We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new standard for us!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A new standard for us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

GeeJam has set a standard that we will forever be using to compare other hotels!!
We love small properties, GeeJam fit the bill.
We love having all the amenities, GeeJam certainly fit the bill and then some.
We love great service, GeeJam knocked the ball out of the park!!

We have gotten good service at other properties in the Caribbean though none have come close to the standard of service we got at GeeJam. The difference for us is fantastic service that is personable and intimate, you really don't know what it is until you've experienced it like we just have at GeeJam. The staff seems truly happy with their jobs and extend themselves to incredible lengths to assure you are having a wonderful, relaxing time. They have amazing memory for the smallest detail you may have mentioned even in passing, very impressive. Special mention to Iola in Guest Services truly a special person, Andre on the grounds, Jason at the bar, Nigel the chef who can do anything, Dwight in tech services and Gary, so very special to us, he drove us around, was a fountain of information, even went and got money exchanged for us at the local cambio and was practically family by the time he transferred us to Negril at the end of our stay, better people you cannot find. Let's not forget the stealth housekeeping staff, who magically made our suite, Drum and Bass, sparkle, we never even got to see them! Amazing.

An ever present owner Steve whose phone number is at your disposal on a cellphone given to you for your use upon arrival, to call the front desk, the tech dept., the Bushbar, housekeeping or to call home no matter! Steve even called us the morning we left while we were on the road to thank us for our patronage and for feedback on our stay, we cannot recommend GeeJam more highly!

Previous posters have detailed for you this wonderful property and all the many great amenities at GeeJam, here's some of our own, apologies if they are a duplicate.

Can't make the steps to the beach, a car will be sent to pick you up.
Thirsty on the beach, request a cooler with cold drinks, no problem.
Extra towels, all you need to ask a single time during your stay.
Are you a foodie? Bushbar is THE BEST in Port Antonio, any request can and will be met.
Are you into serious breakfast, it will be delivered to your terrace every day if you want full and delicious breakfast, with some of the best scrambled eggs I've ever had!

In addition to all this my hubby got the best present of all, a studio session with Dizzle, 2 songs to take home with him, truly an anniversary present of a lifetime. Thank you Dizzle and thank you Steve and the entire staff at GeeJam for a memorable vacation and 10th anniversary!

Maria and Kelvin

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_RiNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
274
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

If you really want to get away from it all, this is the place. Beautiful private beach (yes it is a LOT of steps down and up but completely worth it); beautiful grounds; wonderful BushBar restaurant; fab owners; great staff; very quiet and far far away from the crowds. Port Antonio is a cool little town and the local beaches are fun for day outings. Don't miss the raft trip down the Rio Grande with lunch on the river. It is a real treat. Basically you can do as many activities as you want, or none at all, and have a wonderful stay either way. Rooms are secluded, great open porches (we stayed in Ska), hot tub/jacuuzi on deck, comfy beds, great showers, Apple TV was fun, but in reality we mainly chilled out and thoroughly relaxed. Just go. You won't be disappointed. I actually almost hate to post this in fear of giving the GeeJam secret away, but it is beautiful and too special not to share. Just go.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWanderer_inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

I feel bad because I promised everyone at the hotel I'd give some feedback right away and its been almost a year. Owen said he had never been mentioned on here and I have to give him a shout out. He was the best driver, tour guide and friend you could ask for! He made me feel like a local. As for the hotel itself, I felt and was treated like a celebrity the entire time I was there. It was the best vacation I ever had. If you are going to geejam set your expectations high and they will be exceeded! I cant wait to go back! I have to apologize as its been a year and I forgot the other guys names to give a shout out to, but Its just another excuse to go back! I wish there was a rating on here above excellent!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardnix0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Geejam hit all 3 factors that are important in our vacation: food, service, relaxation.

Food: We love simple, flavorful, well cooked food - and the Chef's at Bush Bar at Geejam delivered. Breakfast was heaven. Scrambled eggs could easily go head to head with top restaurants in NYC. The omlettes were solid. The french press coffee was key. And fruit was fresh and delicious. Dinner, one word, chicken. I thought I was giving up poultry, and just about had, until I had the chicken at Bush Bar. Only once have I had chicken cooked this well, at french restaurant in the upper east side of Manhattan. The fish dishes were also very good.

Service: 5 star. Why? 1) Consistency: our room was cleaned consistently twice a day - done well and the room was re-stocked as needed (did I mention they have a complimentary mini and light snacks bar? water, beer, soda, cereal bars, trail mix - small but nice amenity). We were given a cell phone linked to all the services on the resort, and someone always picked up. If they didn't on the first try, we got a call back within 10 mins. Complimentary wireless on the property. Complimentary driving services to key beaches in Port Antonio, Frenchman's Cove, San San beach and I think Blue Lagoon. And their drivers were available whenever we needed them (albeit we were there during low season and the only guests a good portion of our stay) 2) Doing their clients right. It exists. I left my ipod in the gym, and it went missing. The owner of the property called us, reassured us it would either be found or we would be reimbursed. This is unheard of in hospitality these days. They put the meaning back in that word. This deserves 10 stars.

Relaxation: We like to chill and have nice surroundings on our vacations. If you do too, you will love Geejam as well. The grounds are beautiful, there's a private property for guests with a small, but pretty & clean beach, kyacks, snorkels. The best restaurant in Port Antonio is steps away. Your view is amazing. You've got apple TV in your room. Our room was comfortable and clean.

Bottom line: we had the perfect stay for what we were looking for, and were pleasantly surprised by their interest in doing us right, even if the small print had the standard disclaimers and did not require them to do a thing. It doesn't really happen these days. At all. Ever.

Geejam is a must stay if you're looking for rest and relaxation in Port Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iko615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagerbeaverhk, Owner at Geejam, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Wonderful to receive such kind words about our Geejam Team and vibe.
I am happy to note that the iPod was indeed found, and returned to our guests, prior to their departure - so all’s well that ends well.
1love
Jon Baker
Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

The private beach is incredible. I have been to some amazing beaches, countries, etc. This spot is absolutely amazing. The reef stops waves. The water is crystal clear. Lots of shade - and sun, if you'd like. Totally private. I don't want to give anything else away about the beach. It's better to be surprised.

The world class views are as incredible as the beach. Food is fantastic at the Bushbar. Service is excellent and kind. Due to the number of rooms one could plan a trip with a few friends and fill up the entire hotel. We've already begun discussing a trip like that with our close friends.

I haven't recorded here, but the staff gave me a nice tour of the recording studio. It has great sight lines with the control room and it over looks the ocean. One could easily make a record here. Or mix one. Or do vocal overdubs. etc. Makes me want to get back in a band, so I can swim in the morning and make music during the afternoon. What a place!

My suggestion: do whatever you need to do to get here. You will be so happy that you did. We cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimTheBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

After a miserable winter in New York City, our family could not wait for our vacation at Geejam. As a family with a 6 year old, one factor that is of most importance, is whether a hotel will be able to properly accommodate us. The perfect options to choose from at the hotel consisted of The Drum & Bass Suites and The Sanwood Villas. We choose to stay in the Sanwood Villas. The Sanwood Villa, which provides up to three bedrooms, was a perfect fit for our family. The Villa has a private pool and is extremely exclusive.

The most impressive part of the resort is how the resorts seems to blend in and become one with it's natural surroundings. It is situated within a nature sanctuary. So, while you can enjoy the amenities of Apple TV, you can also tune out all forms of media and just enjoy the surroundings. Additionally, there is also a recording studio on site, where we were able to have a recording of our son singing like a rock star. The accommodations could not have been any better. The beds are super comfortable and the rooms are impeccably clean. We were treated like royalty by the entire hotel staff, from having our food delivered to the private beach to having the concierge remind us what we wanted to do for the day. Geejam far surpassed our expectations. We can't wait to return.

One recommendation, which I would certainly would make in making the best of your visit to Geejam is to plan out your itinerary ahead of time. The reservations manager is extremely resourceful. This resort will completely custom design your experience. So, be upfront when they ask you what your favorite food is. They change the menu daily and the chef will include your requests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyexcursions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Surprised us with substantial "x-tras" beyond our expectations.
Amazing staff-friendly & professional, very accomodating-made us feel like family. Always kept us very safe.
Breathtakingly beautiful spot for wedding on San San Beach. Phil was totally amazed and can't wait to go back.
(See photos on www.machenphotography.com Allison & Phil) I was able to plan wedding from States via email & phone.
Great food. Gorgeous & comfortable accomodations. This property is in the preserved rainforest, and every villa overlooks the Carribean. There is an xtra drive or flight into Portland, but the pay off was that we saw very few tourists. Whether swimming in Somerset waterfalls, or lounging at the beach in a luxurious chaise, we were usually the only couple there & it was very private, other than staff or security on grounds.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbrad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
128.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
128.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
128.5 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Property: Geejam
Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing