We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay at Geejam where we had 2 rooms (Drum and Bass, Rocksteady) We also did a vow renewal ceremony as well. Geejam is a gorgeous property. The rooms were clean and well maintained. We loved the privacy of the property and the rooms. The private beach is definitely a hit, and the complimentary use of the kayaks was a plus.

For our vow renewal, I could not have pictured a more perfect day. Everything went well…EVERYTHING! Shevanise was our coordinator and what a professional she is! From we initially made contact months ago, to the day of the ceremony she was absolutely perfect. Very accommodative, patient and professional. On the day of the ceremony, she was with me from make-up to the very end. She is indeed an asset to Geejam. On a whole, the staff was pleasant. We were greeted warmly upon our arrival, and they seemed eager to accommodate our needs and requests throughout our stay.

We had dinner at Trident Hotel on one night. The Jazz band was excellent. We were a party of five, and I was the only one not pleased with my main course. However, our waiter Tyrone offered to change my order to something else. I didn’t want to be a bother, so I declined. But again he was very pleasant and accommodative.

The food at the Bushbar was excellent. They provided brunch for my wedding party and it could not have been any better. We had breakfast there each morning as well, and it was well done. I had to ask to meet the chef so I could personally commend him.

All in all, it was a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    20
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
83
295
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Port Antonio in March and had the pleasure of staying in the Rock steady suite for a few nights. What a great experience! We loved the cool bar, the amazing private beach and everyone at the hotel was super helpful and just downright cool. You get no canned service here. You meet real characters and amazing guests. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rock steady suite is definitely worth looking into. We had coffee every am on our own private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taliakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The property was excellent. Staff was very attentive and catered to our needs. We stayed in Ska which had an excellent view of the area and ocean. We took day trips to Reach Falls and river cruise which was all arranged and very organized. We stopped for Jerk along the road and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Not your average tourist vacation so beware. If you want to be away from it all, enjoy the beauty of Jamaica, eat well and be pampered, this is the place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were unique. Check out the rooms on line before going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Beyond the airports, the high-rise resorts and the usual tourist distractions lies this hidden sanctuary, nestled in the jungle, overlooking the most pristine, untampered part of Jamaica. Every cottage is special, the beach is luxuriously private and the staff is warm, welcoming and everything that’s right about Portland Antonio. I've been coming to Jamaica for over 10 years and Geejam is one of the reasons why. Enough said. Book it. You'll love it as I do.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keithmross13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at Ska and the private jacuzzi was well used every evening before dinner. It's above all the other rooms so you are guaranteed privacy and the view is especially beautiful at dusk! Service is very amazing too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My fifth trip to Jamaica over the past thirty years and my wife and I definitely made the right choice staying at Geejam. I've been all over the island and Portland/Port Antonio is my favorite part of the island. And Geejam is the jewel of hotel residences in my opinion. Secluded, beautiful, modern, and every whim is catered to for as much as you want. The staff was genuine and lovely - sincerely interested in the success of our trip and doing all they could to help us be happy. We most surely will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Mento. Very private and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

GeeJam was where my wife and I decided to take our honeymoon and it couldn't have been a better decision. The hotel is in the Portland district of Jamaica and the area is fantastic for travelers that want a trip that is more authentic than you can get in the more touristy parts of the country. The service, scenery, and amenities are on an unparalleled level at this boutique, eco hotel.

When we got to Jamaica GeeJam had a driver waiting to pick us up at the airport and transport us to the property, with a stocked cooler of beverages available for us to enjoy along the way. It is then a 2.5 hour drive through the rainforest and mountains to get from Kingston to Port Antonio. They offer a connecting flight that if our budget had allowed we might have taken on the way back. The ride is nice to do once to see the landscape and people of Jamaica, but it is a winding and bumpy trip.

Once we arrived the trip seemed to fly by with equal parts relaxation and excitement. Just some quick notes on GeeJam. It is a small resort that is dedicated to service and intimacy. There are only four villas on site and in fact for over half of our trip we were the only patrons there (this was amazing as they still had a full staff available to cater to just us). As noted in more detail below we stayed in Rocksteady and loved the villa. The entire time you are there the staff is available via the personal cell phone they give you upon arrival. If you want to set any plans, order any refreshments, or need help with any problem simply call the appropriate person and they will work to resolve it. The staff is really dedicated and experts at being available while giving you the privacy that you come to expect here.

GeeJam's beach offers great views, comfortable lounge chairs, and day beds with canopies to hide under during the occasional afternoon shower (we stayed at the beginning of rainy season and only had to deal with a few bouts of rain, nothing that really impacted the trip as the showers ended almost as soon as they began. Not sure if we were lucky or this is simply typical). It does have a swimming area that goes about waist high if you want to cool off. There are bathrooms available, kayaks to use, and a jungle gym for the kids. Staff from the Bushbar will also travel down if you care to order drinks or food. Of note the path down to the beach is a long set of stairs that might give older or less mobile travelers pause.

Geejam's onsite restaurant Bushbar has delicious, local, fresh food. Some menu items will be unavailable from time to time due to it not being in stock, but all that means is that everything is really fresh. They take into account your diet and preferences and really cater to you.The chefs rotate depending on the day between the Trident and GeeJam, but everyone is top notch. I'm missing all the great snapper and mahi-mahi already. Pricing seems to be about $5 for beer, $10 for other alcohol, $15 for appetizers, $30 for entrees, and $10 for dessert. There is also a 20% service charge on all transactions while you are there (10% tax and 10% gratuity). This extends to excursions as well, which is something to keep in mind when tipping for dining, spa services, and rafting for instance. Breakfast for us was included within the rate of the room, outside of tip, and was always good.

While staying at GeeJam you can enter Frenchmen's Cove for free (make sure to ask for a voucher to take with you though). Overall we preferred GeeJam's beach, but this is a place worth walking, kayaking, driving over to see once. They have food available there but I'd pay the premium and eat at Bushbar, it is much better. The drinks on the other hand taste just fine and are cheaper there.

As a sister property the Trident Hotel operates in sync with Geejam and is convenient to visit. Definitely go for the Jazz Band that performs and to get a massage oceanside (there is nothing better than hearing the waves cascade around you while you are getting pampered for an hour). The hotel also has a movie room with surround sound, projector, and large screen that you can reserve to catch a movie in grand scale. These are amenities that come with staying at Geejam so don't forget about them.

Other activities we did through Geejam and enjoyed: the boat tour to the Blue Lagoon with snorkeling, a trip to Reach falls, and rafting down the Rio Grande.

Overall this trip was well worth the price for our honeymoon. We can't wait to plan our next vacation back to the lovely people and amenities of GeeJam. If this is in your budget and you are after service, privacy, and relaxation quit debating and book a villa at GeeJam. Contact me with any questions you might have, I'm happy to answer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rocksteady and were very happy with our decision. The views from the balcony are specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
128.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,279 reviews
128.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
227 reviews
107.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Property: Geejam
Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing