We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place - with some work it could be brilliant”
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“A special place - with some work it could be brilliant”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Firstly, I recommend a visit to this corner of Jamaica. It's far less commercialised than the majority of the island, the vegetation is luxurious and incredible lush and it retains a low-key atmosphere.

We went to Geejam's thanks to the overwhelmingly positive reviews on Tripadvisor - and having been there, I see what the fuss is about. It's a special hotel in a special location.

We were picked up at The Jamaica Inn near Ocho Rios and driven in a SUV by a very courteous, friendly and intersting guy who had worked in construction in New York and had moved back to Jamaica. This set the tojne for the visit - the staff are very sweet natured and genuine, which is not always the case in The Caribbean.

The hotel is simply a marvel of civil engineering, with it's location up on the hill surrounded by tropical trees (some are so big they are breath-taking) - the standard of the building materials and the quality of the finish is remarkable for such a remote location.

The view is something you will never tire of looking at.

The rooms (we had "Rock Steady") had very cool furnishings and technology in the room (iPod dock and Apple TV for example). The bathroom was very cool with a view out to the sea through the trees - the whole place feels very "sexy" (and as Nigel in Spinal Tap once said "what's wrong with beiong sexy?", although I digress.....)

The communal bar/restaurant/pool table area is great with a quite frankly excellent urban/R 'n' B selection on iTunes always playing some great sounds at all times of the day.

The food in the restaurant is above average for Jamaica, but has a correspondingly high price point. Breakfast was good and always served by a smiling lady who was always ready to help.

Not all dishes hit the spot, the burger was "off" for all four days we were there (could no one have gone shopping?), wine was expensive as you would expect and the lunches were typically better than dinner (simpler, less "try-hard" and overall just better).

A few quibbles.....

1. The covers on the outdoor sofa were either wet (it rains in sharp bursts a lot) or missing - they need a better system to protect the cushions whilst also making they're actually there.

2. Rhianna was shooting a video nearby ("Man-down" I believe) and the owner went table to table telling everyone in a "psst, don't tell anyone, but....." - which we were like "whatever". In the end the crew popped in for breakfast at 6am on one day. If I was a celebrity, I would be concerned at the lack of discretion and I thought this was a sort of covert, guerilla-marketing way to get people to talk about who sometimes stays at Geejam...oops, it works - here I am writing about it!

3. Whilst the beach club across the road if immaculate, a swimming platform that extended across the reef allowing you to dive in and swim in open water would have been nice. The bay is mind-blowing - real James Bond r 'n' r location from the Fleming novels (although Goldeneye is a few hours away).

4. They got the bill wrong, but it was rectified with a phone call or two back to The UK - not ideal.

Overall, special and with improvement - simply stunning. Overall pricepouint is a little too high, but with work it will justify it.

Magic.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagerbeaverhk, Owner at Geejam, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Coops999,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Geejam, along with your many positive comments about the property.

I do want to respond to some of your observations, to give you an even greater understanding about how we operate:

1. Hamburgers – I’m genuinely sorry that they were not available while you were here. Our policy is to offer an item on our menu, only when all the ingredients that go into making a particular dish, are available. Unfortunately, the mince that's needed for our special recipe was out of stock at our suppliers in Kingston. Let us know when you are coming back, and I will personally ensure that we have the perfect burger ready for you!

2. Our in-house music studio caters to a wide variety of recording artists – and we are always sensitive to balancing their needs with the other guests. All the other guests that you mentioned, who were there during your stay, were, in fact, part of the artist’s entourage.

3. And you are 100% correct, depending upon the time of year and time of day, we often get brief rain showers, one of the reasons why Port Antonio is so green and lush. However, we will work harder at getting the cushions off & on, and dried more quickly – it’s just that on some days the weather conditions change so quickly, they catch us by surprise.

4. We are probably slightly more expensive than a large chain type hotel, as we are an extremely intimate and private property – just 7 rooms at present. With a head-count of close to 40 staff - all highly trained and highly motivated - it gives us an unusual 'staff to guest' ratio, and I believe we go to extremes to ensure perfect guest satisfaction. Running an operation the way we do, IS extremely costly, but having said that, we do all we can to ensure that our rates also reflect great value for the services and experience we deliver. And some good news – from next year, we will be expanding our base of operations, giving us far greater economies of scale, in both rooms and food & beverage, which will be reflected in our pricing.

Thanks again for your special words of praise - they are very much appreciated.
1love,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
295
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed for second time. Port Antonio is best place in Jamaica.

Total relaxation, secluded, deserted private beach. Treated like rockstars. Jamaica at it's best.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolrunnings_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here(August) and all I can say is amazing!!!!!
When the big gates open you drive into a hidden gem! If your looking for a hotel with privacy and amazing views of the ocean, this place is for YOU... Oh did I mention the private beach!!!?? The staff was great!!!! The food was great!! The drinks were great!! We will be back and hopefully we can rent the entire resort with our family and friends!!! One of the owners (Steve) was their the week we stayed and he was awesome, very friendly and inviting!! Thanks Steve!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Geejam was perfect for us in every way. friendly staff, unobtrusive, lovely setting, chilled bar, everything we were looking for after the hustle of Ochos Rios. The private beach is really nice but the local beaches - especially Winnifreds - are stunning. I think its worth pointing out one or two things that more discerning travellers may be annoyed about though. Geejam is CRAZY expensive and we were told that the minibar in the room is replenished every day for free. Sadly we were there four nights and it wasnt restocked once which I think is a real shame as water and a beer and some peanuts are not expensive and are much needed after a long day at the beach. Also the furniture in the room is a little worse for wear for a five star resort. These things as I say did not dampen our experience at all as we are very laid back but considering the price, i just thought it was worth mentioning to others! The food is again very expensive for what it is but very tasty and the restauarnt is a lovely setting. Local food is great - I definitely recommend Woody's for the most amazing beef and plantain burgers and could red strip for about a fiver! ALso make sure you go river rafting - the experience is amazing, so relaxing and the food cooked up on the river's edge was one of the best meals we had in Jamaica. Second only to the Jerk at Boston Bay. AMAAAAAZING. I took home some bottles of the jerk sauce as its the best I have ever had. Big shout out to Jason, the bar manager at Geejam who is such a star, so friendly and really looked after us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eagerbeaverhk, Owner at Geejam, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear CharliSays,

Thank you, not only for your 5 star review, which is gratifying, but also your constructive criticism, which is equally important to us, as we continue to work extremely hard to try and ensure everything is always perfect for our guests.

I’m sorry to hear that your mini fridge was not re-stocked, and just wished you would have mentioned this at the time, so we could have responded accordingly.
Bottled water, like the Internet, is always complimentary, throughout the property.

Both Jon and myself are never more than a phone call away, in the unlikely event that something you need, is not dealt with in a timely fashion.

And a special thank you from Jason, our bar manager, who appreciates the shout out.
1love.
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel was not what i imagined. Much smaller and private. It felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. It felt more like a home instead of a hotel which i really liked because i hate a "touristy" atmosphere. Sanwood was an amazing house. Styled in an understated but cool, trendy way. Lots of interesting books and magazines to read. Lots of good films on the apple tv. Useful to have board games, which me and my brother and sister used. However pieces were missing from most of them so could do with replacing these.
Service was good, not the fastest service i've ever had but it didnt matter because we were in a relaxed environment and the service were so friendly and chatty and had a lot of personality.
the location was incredible very very lush it was like paradise. so much beautiful vegetation and beaches. good food and friendly people. untouched and touristy which i liked.
only thing that i found a little annoying was that you had to drive to get everywhere. and the 2 hour drive from kingston airport was pretty awful because i get very car sick!
my favourite parts of the trip were the rafting and going to the blue lagoon. frenchmans cove was beautiful.
the geegam beach itself is very beautiful and staying in the hotel was very comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1hsvxd78d6n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2011

A unique mosaic of beauty, creativity, elegance and comfort coupled with all of the amenities one can imagine and beyond. This place is full of fabulous surprises and what a setting!

Room Tip: Each room is unique but well conceptualized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

didnt know what to expect, but it was definitely one of most relaxing and beautiful holidays; geejam is set in lush tropical landscape, only 5 mins walk down to its own private and peaceful beach. it was a perfect base to explore all the natural wonders of the world - the breathtaking beaches, only 5 - 20 mins drive away provided plenty for us to do each day. we loved the rafting down the rio grande, the boston jerk chicken - all perfectly set up by Geejam, so that it was all effortless. the service is personal and all the staff friendly and welcoming. outstanding quality of accomodation and cleanliness - would highly recommend it. loved the complimentary mini bar, the films, the complimentary rides to the local beach. what more can i say?

Room Tip: as a family of 5 we took the 3 bedroom villa, but the wooden cabins for 2 looked full of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
128.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,279 reviews
128.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
227 reviews
107.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Property: Geejam
Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing