We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back, comfortable, with friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Search-Me-Heart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Search-Me-Heart
Ranked #6 of 25 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Laid back, comfortable, with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few nights in November. The owner is an Italian woman and she had two other Italian staff running the B&B. They were all extremely friendly and knew the area very well. They have us tips for great local restaurants and beaches that we otherwise may not have known about. The room was clean and the place had a great laid back vibe. We came and went and explored the area as we pleased and were made to feel at home. A great affordable and comfortable place to stay while exploring Port Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charków
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

This guesthouse received a lot of positive comments, that is why i chose it, but after my visit i do not agree with those opinions. First of all, they advertize on their website that there is a 40% discount for the rain season, make sure you ask when is the low season. During my stay (5 days) it rained all day and night, still the manager (Ricardo) charged me with a full price (64 usd for one night). I think the owners struggle with some financial issues, for breakfast i got two toasts with some banana jam, nothing more, nothing less, every day the same. Secondly, there was no electricity and no hot water. They kept saying it's because of the hurricane, i saw that other hotels solved the problem by putting up engine generators, but not here. Finally, i think that for this prize you can find something more agreeable in Port Antonio, which by the way has lovely and beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fu333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosannina, Owner at Search-Me-Heart, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
I'm very sorry for what the guests had to go through during their trip, locked in a hotel room in New York because of Hurricane Sandy and then here to cope with the aftermath of the same storm but their review is totally unfair and lacks empathy towards the sufferings this country has been facing and also towards our efforts to return our guesthouse to its pristine condition. The guest does not take absolutely into consideration the extensive work done to the house and garden, days of cleaning, fixing, painting pruning, cutting dead limbs and trees etc so that guests could come to a well maintained place.
October 24th Jamaica was hit by one of the most vicious hurricane, Sandy, of the last years. As newspaper reported: Portland (that's where we are) was in tatters. All the guests who were supposed to come afterwards, as it was logical to do, contacted us to know how was the situation. All of them received an answer just because I was in Italy at the time as here phones were down and there was no internet. They were informed that the house was perfectly all right, we did not suffer any major damage, we had water but no electricity and due to the extensive destruction in the area we were not able to say when electricity would have returned. All these guests decided to come and had a great time (see the review written on trip advisor by a French guest).
The guest who wrote this review in object, FU 333, never bothered to contact us. He just came and as a matter of fact sent an email from New York saying he was stranded there because of the same hurricane Sandy that put the entire city on his knees. Again not a question on the situation here whereas he should have seen from what was going on in New York that the storm was just bringing a lot of destruction in his path.
Guest FU333 arrived one day late and was not charged for the night he didn't sleep, which we should have. He arrived at 3:00 in the morning and was offered drinks and informed about the electricity situation. Nobody forced him to stay.
Now the guest says that we charged the full price and we shouldn't have because it was raining and in the website it is stated that we grant 40% discount in rainy season. Well what our website says, and anybody can see it, is that the 40% refers to deposit and not discount. Never heard in my life of a hotel giving discount if it rains.
As for the breakfast he got the same breakfast that has been higly praised by more than 25 reviews. Riccardo should have been thanked instead for what he went through to provide a varied breakfast because around here there was not much left and all the groceries were hard to find. They even baked cakes and went as far as possible to provide fresh fruit.
The guest FU333 spent most of his time in the room because of the rain, which was a result of the tail of the hurricane. He did not realize that the area was completely destroyed and most of the accomodations around here were closed due to the extensive damages and we were only one of the few operating. So I do not really know which was the hotel with generators he's talking about, none that we know about.
Yes, it's true, we do not have a generator, but we usually do not need it and I'd like to stress the fact that generators are typical of big and expensive resort and not little unexpensive guesthouses.
I'd also would like to stress the fact that apart from the rain and lack of electricity the guests received the same attentive and professional treatment everyone gets here at Search-Me-Heart.

Rosanna Trifogli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanish Town, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Pleasant clean atmosphere inside out. Ricardo was a very warm, accommodating host. He was happy and willing to give directions and information about any and everything I wanted to know about the area. He'll accompany you to the beach nearby too. Service is professional and courteous, breakfast is very good, I really enjoyed their home-made jam. You can have a good Italian meal too, done to order. Ricardo's cooking is really good; I had dinner there one evening and we sat together like a family.

Staying here, you really feel like an honoured guest. This place, like the community, has a nice, warm, at-home country feel. It's also a safe place to stay. If your'e traveling around by public transport, you can easily get route taxis (to the beaches, other attractions, restaurants or the town), which pass by frequently. It's a good location since it's fairly close to most attractions and the town. I can see why they have a "Recommended on Tripadvisor" certificate too!

I was not disappointed in any way, in fact wish I could have stayed longer, I really enjoyed my time there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Search-Me-Heart was more than just a guesthouse, it was also a unique and authentic experience for us. We were only going to stay three nights and we ended up staying the entire week! Rosanna and Culture were the perfect hosts!! As was Roy who we took on as our local tour guide. The Jamaican cuisine Culture prepared for us every morning started each day off just right! All the close by beaches are spectacular and within walking distance. We met wonderful people all around the area and came away feeling as though we had a few more friends in the world. Thanks again Rosanna, Culture, and Roy!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sshamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We absolutely loved Search-Me-Heart.

Pros: bright & welcoming house with lovely host, a giant hammock on the veranda outside our room, fresh local fruit with breakfast each day, friendliness & graciousness from everyone we met, spacious & clean room, lovely grounds full of flora, Ann the vegetarian woman down the road who made us the best vegetarian food ever, the list may never end...

Cons: nil

We even had our 9-month old with us which can inevitably lead to issues but we had a beautiful time.

Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had the white room with access to the veranda from our bedroom. Simply amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCMendelsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent just one night in March 2012 at Search-Me-Heart but wished it could have been for more. We stayed in the amazing front of house ‘White’ bedroom. Our minimal whitewashed room had a shabby chic feel and a lovely private en suite bathroom with white fluffy towels provided.

The veranda entrance to our room reminded us of a colonial style inn; we had a hammock hanging directly outside of our room which immediately made us feel relaxed. Set back from the main road, a garden and small path leads to this quaint and comfortable guest house. If we blinked we would have missed it, a tiny pretty Search-Me-Heart sign hangs slightly hidden on the side of the house, thus keeping this gem totally unique and unspoilt.

We arrived early afternoon after a scenic drive from Kingston and the owner Rosanna was fabulous. She provided us with information about the best local beach, and so that we could make it for some afternoon sun she came along for the drive too.

Breakfast was a cosy gathering around a table with the other guests; we were presented with unlimited fresh Jamaican coffee, orange juice, banana fritters, chocolate brownies, toast and Jamaican Papaya Jam.

We really can’t say enough nice things about Rosanna and Search-Me-Heart, we will definitely stay again and recommend it to absolutely everyone who stays in Portland, Jamaica

Maxine & Samantha

Room Tip: The entire property is of high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed 4 nights at Search Me Heart in February with my mom. It was my 10th trip to Jamaica, and my first to Port Antonio. It just might be my favorite place on the island, and Search Me Heart will be the place I return again and again.

It is safe, clean and comfortable. We stayed in the 2 rooms at the front of the house, with a lovely porch and hammock to relax.

Rosanna is a consummate host and makes you feel like a special guest in her home. She is very knowledgable about the area and has many suggestions and tips. She is a delight to sit on the porch and chat with. Breakfast was wonderful.

The rooms are comfortable and have a nice breeze. The shower had the best water pressure I have ever experienced!! You can hear the music from a few place up the road, but it is not bothersome and for me is part of the atmosphere in Jamaica, along with the sounds of the tree frogs. I slept very well at night.

The guest house is well located - with a store and a bar across the road. Walking distance to San San beach, Frenchman's Cove and Blue Lagoon, There are a couple of great places to eat close by, but my favorite is a vegetarian take out place - run by a lovely woman named Ann. We ate there every evening. It is simply amazing.

Rosanna has great contacts for transportation and tour guides in the area - and Petey was an amazing guide for our trip to Reach Falls. Make sure you arrange for transportation from the airport with Rosanna or a driver in Port Antonio, as the rate is much cheaper than the drivers in Montego Bay will charge.

The area in general is spectacular and has a nice relaxed vibe. We made so many friends that I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cancalpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 25 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Search-Me-Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Search-Me-Heart

Property: Search-Me-Heart
Address: Drapers | 10 minutes walk to Frenchman's Cove, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search-Me-Heart is a great value accommodation located in Port Antonio, Jamaica,in an area of uncontaminated beauty. In April 2016 we have completed a total renovations of the building and everything is brand new. This charming guesthouse is surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden. It's situated within walking distance to beaches like Frenchman's Cove, San San and the Blue Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Search-Me-Heart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Search-Me-Heart Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing