We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like awkward and unenjoyable dinning experiences then eat here”

Dickie's Best Kept Secret
Ranked #23 of 43 Restaurants in Port Antonio
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“If you like awkward and unenjoyable dinning experiences then eat here”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I had read a review of this place in a guide book prior to my arrival and was very intrigued, but I wish I had checked trip advisor before dinning here. What a weird and unenjoyable experience this was. You select if you want fish or chicken upon making your reservation. Once seated there was no communication between us and the server. He started us off with a fruit plate, then soup, followed by an omelet, then striped bass collar with sides and a loaf cake with instant coffee (in Jamaica!). The fish was horrible. Collar is one of the most boney cuts and was definitely not what I expected when ordering fish earlier that day. The bill came to around $75 for two people, which is not bad for multiple courses and two beers, but to end an already odd experience the server was not able to provide us with change and ended up with a $25 tip. The shack itself is interesting to be in, and the view is lovely, but I am sad to say that I think the restaurants hay day is over. I would definitely not recommend anyone to dine here. Go to bushbar at Geejam instead for good food and good service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DancingTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    4
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Do not go!”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This place was well recommended by the locals for a nice evening out, is more like an average home cooked meal in a shanty by the sea. Our taxi drove up to what looked like another road side shack, Inside seemed to extend downward through a myriad of small rooms connected by concrete stairs having walls made of different sizes, shapes, colors of wooden planks. The idea is you pre order a meal with either chicken, fish or seafood and they serve a set five course meal including the main item you chose. Our meal started by us being seated in a gloomy, oddly shaped, slightly tilted room with windows perched open to the ocean. The mismatched plates/glasses, hand embroidered-hand cut napkins, pieces of rugs and thatched walls may seem eclectic to some but was too "Alice in wonderlandish" for us. The courses included fruit, bread/butter, veg soup, a very large omelet stuffed with veg, our fish was red snapper with rice, dessert was twinkies on a plate (no I'm not kidding) and coffee/or tea. The service was okay the waiter cleared and set new plates between each course but did not tell us what each course was( we didn't know since it was a set menu). The quality of the food was just okay, it really seemed like a very simple home cooked food rather than a meal from a famous chef, though the ingredients seemed fresh. For a $100 if you're expecting a nice meal at a nice place DO NOT GO THERE, it really is just a waste to spend on mediocre food and a dumpy atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kunpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
“Food for Life”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Food: For living
Service: The Heart of a Family, Matriach, Dickie (Alvin) Butler, Dennis Wickliffe Butler
Esoteric: Port Antonio Seaside

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Go early to enjoy kind family hospitality...”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We asked recommendations of local people for places to eat tasty sea food. We were recommended to go to D's Best Kept Secret. Later we saw that it is recommended in our guide book (LP) as well.

Although we had our own means of transport, it was not easy to find the location. By chance, we were there around 18:00, early before people arrive; so we got the best table, with the fresh wind and sea view and most important enough time to enjoy the family hospitality.

Since my friend eats very little, we requested to take one set menu instead of two, to share. At first he said no, but later since there were no people and we really mean, he accepted to give us a single set menu, but he brought the soup and starters for two.

That day it was the curry lobster-steamed fish day. Overall the food was tasty, but not superb.

But the real fun was the interesting place, to discover the eclectic tables/tablewares, family (dad, mom, son) run service and chat with the family before and during the food. They are really very very nice and kind people.

I believe if were to go at the busy hours, we wouldn't be able to chat and enjoy their friendship, which was definitely more enjoyable, than having food.

You will easily find better food in Jamaica, but definetly not this hospitality and friendship. Go when it is calm and don't miss to listen about Jolly Boys.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aydin_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dickies - not worth the price of admission”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

In short, the main course was mush, and then he tried to rip us off. No thanks - can not recommend.

Wish I had known that the "Best kept Secret" was the name of the place, not a recommendation. Dickie is a nice enough fellow, very attentive. We went there expecting to pay 1500 JMD each for dinner. There was only one other couple there that night. We had Lobster and shrimp, although there was no shrimp. Part of the dinner was a veggie omlet, which was really very good. The lobster was mush - consistency of mashed potatoes, the result of being frozen too long or perhaps dethawed and refrozen. Dickie attended to us very nicely, until the end of the meal. He was off smoking (ahem), but when we got up to leave and calll for him he popped right out. However instead of the advertised 1500 JMD, he asked for 3200 JMD each! We talked with him about it (1500 is the breakfast price - which I doubt he's open for breakfast), then told us a price for lunch which he later said was something different again. He finally took the 1500 each, but think he 'got' the other couple.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDK-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dickie's Best Kept Secret also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Dickie's Best Kept Secret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing