We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful vacation”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

A friend and I just spent 10 wonderful days at Hotel Jamaican Colors. We wanted a quiet, relaxing, stress-free vacation in a beautiful location and this was perfect.Marine, Bob, and Romain are wonderful hosts who took excellent care of us and made everthing very easy. It's not for everyone- there's no exciting night life or fancy accommodations.The bungalows are basic but perfectly adequate (and perfect for singles traveling together as friends- we each had our privacy). The lovely pool overlooks a cliff with crashing waves and is surrounded by lush landscaping. At night the frogs and crickets serenade you. The food is excellent- we especially loved the calamari, butterfly shrimp, and Romain's Margaritas. The hotel is a bit isolated, but Romain serves as a taxi driver and informal guide to take you wherever you want: we visited Port Antonia, Frenchman's Cove, Winifred Beach, the Blue Lagoon, Reich Falls, and (our favorite) the Rio Grande for a fantastic day of rafting. Romain also picked us up at and drove us to the Kingston airport, which, again, made it a very easy for us to relax. Advice: bring beach towels and, if you like exploring the rocky beaches and rivers, sturdy water shoes. Also, of course, insect repellant and sun tan lotion, although the mosquitoes weren't bad at all while we were there (Martine says it depends on the season,weather, and wind). We can't thank Martine, Bob, and Romain enough for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    41
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
58
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury Park
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Having read the past reviews on Colours, I must admit I was a little hesitant about whether or not I should try it, but I can assure you that on arrival, my doubts were quickly dispelled. the family who run Colours, Martina, Bob and Romain are so friendly and accommodated us in every aspect. so much so, I actually stayed here twice in seven days as it was worth the 90 min journey from Morant Bay.Nothing was too much trouble. The cottages are basic but have everything you need along with, sun, food and a good bar. If you are looking for noisy music and lots of activity, then this is not the place for you. However if you are looking for serenity and an environment which makes you feel chiilled out and relaxed and also love the sound of the waves of the sea tossing back and forth when you are sleeping, then this is the place to stay. It was great! One piece of advice, stock up on Bug Off and Repel for mossies! My 9 year old loved Colours, the pool and Winifred Beach which is a 100 JD on the local bus and 20 mins away but well worth the visit. Dungoo's food hut on the beach should also be visited.... Forget Boston Jerk, Marina's jerk chicken is the best and Bob serves a great Appleton and Cranberry!. Glad I made the decision to visit and will definitely return again on my next visit. Thank you for taking good care of us. Sandra, Aziz and Monaishah! London....

Room Tip: Stayed in 'One Love' first time round- very good. Villa - second time round - even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langnau am Albis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The place was nice and our colourful room was amazing. The accommodation stays alone, to get to the next village you need a car or you can wait on the road for a pick up. We hoped that we can go to the next village by foot, but that was not possible because the road is a little too dangerous… As mentioned the whole property is very nice and there are many very nice places to relax. But we missed the real Jamaica feeling. The owners are French and I think there are many French guests as well. They all were very friendly but we felt there more like in French then in Jamaica. Even behind the bar was a French guy who mixed us the Jamaican rum drink. As a proposal for the owners: reggae sound in the background and a Jamaica barkeeper would your Hotel make the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caviezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Very basic. Small beds and even smaller mosquito nets meaning you get bitten through the net. A can of mosquito spray would have been helpful. It is cheap and the pizza is good but we wont be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulineanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here the cottages are small and quaint buy there is no air conditioning. Its a very quiet location about 35 mins from the nearest town. Its not far from The blue lagoon and from Boston Jerk. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Since we live close to this property we have never stayed there. However, we do use it on a regular basis for a light lunch or for dinner. We have never hesitated to take our guests there as the service is very good, the food nicely prepared and the service friendly and attentive. You just HAVE to try the pizza as it is without a doubt the finest in Portland (and we have tried them all). The ambiance is second to none. Sitting around the pool and overlooking the beautiful grounds with the Caribbean Sea as a backdrop makes for a very pleasant time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutch1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My boyfriend and I decided based on the reviews to stay here and it was what I had expected, not so much for my boyfriend. I guess he felt it was a bit too rustic for him. The owners were very nice and accommodating especially when our fan didn't work so well. We stayed two nights when we really only needed to stay one night because we were not impressed at all with Port Antonio. Guess we expected it to be a bit more like Montego Bay or even Ocho Rios but instead found a very quiet town. Having been to several other cities in Jamaica we decided to give Port Antonio a try, oh well, we won't be going back. As for the hotel, not bad if you want to relax by the pool and catch a breeze from the cliffside. Beware of mosquitos at night cause they are very hungry. Oh also nice that they have wifi cause that kept us entertained.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
10.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
467 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
9.1 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jamaican Colors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jamaican Colors

Property: Hotel Jamaican Colors
Address: Ross Craig | Long Bay, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jamaican Colors 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamaican Colors is a small rustic hiding spot where a lot of travelers love to stop by. It is unique, romantic, has his own Colors style, luxurious & very peaceful garden, natural. Facing and overlooking at the Caribbean sea on the cliff (30m/100ft high) It is perfect for short or long relaxation stay... 6 bungalows are on the property, all have private bathroom, terrace, double(s) bed(s). No TV are in the rooms, but the hotel provide free WIFI even in the rooms. There is a swimming pool, a cocktail bar and also a restaurant with a large menu & tasty food cooked to order. Prices are very reasonable. Hammocks are of course around the pool, it would not be perfect holidays without them, beds and seating style for full relaxation time. A complimentary breakfast is offered with the room, in buffet style by the pool side. It is your home away from home in a paradise & tropical touch... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jamaican Colors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jamaican Colors Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing