We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excellent!
My husband and I stayed at Mockingbird Hill for 3 days in October this year. It is a beautifully presented hotel – I felt like I was in my own luxurious villa. The rooms are beautiful, clean, with every luxury and retain a character you don’t get in large hotels. The views, while having breakfast and dinner, on the “top deck” were breathtaking. The atmosphere is relaxed, friendly but not intrusive. All the staff we came across: gardeners, kitchen staff, cleaners, management, were equally and genuinely friendly. In fact, refreshingly, the staff all came across as motivated and caring about the hotel and the visitors’ enjoyment of the place. The gardens seem endless and are cleverly planned with surprises around every corner. We enjoyed some lovely, surprising, complimentary gifts during our stay. The food was a highlight in every way: fresh, delicious and wonderfully inventive. We tried dinner at a more corporate, “fancy” hotel one evening and regretted it - the pricing for food was similar to Mockingbird but other than that a total disappointment. My husband is a birder and the staff went out of their way to help him find good locations. Shireen and Barbara are warm, sincere hosts who take every care to ensure visitors enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: For us, having a room with a sea view was important and we appreciated that during our stay.. The al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
The best compliment that we can receive is to know that guests felt at home. Thank you!
To enjoy all the services of a hotel yet feel at home... that's the experience we hope our guests enjoy in this intimate retreat. We are glad you enjoyed wandering around the gardens and saw the various birds you wanted to see. On behalf of all the team members, we send you sunny greetings and the very best wishes for the coming Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    52
    12
    14
    16
See reviews for
38
203
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

What wonderful hosts! Shireen and Barbara operate a wonderful and relaxing hotel. The rooms are perfect and the views from the rooms and the public areas are breath-taking. The food is the best I have experienced in the Caribbean. Best of all are the lovely and well kept gardens that offer so many different sights and places to relax.
The special celebration dinner on our last night for me and my new wife was something we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimT4322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
It was our pleasure and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much and have wonderful memories of your stay here. That's the biggest compliment we can get from our guests and it makes our work so worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you again to another great escape in this peaceful oasis so that you can explore the other natural attractions that you did not manage this time. Take care and all the best for your new venture in life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I recently returned to Mockingbird Hill with some friends who just got married. We chose Mockingbird Hill because the food and location are perfect for anyone wanting to "get away from it all" for a few days, and because three of us are birders. We all enjoyed the pool and beautiful gardens, the fabulous gourmet food, and a chance to see the Jamaican Owl right on the hotel grounds. In addition, the hotel staff organized a very good bird guide for a couple of days and we were able to experience the famous Ecclesdown Road and see most of the Jamaican endemics. A truly memorable getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We deem it as an honour that of all the places you have travelled to, you chose to return to Mockingbird Hill as a very special place to celebrate your friends wedding. Thank you! We value that very much and are so happy to hear that you all enjoyed yourselves. The next time it will be hopefully to celebrate either your own or that of your friend's anniversary. It gives us great pleasure and makes our work so worthwhile to experience guests really enjoying and appreciating the vast gardens, the panoramic views and of course, not to be missed the good food! Till the next time, "walk good " as they say here... We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Mockingbird Hill for a long weekend in June of this year - we go to Port Antonio frequently but have never stayed at Mockingbird Hill before, so decided to give it a shot. The location is amazing and the views from the property are gorgeous- you can see Port Antonio to the west, and views of the coastline to the east. Because the hill going up the hotel is fairly steep, you are not really set back that far from the sea, so it makes the view much more dramatic.

The room was really nicely done- very very clean, large comfy bed, bathroom w/ contemporary fixtures and a lot of nice touches like boutique soaps and scrubs. The room was also quite large, and had a covered veranda w/ a hammock and several chairs, and more of the great view. There is no A/C, which at first was a bit disconcerting, but the breeze through the room at night kept up extremely comfortable. I imagine in the winter months you might even need a heavy blanket.

The property itself is suited to relaxation and nature lovers- acres (10 or so) of terraced gardens, stone paths, small ponds and hidden look out spots. There is a large vegetable and herb garden, which I believe supplies the kitchen. The pool is an average small hotel pool, but you're five minutes from one of the nicest beaches in the Caribbean at Frenchman's Cove, so we didn't even go in the pool.

The thing that blew me away more than anything though was the food and the dining. Every meal was amazing. Breakfast was Jamaican breakfast- ackee & saltfish, johnny cakes, lots of fresh fruit, Blue Mountain coffee- done really really well. We had one lunch on the property- homemade whole wheat pasta w/ sun-dried tomatoes and feta cheese and kalamata olives- heavenly. Dinners started each night w/ a glass of wine and homemade solomon gundy (smoked herring pate) on the terrace, and then we had an appetiser (I had the gazpacho) along with six different kinds of homemade bread and three different kinds of seasoned butter. For dinner I had a parmesan and lemon encrusted snapper fillet accompanied by lightly breaded potato croquettes. I'm not sure how to emphasise here that this was quite possibly the best piece of fish I've ever had- perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, and a healthy portion as well. I'm not a desert person, but my wife enjoyed hers. We travel a lot in Jamaica, and have eaten at many restaurants in the island, but none have had this combination of food, decor and service.

This is not a party hotel, but if you want somewhere very peaceful, very quiet, very tastefully done, with an accessible but sophisticated menu, I don't think you can go wrong here.

Room Tip: There seem to be two floors of rooms- get the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burrokeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so very much. It was our pleasure. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food. Yes we are trying to source more and more from our vegetable garden. It is a work in progress and a learning process for us as we discover what does well, what doesn't work and so on. The other side of the garden now boasts a pond that we have created in our Garden of Wellness where, on your next visit, you can enjoy wonderful, natural spa treatments under a large ficus tree. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

In July 2013, we had our family/friends reunion in Port Antonio. We chose Hotel Mockingbird as one of our hotels as our party was large enough to need 2 sites, and as their website showed they offered not only a lovely venue, but unusual tours.
We were not disappointed! The tours to Fairy Hill, where hand-made paper products were made, the pottery makers at Clonmel,, the preserves, coconut oil, Pimento liqueur and the delicious tea offered at Crum's Cottage, the visit to the coffee estate in the Blue Mountains, the visit to Charles Town, the Maroon Village, all have led to a memorable holiday. The lunches packed by the hotel were delicious. The tours such as rafting on the Rio Grande, Reach(Reich) Falls and the local secret, Winnifred beach, were made even more enjoyable by the direction of where to eat on the river side and beach. What memorable and lovely experiences.
The grounds of the hotel was delightful with its beautiful gardens and lush acres.
We had massages in a secluded area of the grounds under the trees. What a delightful experience!!
The hotel offered delicious meals and a boutique rum, Smatt's, and delicious homemade orange liqueur., which we enjoyed from the upper deck looking out at the mountains and the sea.
Take time to also enjoy your lovely rooms with their fans and netting.
Thanks you Shireen and Barabara for sharing your lovely place with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much June. It was our pleasure welcoming you and your family and we are delighted that everyone enjoyed our bespoke tours to some hidden Jamaican secrets. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again for perhaps a just for you holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Spent a great weekend at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill. The hotel is lovely - beautifully & tastefully furnished, amazing food (dinner starts with a selection of home made rolls and different types of butters), and friendly helpful staff. The location itself is perched in the hills above the harbour and offers great views of the ocean with lovely gardens. Another big plus is the hotel is very eco friendly with their own vegetable garden! If you're looking for a peaceful, beautiful vacation spot in Port Antonio with great food and friendly staff then this is your place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you so much. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again when you will be able to enjoy the serenity of our newly created Garden of Wellness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a wonderful experience!! I can’t begin to say how much we truly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mockingbird. We woke each morning to a beautiful view of their lovely gardens and the sea. The service was very friendly and attentive. The staff went out of their way to make excellent recommendations and set-up specific day trips according to our interests. We went on amazing hikes with local guides to waterfalls, river rafting and boat rides. We felt very safe at all times due to the diligence Shireen and Barbara take to meet and develop relationships with the local people. After our hike to Reich Falls, our guide cut us down coconuts and papaya right out of his trees for us to try. It was delicious! The hotel gardens are so beautiful and tranquil. I was even able to get a picture of a hummingbird right outside of my room. My husband and I each had a fabulous massage. Now for the food… the food was so delicious. We enjoyed a fantastic breakfast each day. On the last day, they made me a real Jamaican breakfast of ackee and saltfish. So good! Dinners were a treat not to mention romantic. The views and candlelight only added to this perfect dinner experience. I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: You can request a Garden room with a view of the garden and the sea. It's beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you so very much. It was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
482 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
128.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Property: Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing