We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uber hip in tropical paradise! Be prepared to be pampered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Uber hip in tropical paradise! Be prepared to be pampered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Where the crystal clear blue ocean, meets the lush, gentle mountain rainforest in quaint Port Antonio is where Geejam will embrace you. You may be a rockstar, or just be made to feel like one!

At the Bush Bar, the fish jump out of the ocean onto your plate with expert preparation from Nigel. Jason will learn your desire and create a drink just for you. The music fills your surroundings exactly to your taste and vibe with loving guidance from Eugene. Your day is on autopilot by the subtle guidance of Jason, Steve and the staff at Geejam. Intimate a request? It is heard and executed effortlessly. Elegant Latrice greets the morning with a smile and fresh pressed French coffee. And Bentley? We wouldn’t be here with out him. He’ll take you from scenic cove to indigenous restaurants and gently navigate the roads to make sure you don’t miss seeing all the hidden gems of the area. He’ll keep a loving yet distant eye on his guests while the respect he garners from his peers embraces you in this handsome paradise. Don’t want to know anyone’s name? That’s ok, they know yours.

YOU are the reason for all of the above. At Geejam, your every whim is catered to. You are tucked away in your own deluxe cabin down hidden paths, in an uber hip room one of only three such accommodations along with a 3-bedroom house on property. You may choose to vacation as if you are the only one there or engage in the positive energy of other guests and staff. Your privacy is Geejams top priority yet; you have the acoutraments of a larger resort. Although there is no spa, a gifted message therapist was brought in to work her magic on a bluff overlooking the ocean.

The activities in this part of Jamaica are plentiful and your safety secure. We loved spending days at Frenchman’s cove just a few minutes complementary drive from Geejam. The Rio Grande River raft trip is a must: the romantic equivalent of a rickshaw ride down shaded paths but with tropical wildlife, vegetation and schools of fish throughout. The pinnacle of our trip was a lunch stop on the shore with crayfish fresh from the river cooked to perfection by Belinda. Belinda is a Jamaican national treasure and her beauty, hospitality and fine picnic dining are all yours with access only by the river.

At the Geejam, a tour of the studio is a must. We sang like rock stars, listened to pitch perfect music and watched videos of Port Antonio’s own mento band, The Jolly Boys. Although not scheduled to play this week and luckily in the country, our Geejam hosts, John and Steve brought in the Jolly Boys for a private concert at the Bushbar to round out our perfect experience.

I need to leave you with one major suggestion to allow you to enjoy more time at Geejam. The ride from Kingston Airport is a good 3 hours on bumpy, harrowing mountain roads. Take a private plane! The cost, ($600 for four of us) was well worth it!

Now go, and ENJOY!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamaicaGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
279
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

The idea behind the Geejam Hotel in San San, Port Antonio is simple and highly original: Build a small intimate resort around one of the world's great recording studios and provide the high level of personal service that is normally reserved for the superstars who record and vacation there. (Tom Cruise occupied my room not long before my arrival.) Built on a hillside overlooking the sea, the rooms and other amenities are hidden along labyrinthic paths that add to the mystery and charm of the experience. You receive your own cell phone when you arrive, which allows you to call hotel personnel 24/7 to meet all your needs. The Geejam concept is beautifully executed with detailing that truly befits a high-end luxury resort. The blackout curtains do blackout everything; the in-room air conditioners are virtually silent; the beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in; the beach furniture is more comfortable than the expensive lounge furniture in my home. To top it off, co-owner Steve Beaver is present at the Bushbar during lunch and dinner to ensure that every guest is made to feel welcome and is getting the full benefit of the Geejam experience. In addition to a private beach, Geejam drivers wisk you off to Frenchman's Cove or the Blue Lagoon (only a few minutes away) for swimming and lounging on the fine sable sand that is the area's trademark. In short, Geejam gave me the greatest vacation experience of my life. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socraticmethod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

While having dinner at The BushBar we had the pleasure of touring GeeJam. Where do I start? This place is truly heaven on earth. The grounds are extremely lush and tropical. The cottages are strategically placed with private path ways (that can be roped off for complete privacy). The villa is a two story structure with a white furniture and a private pool. Words can not convey how exquisite the beach grounds are. Sun beds for lounging, play area for the kids, future additions include a stage for bands and an area for weddings. In all of my years of traveling to Jamaica I have never visited such a special and unique property. Everything is designed and constructed with much care. We also had the pleasure of meeting one of the owners, Steve. What a delight it was to meet one of the owners. Steve is such a gracious host and takes great pride in his property. Port Antonio is a very special place and GeeJam is her crown jewel.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sammyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

This visit was our second to GeeJam. After such a wonderful and relaxing time last winter, we knew we would return in 2011. We had no concerns about travelling via Kingston, we keep up with Jamaican current events and as we expected encountered no problems.
GeeJam is a peaceful and secluded spot, blending in with the picture perfect Portland area and its laid back, timeless Jamaican vibe.
We knew from our previous visit that the hotel offers unparalleled service delivered with the genuine warmth and hospitality the proprietors Jon and Steve have made it their mission to provide. The surprise this year came from the kitchen at the Bush Bar. The chef, Nigel, while staying true to the Jamaican style, has brought a fresh talent and attitude to the hotel's menu. What a pleasure it was to have this enthusiastic young chef cooking for us. With our preferences in mind, and depending on what the local market had on offer, he served up dishes truly "made to order." For those staying in the Port Antonio area, a visit to Bush Bar for dinner is a must. Lay aside the menu and trust in Nigel. Something special is coming from his kitchen to your table. And you can't beat the view between courses.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Great service and comfortable surroundings in the jewel of Jamaica make this the place to be. Amazing beaches and the least touristy part of Jamaica, Port Antonio is the Jamaican's getaway spot. The place is all about music and has rock star style.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

There's really no other way to describe the vibe of this place. Carved out of a jungle mountainside, but accessible to an intimate private beach, GeeJam takes you out of this world. No amenity was spared. There's excellent wireless service and cable TV, with a full digital music menu. But the lush surroundings and the fine Bushbar food and drink are the real attraction. Wonderful staff. This was literally one of the Top 10 vacations we have had in almost 30 years together!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmitch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Jamaican hospitality at ts very best: attentive and friendly service, a place where you are treated not only as a welcome guest but as a member of the Geejam family. We felt very much at home and we were sorry to leave at the end of our four day stay This is a luxurious hotel with a relaxed styles set in a wonderful Portland location, a part of the Island not to be missed. Blue Hole, Frenchman's Cove and rafting on the Rio Grande are all nearby so there is plenty of diversions to tempt you from its private beach. The cottages are lovely with ultra modern facilities. The food is excellent. You should visit Portland and this is the place to stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
128.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
128.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
107.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Property: Geejam
Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing