. We stayed in the Cave House which is built on top of a water cave in the cliff so the sound of the waves is very soothing and hypnotic inside the house and on the porch. We ate several breakfasts and one dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed them all. I certainly prefer the atmosphere on the cliffs compared to the beach strip and Citronella felt personal and private. Snorkeling was pretty good off the cliffs but it is a little difficult climbing out of the water onto the ladder as the sea surge can be pretty significant and there is some sharp coral right next to the ladder. Took home a little souvenir of sea urchin spine in my big toe - ouch! Only downside to the location is proximity to Rick's Cafe. The noise of the bar was very audible from Citronella.

Room Tip: Cave House does not have a kitchen but with such great food in Jamaica you won't want to be eati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashimarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I can't say enough about this place! We went with 6 people, (one being from Jamaica) who got the recomendation from a local. Views are stunning, staff very friendly (love Millie!), great area of town. I would pick Citronella over an all inclusive 5 star resort any day!!! We stayed in the A Frame and Round House over Thanksgiving weekend. We will definitely be making this an annual trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Truly a paradise and the owners Cathy and Jon really made it worth our while. Even returned a phone to one my friends who left it behind. Trevor who is there on the premises will ensure that any need is taken care of. Such a wonderful way to get away from the daily routines of a big city. Tranquil, peaceful, and very private. The views last forever and watching the storms and stars were breathtaking! Having your own cove to snorkel and swim, you really feel like its yours and yours alone! Plus, being close to Rick's is a good thing, but the food is better within Citronella's grounds or right next door at the local restaurant.

We will definite go back every year!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is the second time my friends and I have stayed at Citronella and plan to make it an annual occurrence after visiting for the first time last year for a bachelor party. Cathy (the owner) and Trevor (resort manager, head of security, caretaker, concierge, etc.) are both awesome and very friendly. Even the dogs that live within the fully gated property are great and very friendly. Trevor, who has managed the property for 25-years helps out with everything we need (beer, water, ice, etc.) and is a primary reason we'll keep coming back. Each cabana/house is very private with spectacular views and private cove access that puts you directly into excellent snorkeling water. There is a chef on-site that makes excellent meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Really no reason to venture outside the gated property unless you want to. Can't imagine us staying anywhere else in Negril. One of us left a cell phone at the property and Cathy promptly mailed it back to the U.S. Cathy and Trevor - thanks again for the hospitality. See you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.0 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
0.8 mi away
Coral Seas Cliff
Coral Seas Cliff
#62 of 81 in Negril
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Sur Mer
Villas Sur Mer
#4 of 48 in Negril
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
T-bird on the Cliffs
T-bird on the Cliffs
#10 of 42 in Negril
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banana Shout Resort
Banana Shout Resort
#5 of 42 in Negril
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citronella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citronella

Property: Citronella
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our very private and secluded cottages provide a unique experience for Jamaica travelers who need a lot of space and privacy. Located in Negril and beautifully carved into volcanic cliffs that sit 50ft above the Caribbean Sea, this very secluded resort offers three acres of lush tropical landscape with sea breezes, quite caves, secluded coves, grottoes, and most of all privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citronella Hotel Negril
Citronella Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing