We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Geejam
Nearby Hotels
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Lagoon Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$357
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$759
US$736
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
504
22
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
22
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush barrecording studiobasshot tubjolly boyscell phoneapple tvsanwood villagee jamprivate beachguest servicesrio grandejon bakerfrenchman's covealicia keysblue lagoonco owner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hidden gem! absolutely serene and beautiful. The staff is one in a million the amenities and area are just a hidden paradise and this is coming from someone that was born and raised in Jamaica. An absolute paradise, Im originally from Montego Bay but moved to the US a while back. I come to Jamaica every year and have been all over the island. On this trip I decided to check out Port Antonio and came upon this gem!! My now fiance and I had the most epic and refreshing time. Geejam too care of us. Much Respect to Steve who made sure we took advantage of much of what Port Antonia has to offer from rafting to the studio tour to dinner at Trident. There is still much we didnt see and we will be back!! Word cannot explain what awaits you at this hidden resort.

Room Tip: any room you cant lose we chose SKA its at the highest point on the resort and somewhat secluded.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlonRD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Geejam Collection and we had an even more extraordinary experience. Both visits my wife and I were in much need of a vacation due to heavy work schedules. As you arrive, you feel a sense of family. Each hour, each day, the entire staff works diligently to create an experience that restores your mind and heals your soul.

The first half of our stay was on the Geejam property where the lushness of the vegetation makes you feel like you are being cradled in the bosom of mother nature. The food at Geejam is literally food for the soul. From breakfast to dinner you feel the love that goes into its
preparation.

The second half of our stay was at the Trident property, which was a welcome change of pace. The clean lines and modern decor greet you at the entrance with a visual that looks like a personal landing strip to the infinity pool that aligns with horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Just like the staff at Geejam, the staff at the Trident are attentive, meticulous and thoughtful.

To Co owner Steve Beaver, Chef Garth and the Bushbar staff, Floyd and the Trident team, our drivers Khally, Gary, Nick and the maintenance team, thank you for healing our souls.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheldon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and stayed at Geejam for our honeymoon. The place is extremely nice and very private. We were there for almost 2 and a half days before we saw another guest. The Bushbar is and awesome place to eat and the staff is very friendly and accommodating, anything and everything we wanted they were able to provide. The housekeeping staff is also very friendly and extremely efficient. Every morning we would leave to eat breakfast and by the time we returned our room was clean, they even cleaned the room in the afternoons after we would take a nap. If you are looking for first class service with beautiful surrounding and a lot of privacy this is the place for you. The price was very affordable, it is a 5 star place at a 3 star rate. We just returned 3 days ago and have already started discussing a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

There are no words of say, totally faaaabbulous! worth every dime and the service was great! big up to rose, Jason and the bush bar staff. Could not have been better! Thank you

We would reccommend even to the most sceptic!

WE visited on the labour day weekend for just one night:-(( First the check in was hassle free, no front desk you go straight to your room and particulars are taken there. You get a full stacked mini bar and snack counter. You are given a phone and let me tell you. Your wish is their command !! Literally!!!!

This boutique hotel is well designed,rooms are six star (if there such a thing) private, in-room entrtainment is mordern state of the heart, our room had a jacuzzi on the balcony (sweeeeeet!), Food great and you can do room service no extra charge for your entire stay:-)

Big up to the geejam staff and continue to provide the great service you do. One night was not enough but i will be bacK!Thank you

Room Tip: if you like the fee of being in a rain forest ask for the mento! wow!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blessed2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I couldn't ask for more! Geejam is one of the most incredible vacation experiences I've had. The reason I say "vacation experience" is because there are so many layers to Geejam that make it so special.

The Location: Port Antonio (also known as Portland) is such a special 'untouched' spot in Jamaica. It’s more authentically Jamaican in the sense that there are (thankfully) very little "resorts" and more locally ran/owned B&B's, vacation properties, villas, and small hotels. There are so many activities to do in Port Antonio: go to the market (10-15 minute drive to town), stop by a local fruit and vegetable stand (all produce locally grown in nearby farms), several public beaches, Boston Jerk Centre (10 minutes by car – this is where Jerk was created in Jamaica – several different Jerk Stands with Jerk Pork, Chicken or Lobster!), The Blue Lagon (approx. 200 feet deep, a special place to go for a swim), this is just to name a few of the features of Port Antonio….
Access to Geejam – Kingston Airport is the closest international airport. From there you have three options: (1) Drive – its approx. 2-2.5 hours by car (depending on traffic). I would recommend booking through Geejam, they will have one of their employees pick you up and route options include costal (east coast), or through Blue Mountain (which is what we did; it was a beautiful scenic drive). (2) Plane – Geejam reservations can help organize a connection from Kingston to a local Portland Airport at an additional cost which drastically shortens the commute to Geejam. (3) Helicopter – again organized by Geejam at additional cost.

The Property: Geejam is nestled in the hills with breath-taking views of the bays/waterfront of the Portland area. The property itself is immersed in nature; surrounded by lush jungle/natural environment. The accommodations on the property is very limited – there are four cabins and one villa – all private and beautifully nestled in the brush with stone laid walking paths throughout the property. Each cabin (we stayed in both Rocksteady and Mento during our visit) are bright, clean, modern cabins with beautiful wood floors, white walls, white bedding and white furniture, and all equipped with modern bathrooms. Included in each room: a cell phone to communicate to hotel staff during your stay, a stereo-iPhone/pod dock, and access to Apple TV/Flatscreen for entertainment. Each cabin has a beautiful little terrace with an outdoor love seat and bistro table, chairs and umbrella. There is also a gym, outdoor open air bar/restaurant, and pool table on the property. As a Geejam guest you also have access to Trident – their sister property located about 5 minutes east of Geejam on the main road. Trident has beautiful modern facilities that Geejam guests can enjoy (infinity pool, gym, restaurants, bar and sand beach).

The Geejam Beach: A Private beach located 180 steps down from Geejam cabins. The Geejam beach is located right off the main road comprised of a small elevated man-made sand beach with beach beds and chairs, three of four private desks surrounding the coastline with beach beds and chairs, and direct water access to a private swimming area in a beautiful bay. All necessary equipment required for spending the day at the beach is available to you - snorkel equipment, canoes, SUP boards, towels and LOTS of sun! There is also out-houses and showers on location. A Geejam 'beach-boy' is always there for anything you need (towels, questions, conversation, restaurant orders) and he is always time maintaining the beautiful grounds.

The People: Geejam (and Jamaica) has some of the kindliest and happiest people I have ever met in my travels. The employees of Geejam make you feel at home and part of their family. The Geejam (and Trident) team were always checking in on us to make sure we were enjoying each day and if we needed help in booking activities, or just to chat with us and sharing some great conversation. A special thank you to Lij, Janelle, Rajeka, Newton, Robert, Bozer, Booby, Adrian & Nick – You all went out of your way to make our stay at Geejam exceptional. In addition to the Geejam and Trident teams, it was also a very nice experience to meet one of the co-owners of the property, Steve Beaver, who was super friendly and eager to learn more about us and where we are from and how we were enjoying our stay. Steve was a great host and it was a real pleasure to see how much he loves the Trident and Geejam properties and employees; he is very passionate for what he does and you can see that translate into the every-day feel that you experience here at Geejam.

The Food: Jamaican Food is wonderful – fresh, wholesome, and delicious. The restaurants at both Geejam and Trident are fantastic and high-end. Geejam’s restaurant is a little more laid back – outdoor/open air restaurant/bar with fusion Jamaican offerings. Trident’s restaurant/supper club is a white tabled-cloth fine dining experience with beautifully designed and platted food. Geejam Breakfast was the best way to start the day. Included in our nightly rate, we were treated to fresh Blue Mountain Coffee, freshly pressed juice, and a variety of breakfast options: a daily Jamaican Breakfast, Fresh Fruit, Eggs your way, fresh Pastries and Breads, or (my favourite) Banana Pancakes! (Delicious!) Outside of the Geejam properties I recommend that guests try some local places. For a casual lunch I recommend taking a visit to Boston Jerk to have some authentic Jerk Pork, Chicken or Lobster (this is where Jerk was invented in Jamaica – you’ve gotta go). If you feel like going into town – Piggy’s is great for Jerk Chicken. For something a little more formal you must try “Dickie’s Best Kept Secret” Restaurant. Located on the coast at the outskirts (east side) of Port Antonio (about a 15-20 minute car ride from Geejam) Dickie’s is a very unique dining experience. Located in an extended ‘hodgepodge’ dining room of Dickie’s house – you are served a five-course menu cooked by Rastafari-chef himself Dickie. Everything is fresh and delicious and made that day especially for you. (Reservations are required, 5-course meal at approx. $35USD)

The Music: If you are lucky enough, you will be treated to a live performance during your stay by local artists/bands. Geejam hosts the “Jolly Boys” (a Mento band) and if they are in-town and not somewhere around the world on tour, you’ll be lucky to catch a Friday night live performance at Geejam restaurant/bar. Trident hosts “Mikes All Star Jazz Band” on Saturday night in the Trident Hotel’s formal Restaurant. Give Lij or Janelle at guest-services a call to reserve your table while staying at the property! Music is treasured at the Geejam properties (hence the state-of-the-art Studio on the Geejam property). It was a real treat to experience these live performances while on vacation at Geejam.

Final word: don’t look any further… you’ve found your next vacation. Tell only your best friends – this is a very special place!

Room Tip: Rockstead is perfect - small but has everything you need - the Steam Shower is great especially since you are spending so much time in the sun!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MM-TorontoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews