We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This trip was magical!”
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2011

There's really no other way to describe the vibe of this place. Carved out of a jungle mountainside, but accessible to an intimate private beach, GeeJam takes you out of this world. No amenity was spared. There's excellent wireless service and cable TV, with a full digital music menu. But the lush surroundings and the fine Bushbar food and drink are the real attraction. Wonderful staff. This was literally one of the Top 10 vacations we have had in almost 30 years together!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmitch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

Jamaican hospitality at ts very best: attentive and friendly service, a place where you are treated not only as a welcome guest but as a member of the Geejam family. We felt very much at home and we were sorry to leave at the end of our four day stay This is a luxurious hotel with a relaxed styles set in a wonderful Portland location, a part of the Island not to be missed. Blue Hole, Frenchman's Cove and rafting on the Rio Grande are all nearby so there is plenty of diversions to tempt you from its private beach. The cottages are lovely with ultra modern facilities. The food is excellent. You should visit Portland and this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Thought I'd treat my fiance to a spa / beach day out at GeeJam .. Little did she know that I had booked the studio to mix my lastest track with reggae artist "Bugle".   We arrived to a wonderful Jamaican breakfast and the best blue mountain coffee….in fact she was please I was going to be busy doing my recording – so she could really have a chilled day on their beach.   We met up for late lunch – catch of the day was delicious then back to work.   Sadly had to depart at sunset … But a wonderful day of good vibes and the completion of a great song.   Big Up to the wonderful staff – we'll be back for longer next time!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed in GeeJam in the Drum and Bass suite for a week and totally chilled. The hotel is really a collection of small wooden villas dotted on the green lush hillside with the Bushbar as the central place to meet, eat and drink.
Our suite was large, comfortable and had a wonderful large terrace with hot tub, huge day bed, loungers and table. The view was lovely, over the palm and banana trees across the bay.
Down 200 steps to the beach - hard work but totally worth it both in terms of the private beach and in terms of having the view (you need to be up high for those !). The beach is small but quiet and we had it to ourselves ! Swimming in the sea was great, lovely warm water.
Staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly and the owner was also on site and was easily contactable if we had any worries (we didn't).
You are supplied with a mobile phone so wherever you are onsite you can call for a cocktail, or a snack or advice. Drivers are also available to take you to nearby beaches and you just call them on the phone when you want to be picked up - very cool.
Highly recommend the River Raft trip, a visit to Frenchmans Cove and a swim in the Blue Lagoon - go by boat. Avoid Boston Bay - we found the food (which was so highly recommended) fairly poor and vastly overpriced. Much better to have lunch on the riverside on the river raft trip, that was amazing.
Our only negatives were that the wine list was small (so if you are into wines not great but was fine for us) and the food menu did not really change much during our week. This was ok as we enjoyed the food but a little more variation would have been appreciated.
Thanks everyone at GeeJam we had a lovely week.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willowgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Geejam ( I wish I had asked why it is called that) has a wonderful motto of "It ain't about golf". This motto is manifested in every aspect of it's amazing facilities. From the full length red mirror on the private beach to the street art adorning the rooms nestled in immaculate paradise.

Steve and John both took such time to ensure our trip was flawless as well as join us in late night studio sessions, and evening swims to spot sand sharks at dusk. It was a truly magical trip with the most relaxed nature. I can honestly say I have never been so at ease while simultaneously thrilled and excited.

"Mister Bentley" was not only a driver, but a dinning companion at a local jerk stand. Dwayne was far more than an IT director, but in fact, kind of a rockstar. And so goes the theme through the entire staff and facilities of Geejam.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josettevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

A perfect getaway from the city. The studio is World Class, the staff is friendly and the owners make you feel like you're the most important client on earth. Well done Geejam, well done....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fullccmusicgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The first thing we did when we arrived at Geejam after a redeye flight, was fall asleep on our deck in an extremely comfy lounge chair. We were awoken by the tantalizing smell of delicious Jamaican food being cooked across the way at Bush bar... we followed our noses and were absolutely thrilled with our cocktails and meals. After making friends with a few of the other guests and the entire Geejam staff our magical vacation began.... nothing but relaxation, delicious food and fun from then on. Every single staff member of Geejam became a great friend by the end of our trip... from the owners, the chefs and the hosts, to the technicians, gardeners and drivers. We sampled the entire kitchen because we couldn't stop eating their yummy creations. Anything we could possibly want was available to us. I had one of my best and most memorable vacations yet at Geejam and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
128.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,350 reviews
128.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 80 in Negril
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
245 reviews
107.2 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
99.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: £362 - £1,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing