We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, romantic, beautiful view”

Mille Fleurs Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 44 Restaurants in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$65
Cuisines: Caribbean, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Al fresco dining at Hotel Mockingbird Hill's Mille Fleurs restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner allows you the chance to enjoy the spectacular vistas of Port Antonio's harbour, Jamaica's forested Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea.Your evening gourmet dinner will be enjoyed to the spectacular backdrop of a Jamaican sunset accompanied by the fragrant perfume of tropical flowers.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My fiancé and I were recently in Port Antonio and had a wonderful dinner here at the Hotel Mocking Bird Hill. The staff was so friendly, and the view and decor was just lovely. We enjoyed our meal very much, some courses were better than others, but if you're looking for a charming dining experience near Port Antonio, this is a great spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Mille Fleurs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your dining experience. Thank you for your positive feedback. Hopefully this evening will remain as a happy memory for you and we look forward to welcoming you next year for your anniversary! With best wishes from the Team at Mockingbird Hill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Poor service. Had to ask for water twice. Never offered other drinks except coffee, which was served with breakfast. Food was different, not to our taste. Worth a visit just for the view!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kentuckybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Mille Fleurs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

This review leaves us in somewhat of a quandary as we are not sure which meal this guest had with us. It is all a little vague. Did he/she have breakfast with coffee or was breakfast's coffee served at lunch or dinner (we only serve freshly made, individual French Press Coffee)? Had he/she wanted other beverages with his/her meal, these could have been selected from our wide ranging beverage menu and ordered. We would happily have served them. We checked our guest invoices and have not been able to come up with anything that matches the review, however we do apologize for the guest having to wait for water. Our server is in training and despite our best efforts he does still slip up from time to time. We note that our cuisine was not to this guest's taste, he/she said it was "different".We serve Creative Caribbean Cuisine, not standardized, sauces out of the bottle and pre-made food out of a blast chiller heated in a microwave. After perusing the menu and finding the items on it too 'different' this guest could have inquired if we would be able prepare something special.We encourage our guests to let us know if they have special wishes or dietary needs in order to be able to provide them with meals that are to their suiting and which they enjoy. As a non-standardized small restaurant where everything is cooked fresh to order we could have certainly been able to prepare something special for this guest. Sometimes it pays to ask. Despite the meal being "different" we hope he/she was able to appreciate the quality of the food, especially our home-made items such as our breads. We are glad that despite everything he/she enjoyed the view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We made reservations for a Sunday night, and were pleasantly surprised at the setting overlooking the gardens. Mille Fleurs is a beautiful place to watch the sun go down, and view Port Antonio and mountains and the sea. The staff had lit many small candles on the highest level deck, and it was very private and yet intimate.The creative dishes combined European, Asian and Jamaican flavors. We had eaten at many excellent local restaurants but needed a change. Mille Fleurs fulfilled this need, and included some surprising menu choices. The starters further whet our appetites, and there were at least five wonderful bread choices-which we loved, and took home with us what we couldn't finish. The main courses were filling, even the fish dishes. We ordered dessert-chocolate almond cake and sorrel crepes. Both were delicious. Our attentive server gave us some wonderful cookies to take back with us, too. We lingered so long, and were able to see the bright moon lighting up the area. Shireen was gracious enough to give me the recipe for the roasted garlic and cheese soup, which I hope to make soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

5 stars is not enough for this amazing place! Everything is good: the food is very fresh and change every day (really good idea if you want to go several times). We went to it 6 times and we didn't have 2 same meals. The lobster was so delicious, the fish was very good and we loved the mix of jamaicain flavours. Very good cocktails and the wine list is very good.
The restaurant and the hotel is situated on top of a mountain and you have an incredible view. All the staff is fantastic and lovely. They going to care of you.
And if you are lucky.... you can reserve the privat, very romantic terrasse on the top of the building... you will feel like an eagle!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mic-ray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Everthing was perfect. If you have special wishes (vegan etc.), you should call ahead.
The food was great. The service was exellent. The road to the hotel is a challenge but it is worth going up there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mwpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Mille Fleurs Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

It's a shame that you did not know that you could order vegan food in advance so aside from your gracious compliments, we thank you for pointing this out for the benefit of other future guests. We can cater for various special dietary requirements such as lactose or gluten free and vegan provided we are given prior notice. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Port Antonio - perhaps even come and try out our sumptuous breakfast offerings including the fusion offers of a "GERmaican" breakfast which offers the best from both cuisines!
We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in Jamaica and wish you all the very best for a Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mille Fleurs Restaurant also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Mille Fleurs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing