We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mikuzi - BEST place in Port Antonio!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mikuzi Port Antonio
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mikuzi - BEST place in Port Antonio!!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Steve will go out of his way to make sure you have what you need. His love for this place, which he built with his family, is definitely made known by how much he puts in to his guests, and the landscape that surrounds. The plants are amazing, the rooms are clean, and lucky you if you get a visit from the kitty, who seems to have selected Mikuzi as her spot. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allnaturalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    8
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Mikuzi is a unique destination for people who want to experience a slice of REAL Jamaica. This is not a resort, not even a hotel, really. It's a small group of cute cottages, tucked into a hillside, on the edge of a small village called Fairy Hill.
Steve, the manager, is a wonderful man, a great local who will walk you into the village to get dinner at the small, simple restaurant along the side of the road (great fried chicken!)
This is definitely a place for the slightly adventurous, the traveler as opposed to the tourist. We felt completely safe here, less than 100 feet from a lively church and a collection of small tin-roofed bars playing great reggae and serving cheap beer and rum drinks. Stop by for a drink with the locals at night and you will dance and laugh like a local. You will probably be the only tourists there.
Ten minutes down the hill is the ridiculously pretty Winnifred Beach, where you will also probably be the only tourists all day, sipping Red Stripe, napping in the shade and snorkeling. Heaven.
This quiet corner of Jamaica has The Blue Lagoon (from the movie,) waterfalls, more quiet beaches, and generally has a lost in time feel that is peaceful and gorgeous.
Oh and Boston Bay, the HOME of jerk chicken, is 5 minutes away and is killer!
For the money (I mean really...it is cheap!) Mikuzi is a gem, an absolute delight. I'll be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakkan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Mikuzi made me feel very welcome. Steve who runs the place with heart, is extremely kind and genuine.
Rooms with nice decor surrounded with a beautyful garden. Its like a little peaceful nest where from you can go to explore the safe and friendly neighbourhood with its beautyful beaches and laidback lifestyle. Good food (or barbeque your own in the backyard!) and bars, all just in walking distance. Couldn´t ask for more.
Im sooo happy that I got to have the experience of staying at the Mikuzi, it truly is something special <3

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Very nice place.. nice cozy main house... great garden.. very relaxing.
Steve the caretaker was amazing.. the winifred beach is nice... close to the Boston Bay Jerk Center. Would love to have stayed longer.
It may change its name in to Winifred Guest House... but Steve will still be there to serve you with a warm smile..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2010

MIkuzi is adorable. It is like staying in your own home, with a full kitchen, lovely decor and even a little library. But what made Mikuzi special was the keeper, Steve. He was so kind, honest and friendly...he walked us down to Winnifred when we first arrived, told us all the good spots to go for food and even drove with us to the Rio Grande river tour (and took our car to the termination point) for $6 which is probably half of what a route taxi would have cost. His aunt runs a little bar across the street and we really enjoyed her company, as well as talking to the other locals. My husband and I plan to send Steve a xmas card with a bit of money :)

There were some issues with the water pressure, but that didn't really matter. We had a lovely stay and I only rated sleep quality a "4" because you are in the rain forest and there are some heavy midnight downpours (though looking back, it was a bit romantic).

Very close to Port Antonio, The Blue Hole and Frenchman's Cove (though maybe not walking distance). As we ate jerk lobster at Little Davies on our last night, I told my husband that our first full day at Fairy Hill was the best day in our entire trip. There is a completely different pace here, and we encounter 10 times more hustling in downtown San Diego than we did in PA. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikakeaveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

just spent another 10 days with steve and his family at mikuzi guest house in fairy hill. was a great trip, as it always is. was great to see old friends, still there, doing there daily routine. this side of the island is great. i cant recomend it enough. as well as the accomadations at mikuzi. its very close to everything. 10 min walk to winnifred beach, 10 min ride to boston bay, 15 min ride to long bay. easy to get around on the route taxis. you can go most anywhere for around 200j's and that was for 3 of us. portland area is a very neat experience for young and old. one thing i did learn on this trip is, if your girlfriend is a diva... you might want to consider something more in the lines of a resort, or leave her at home.haha great trip, cant wait to get back as usuall.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goosecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

my son and i try to go on a trip together every summer. this year we picked the portland area. we love jamaica, but probably wont visit any other place on the island again. portland is the place to go if your looking to really get away. if your into the luxury tourist trap hotel, this might not be for you. we stayed our first night at mikuzi in kingston, then travelled on to portland the next morning. the accommadations were here as well. the portland mikuzi property is the closest place to winnefred beach. a ten minute walk along a lazy little road, with a few rum bars along the way. when you get to the beach there are many different food vendors. the nicest one, that has seating and cover is called barbaras. in my opinion this is the place to eat lunch. there is also a woman on the beach that has a pot of soup and corn everyday, and it is great after a cool dip in the mornings to warm you up. we dined at many other places, but night time dining for us was a small place just up the road from mikuzi called rockies. excellant food. alot og locals hang out here at night drinking and playing dominoes, where you sure to get in a game if you wish. we did also enjoy a woodys burger while we were there. we also drove to boston bay "jerk cenrtal" , picked up some jerk and took it home.
the mikuzi property has many different styles of rooms. some are just that a a room with a bed. there are outdoor showers, sinks, toilets etc. we stayed in the main house. it has a full kitchen, and bath. the shower wasnt working that great so we used the outdoor shower, i liked it better anyway. there is an outdoor kitchen also, and a handmade stone grill, where we "jerked a few chickens ourselves. the caretaker of the property's name is steve. he and his mother ivey, and girfriend carla, were all great. they treated us as if we were family, we really enjoyed there company. steve is also the best host on the island. this man will do whatever it takes to make you happy. if you need anything ask him and it is done. mikuzi is in fairy hill. it is 15 min. from portland or boston bay, so the location is great. a route taxi is easy to catch, and cheap too. there arent any harley dealerships, or hard rock cafe like there are in ochie. if you dont like the tourist game stay out of ochie. also there arent as many people trying to hustle you or sell you drugs like in ochie. there is surfing at boston bay. my son really loved this, having never surfed before. a guy there had him surfing in no time. in this area it seams almost everyone that lives on a road has a small rum bar. these are great. here you may purchase anything you want, play a game of dominoes with the locals, have some rum and red stripe, buy snacks etc. if you get the chance, trust me, this is the spot. happy travels

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goosecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 27 in Port Antonio
783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#22 of 27 in Port Antonio
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikuzi Port Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikuzi Port Antonio

Property: Mikuzi Port Antonio
Address: Fairy Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location close to the beach and the fantastic exploring and touring areas nearby. Comfortable and peaceful accommodation set in tropical gardens. Very friendly staff always willing to help. Local tours and guide arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mikuzi Port Antonio Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing