We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Porte, this is a must. Don;'t keep it on your punch card; do it. AND, have lunch with Melinda by the rive”
Review of Rio Grande

Rio Grande
Book In Advance
More Info
US$128.75*
and up
Bikini Beach, Blue Lagoon and Rio Grande Day Trip from Runaway Bay or Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you are in Porte, this is a must. Don;'t keep it on your punch card; do it. AND, have lunch with Melinda by the rive”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The thought of rafting on a bamboo raft on a big river may be intemidating. Don't, it's really not scary al all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    66
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The meal on the side of the river was one of the best, though a little more $$ than I expected. Since you don't pay until after, make sure you ask. Our guide was great, allowed us to take our time and enjoy the crystal clear water. Word of warning - ask your guide if it is a registered trip. We heard of some people whose trip was interrupted because it wasn't registered. Very relaxing trip. Bought an adorable handmade miniature bamboo raft that our son loved.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Walk with an umbrella!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is not a trip to take midday...the sun is hot! Best to do it early morning or late afternoon when it's not so hot and walk with an umbrella! Otherwise, it's a relaxing, romantic outing. The highlight is the coal pot lunch with Belinda - her food is delicious and relatively inexpensive. Ask your hotel to call ahead to reserve a meal. Also walk with a cooler with drinks - it's a long, hot trek without it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nykarenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A perfect afternoon!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent this afternoon rafting down the Rio Grande and what a great experience that was! The water was calm and relaxing. It was so warm too! We got out a few times to cool off in the water. Our guide was great, full of information, patient and so accommodating! He made sure we were comfortable and taken care of! I highly recommend this raft trip to anyone!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cjnevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its best”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As I was paying for the night before with the hangover from hell, this was a godsend. We decided to go for it and from the moment I stepped in the taxi to go was well engaged in conversation. the driver told us a bit about the history behind the resort as we were talking which was nice. We arrived jumped on the raft and hit the best remedy for 'the day after the night before'. These overwhelming views and ambiance that Jamaica provide, cannot be described as it would not do justice to the exact feeling. In a nutshell Brilliant!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Grande also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing