We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous location but not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“gorgeous location but not worth the price”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I didn't want to patronize those big resorts (sandals etc) and wanted something more quaint and subtle. One drawback (till a new road is built) is that it takes over 3 hours to drive the 54 mi. from kingston (where we flew in to) to port antonio. The rooms are lovely. The food is good but really SLOW (overly so...) and service can be super slow too. Though the staff were very friendly, the owners were not at all welcoming after we travelled for hours to get there and their attitude didn't seem to really change much during the time we were there, which was somewhat strange given how small the place is, and how expensive. The hotel has gorgeous gardens and is near beautiful beaches (you have to drive or be driven to them).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ardelel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    51
    12
    14
    16
See reviews for
38
202
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My visit at the hotel was better than I had even expected. Upon arriving I felt like a guest in an old friend's home. I loved the personal touches & artwork throughout the property, the pool is wonderful and the view is absolutely stunning (both during the day & at night). Plus, so much of the hotel is eco-friendly by utilizing solar panels, rain water, and other small gestures which unburden the area of potential pollution. Quiet, calm and the perfect place to relax, I honestly felt like I was in a home away from home. Plus, the food was incredible and creatively flavorful. Overall, a fab experience which I have already highly recommended to friends who I know love traveling to the more untouched parts of the world at a slower pace, experiencing culture, minimizing their carbon footprint without giving up any comfort.

I'm definitely going back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen4443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Mocking Bird is a beautiful guest house, with good food and service, but it has Strawberry Hill prices, which really takes the edge off it - it's far too expensive for what it is. Try Green House Estate if you want all of the above, but at half the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My partner & I and I stayed here with our 8-month old son whilst on a photography assignment for the area. The rooms were light and airy, and we were very impressed by the hotel’s efforts to support small local businesses by providing the guests with, for example, chocolate balls for making drinking chocolate.

The photos on the website don’t do justice to the hotel in many ways; the elevation is perfect, with views out over the tropical forest and sea in one direction and the Blue Mountains in the other, just amazing. I loved the simplicity and charm of both the hotel and its ever helpful staff, every whim of our little boy was catered for (if you do want babysitting services we recommend Nerine and Jenny!). Even Cynthia who owns a cafe on the beach there went out of her way to accommodate our baby – Jamaicans are very baby friendly and chat away to them! Free shuttle to Frenchmans’ Cove was handy, what an incredible beach, but our favourite was Winifred’s Beach.

The food at the Mille Fleurs restaurant was tasty, an imaginative menu that was an infusion of European, Indian and Chinese foods and with large portions. Particularly good was the fish, though a simple smoked pork chop with pineapple relish was divine, as was a jerk liver starter. Evenings sipping a sublime cocktail while our orders were being cooked were a lovely way of chilling and chatting with other guests. Very handy is that our baby monitor could easily pick up our room which was furthest away from the restaurant. The only issue with all the hotels in the Port Antonio area are that they aren’t in town and taxis don’t come cheap, for that reason we did stay in on the half-board option but were more than happy with the great food. If you’re looking for a hotel to suit your own green credentials to wind down at with great dining and star watching in the evenings you can’t really get better than this.

Room Tip: Room 10 - has incredible vistas of both sea and tropical forest from its 2 balconies, suite great fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucciolame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2012

In March 2012 my girlfriend and I spent a week of extra-ordinary holiday at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill. We are regular travellers throughout the world and this one is definately the nicest vacation ever. I felt the need to share this review so that persons would know of the great luxury, fascinating nature, eco-friendly environment, total anti-racism, exceptionally good food and lovely family atmosphere which hotel mocking bird has to offer. This hotel will be one never to forget and always return to. We want to thank Sherine and Barbara for showing us that you can have a vacation that leaves you totally relaxed and rejuvinated. The new garden settings which is the Wellness Garden allowed us to receives massages under a giant Fig tree in a tropical rainforest- like atmosphere underlined with rich bird sounds which made us feel newly born. We want to recommend this place to everybody who wants to spend a vacation that will never be forgotten and one where you will find strength to rejuvinate the body to help deal with the stressful business life we have at home..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, St Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I have visited Mocking Bird Hill many times, each visit has been extremely enjoyable. The food was delicious, the staff are friendly and go out of their way to make sure your every need is taken care of. The owners Barbara and Shireen are friendly and make you feel right at home. I would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Port Antonio Area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I have been a repeat guest at the Hotel Mocking Bird Hill for well over 15 years and never had I an experience that was not worthy of mention. The staff, the location and the FOOD just fantastic. I just read in some international publication that theya re now Hospitality Assured Certified and just wish to say congrats Barbara abd Shireen. Those who have never expoerienced a vacation there need to correct that ASAP. One of the world's leading Eco hotels.. just go there and unwind....and eat

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BartyJamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
46.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Property: Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing