We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Nearby Hotels
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Lagoon Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Match Resort Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San San Tropez Villa-Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goblin Hill Villas at San San(Port Antonio)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Huts(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$930
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
US$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
321
57
15
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
57
15
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmille fleurshotel mockingbirdblue mountainseco friendly hotelchocolate teabird watchhomemade jamsdaily changing menufrenchman's covegourmet fooddeluxe roomwould highly recommend this hotelrio grandebreakfast and dinnergardens are beautifulperchlocal guide
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Thank you Shireen and Barbara for a truly relaxing and magical holiday. Even though we were unlucky with the weather we couldn't have had a better trip seeing all the wonderful local sites such as the Somerset Falls, Frenchman's Cove, Goldeneye and many more. We enjoyed the fabulous gardens you have lovingly created, your delicious cooking (and indeed lessons) and the incredibly comfortable and well-appointed rooms with natural air-conditioning. We arrive frazzled by city life and left so relaxed we could slip under doors. To paraphrase Arnold Schwarzenegger: "We will be back!"

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVReather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is not a “conventional” hotel –and not something for everyone but we loved it! It has the charm and intimacy of a comfortable home ( which it previously was) and while it is operated efficiently and with great care and love – one senses it as one walks and sees all the lovely fresh flower arrangements, it is all done informally – no formal front desk, tour desk and the likes. Everything is done in a low key manner. We were surprised as we entered and were escorted up to the bar terrace on arrival for our welcome drink – everything else was taken care of while we relaxed and caught our breath after our journey. The cool breeze and the fantastic views and the cold drink were a welcoming start to what was a wonderful time. That set the tone.
They provide a lot of information – explain the background and were a delightful source of discovering many little things. Arrangements for tours are made either while sitting and having a drink with the managers in the evening or just simply requesting any member of the team. The tours that were organised on request were great – the managers came up with some lovely suggestions once we explained what we were interested in. Again it is not the “standard tourist” tours that they offer- instead they linked us with various persons in the community and we really had a lovely time exploring and meeting so many people... through their support, many in the community really benefit from tourism.
The whole team -just lovely, friendly and most helpful people who go to great lengths to always ask and enquire if there is anything else they can do. Nothing was too much. One feels that it is not just the standard professional courtesy..just genuinely, natural caring people. They are passionate about what they do in terms of supporting the community, addressing the question of sustainability- again it is the details such as the lovely recycled oil lamps on the dining table, the embroidered napkin pouches to enable one to reuse one’s napkin that shows the attention to detail and their serious commitment.
In style it is a mix of the Caribbean and European where they owners lived for many years. In this sense it is not the standard hotel – no air-conditioning, TV, telephones in the rooms. ( but they state this clearly)... a true haven of escaping all these trappings and the hotel is very open to allow for cross-ventilation and one hears all the night sounds – but again we loved the sounds of the tropical night. It is a quiet, intimate retreat – the gardens are lovely and we enjoyed just relaxing there in between the days with excursions. Just want to also mention that the food was not typical standard fare – we always looked forward to the daily changing menu – a delight – and we appreciated the fresh quality, the locally sourced organic items and the surprising combinations with Mango and Coconut or Orange and tamarind to name just two examples.. lots of lovely fresh salads and the assortment of all the whole baked breads for both breakfast and dinner were great. We just loved the creativity and great quality – and that everything is fresh.. to taste freshly squeezed orange juice or a fruit punch made from fresh fruits rather than the usual bottled stuff one gets in most places.
Our experience was so positive that we are definitely coming back. We are planning our family reunion there next year. We highly recommend it for people who want something individual and special.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Once again, as they have for the past 6 (six) years, Shireen Aga and Barbara Walker created a mouth-watering dinner for our group. We have come to rely on their hospitality and expertise in creating a menu for our "USATAA Gathering Group", with our varied dietary needs and multicultural wants. The food is outstanding in its quality and creativity. The dishes are always a visual and taste treat. We typically arrive a bit before sunset, so we can enjoy the wonderful view from the upstairs balcony area. The contrast of the sea, the rooftops of Port Antonio and the lush green covered mountains makes for a very impressive vista. There is time to sip an interesting cocktail while the sunsets and then we head downstairs for the dinner itself. The service is great and the food is wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We just spent 5 days at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill in Port Antonio, Jamaica. This delightful, small hotel is off the beaten path which was just what we were looking for.
The room was very comfotable and immaculate.
The grounds have beatiful gardens and a very pretty and quiet pool area.
The two owners are wonderful people.
Shireen has a wealth of knowledge about what there is to do in teh area and will set up day trips for you.
Barbara is the chef. She truly is a chef. All three meals are available. A new menu is posted every afternoon for dinner. The meals are inventive, delicious and very special. They use only local produce and fish, etc. Everything is fresh.
The service both in the dining area and elsewhere is superior.
The dining area is on a covered open terrace which overlooks the poola rea and gardens.
I cannot praise this hotel enough!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a king size bed and a sitting area which opens to a small terrace.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

While traveling trough Jamaica we went to Port Antonio and especially to the Mocking Bird Hill Hotel. It is situated on a hill with fabulous tropical plants in a extraordinary huge garden. We have been welcomed with refreshing orange juice before going to our room. The room was more that lovely with classic shuttered windows and verandah, hammock and a canopied bed which I found simple but of an extraordinary beauty. I liked also very much natural materials used to arrange the room and its colors - white, blue, brown. There is a little bit to much terracotta, I would prefer wooden floors but it is for sure less practical. We liked very much the hotel's manual with a lot of informations about the country, habits and practical informations how to care about environment. We had the pleasure to talk with one of two owners and hosts Shireen and it was very nice meeting. The staff are friendly, warm and natural. The views from the roof top terrace over the garden and down toward Port Antonio are heavenly. And it has also the best view of Blue Mountains I could see in Jamaica. Just stunning!
The restaurant was expensive for us but we had one dinner and it was good and beautifully set on plates - the minimalist version of jamaican cuisine. As we were told a lot of vegetables comes from the hotel garden and they are very tasty.
We have spent a nice afternoon by the pool and the next day enjoyed the Frenchman’s Cove beach which is a nice 30 minutes walk from the hotel trough a nice and friendly village.
We personally prefer less luxurious places but we liked the fact that the hotel is consciously environmentally friendly and we can recommend it to everybody seeking for comfortable and peaceful oasis of nature. Thank you Shireen and Barbara :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARodowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews