We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique dining experience and the lobster was fantastic”

Dickie's Best Kept Secret
Ranked #22 of 42 Restaurants in Port Antonio
Cuisines: Jamaican, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience and the lobster was fantastic”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Recommended by taxi drivers but you need to phone your order in advance, this was the best meal I had in Port Antonio.
You walk in through a small house front that is perched on the side of a cliff, only to go down small stairs to a dining room that overlooks the sea.
I had ordered lobster (I think all meals were the same price) and it arrived after a soup starter and a vegetable omelette.
The food was good but the experience is unique!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rob1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    4
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
1,097 reviews
573 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Unique experience...All of it!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel made my reservation. My taxi driver talks of Dickie,natural and rasta style with awe. Better know where it is, cause otherwise you'd never know the shack/building housed a magic/spiritual experience.

Really...scary just walking in. I'm sure it's gonna fall down. Kinda a labyrinth and maze as I'm led through the tiny rooms and hallways.

Sat at a funky table in a tiny funky alcove.
No menu- no prices and 6 courses:
Soup, giant veggie omelet, salad, lobster, shrimp stuffed tomato, coconut cake

Amazing, simply amazing food combined with the decor/scene/ambience. This is a must in Port Antonio.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's an experience!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I'm giving Dickie's a 'very good' review not because the food was exceptional - although there was a lot of it, but because the atmosphere was like none other. You must go to actually appreciate this little building perched on the edge of the sea, with its sloping floors and winding staircases that lead from one tiny dining room to another. They do not have alcohol, but apparently you can bring your own.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

One of the strangest places i've ever eaten. Looks like a little house on the side of the highway but once you're in it twists and turns quite a ways back. We ate in the back dining room, which is perched precariously on the side of the cliff. Some of the best Jamaican food i've had, especially on this side of the island (i was born and raised in Kingston, Jamaica). Mr. Dickey adds his own flair to the food, which sets it apart from the typical (yet delicious) fare found elsewhere. The vegetable omelette (served as an appetizer) was superb, as were the lobster and snapper. The chicken was good but not amazing. Dessert was included in the meal and consisted of wine cake and cinnamon bun and was delicious and freshly baked. Scrumptious.

Helpful?
2 Thank Robsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good View”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is an interesting restaurant located beside the road and perched on a cliff. The place is a bit of a ramble and the cooking facilites looked a bit...rustic. The owner was pleasant and teh coffee was good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank drknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dickie's Best Kept Secret also viewed

 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Dickie's Best Kept Secret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing