We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another idyllic stay at Mocking Bird Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another idyllic stay at Mocking Bird Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at Mocking Bird Hill. Apart from the fact that it is in a beautiful location, with fantastic views down to the sea, it is also a real haven of peace. Our bedroom was simple but well-equipped and all the public spaces in the hotel are impeccably kept and comfortable. This is not your average international luxury hotel, it is small, individual and friendly. We ate dinner at the hotel for three of our four nights and the food was interesting and delicious on each occasion, including the vegetarian menu. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, while our hosts were constantly on hand to ensure that everything was as it should be. Thank you Shireen and Barbara for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Make sure it's a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Welcoming you back was like having good friends returning again. It's these personal relationships that makes operating an intimate hotel so rewarding for us. First of all thank you for coming back - it was lovely seeing you again - and hopefully we can look forward to further visits!
With just 10 rooms we can take the time to be there for you and attend to your needs personally and really make you feel at home. It's these personal touches that hopefully contribute to making the difference and makes a stay here memorable. We appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    51
    12
    14
    16
See reviews for
37
202
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our first stop in Jamaica before going on to Kingston and Negril. It was absolutely perfect.The rooms are beautiful and the food is amazing. My husband and l travel a lot and the breakfast here was one of the best l have ever had, especially the home-made breads and lemon curd. Shireen and Guy were very friendly and helpful in arranging trips for us. We only stayed for 3 days, but we will definitely stay longer next time. Having spent the last 5 days of our holiday in Negril, l cannot understand why anyone would choose an Americanized version of Jamaica over beautiful Port Antonio. Kingston was fascinating too, so next time we will stick to unspoilt Jamaica and give the tourist traps in the north a miss.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your experience here and the destination, especially as Port Antonio remains relatively unknown and most visitors focus on the 3 main resort areas. We are grateful that you are spreading the word about the authentic experiences you enjoyed here and the fact that this area represents the heart and soul of the country with the combination of the lush rain forests, the mountains and the lovely coastline with so many intimate coves and romantic beaches. We look forward to welcoming you back and introducing you to those experiences that you were unable to enjoy due to your short stay. There is so much more waiting for you to discover!
It was a pleasure for us and our team to have had the opportunity to welcome you and we are grateful to hear that you enjoyed the quality of service, the food and your experience over all with us. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Back in November, my two girlfriends, one child and I, took a few days to explore Portland. We woke up in the morning ready to find an eatery with a good breakfast menu. Little did we anticipate that Portland was like ghost town in the mornings and we'd be driving around for an hour looking for somewhere to eat. Inpatient and ready to eat our own arms, we aggressively grabbed the review book from the glove compartment. Our eyes met one distinct description of an upscale, exclusive hotel perched on the top of a hill. We decided to continue on our journey and find the Mocking Bird, no matter what it took. At this point of our morning, we were SO hungry, and EXCITED that we'd not only be in an upscale setting, but that we'd be able to enjoy some top-notch food.

When we arrived, there was no one there. We figured this was due to the slow season. As we walked around and enjoyed the view, we finally bumped into Barbara, the owner, who explained that they were CLOSED! You can imagine our level of disappointment...there we were starving. It was almost time for lunch and we were so pumped to try the MB menu. Then, something MAGICAL happened. Barbara asked one of her staff if there was food in the kitchen. The staff answered yes. And it was then that she told us they would be happy to serve us - PRIVATELY!!! It was the breakfast of our dreams...A basket of freshly baked fruit bread served amongst a plethora of sweet spreads, the fluffiest omelet I had ever tasted in my life, stuffed with warm goat cheese, smoked mackerel and herbs....it just melted in my mouth. The coffee? 100% Blue Mountain, endlessly served hot in our very own kettle. We enjoyed our private breakfast while we looked out over the hills of Portland and out into the reach, in a wonderful blue-colored inspired, homelike setting, feeling as though we were having breakfast in a friend's mansion. It was the perfect end to our hunger-filled, wild goose chase. And THAT, ladies and gentlemen, is EXACTLY how you treat your customers, old or new. THANK YOU, Barbara and the Mocking Bird staff. Dining with you was the highlight of our trip and made for a meal full of happy taste buds and satisfied giggles that we will NEVER forget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaEastwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We remember your visit and feeling so bad about the unfortunate situation that we felt we had no alternative but to try and help so it's lovely to hear that how much you appreciated everything. Having breakfast on the perch is like greeting the day and feeling on top of the world. We hope you will stay a few nights here the next time to also experience the romantic dining in the evenings and allow us to treat you to some more of the good things in life. Come back soon, relax, treat yourselves and enjoy! Celebrate life! Till then, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The place is absolutely beautiful! The garden is amazing, a heaven for bird watchers. We also loved the beaches nearby, Frenchman's cove with big waves on one and a fresh water spring on the other side as well as Winnifred beach which is public and PERFECT for snorkeling.

The owners and staff were very friendly and helped us organize our trip to treasure beach.

A few minus points for the location on a hill with a very bad road leading up to it - taxis charge extra for going up. Also, the restaurant prices were rather steep for Jamaica, but being isolated on that hill, you have no choice but to pay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aennikae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the extensive gardens, the great views and the service.
Roads are public domain and not something we can be held responsible for however regular taxis do not charge anything extra for the fare. They have a standard fare based on the distance. It is only the so called robot or route taxis that charge extra because coming up the hill requires a diversion from their standard route. These forms of taxis serve the same purpose as a public bus and they generally only ply the route along the main road so if one then requests them to make a detour, they will charge, as any form of transportation would, for the additional distance.
The evaluation of the location will depend on the different criteria guests have. Those that seek a quiet hideaway with wonderful views and proximity to the beaches etc. will be happy but it would not be suitable for those seeking to be in the town centre so as to be within walking distance of street stalls and other eateries. The hotel is not isolated as it neighbours the village of Drapers where there are several local eateries and bars within walking distance. Therefore to say that one is forced to eat at the hotel's restaurant is not incorrect.
One has to choose one's accommodation based on what one's priority is and most of our guests do either come with a car or order taxis, which we are happy to arrange because the peace and quiet, the gardens and views is what they are seeking. Relying on public transportation to get here is certainly more challenging and as explained for the robot or route taxis, it requires an extra trip off their regular route.

As with any service or product worldwide, there are different offerings that cater to different budgets. We focus on sourcing organically from local suppliers and produce almost everything fresh in-house such as homebaked breads, pasta, jams, icecreams etc. These factors in combination with the setting and ambiance as well as the service will affect the price which will certainly be more than the informal eateries however comparable to any other good quality restaurants in Kingston or the other main towns. So we hope you enjoyed the quality of the food and the ambiance of our restaurant despite the fact that the prices were somewhat over your budget expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and would have loved to stay longer.
The first 2 days we could not stop enjoying the wonderful and gorgeous garden eden (as I call it). We have had a room with gardenview and yould slightly see the ocean as well. You will not get tired of sitting at the pool, in the bar or in the garden wherever you like and watch whatever comes by! Hummingbirds, fireflys, and so many other amazing birds and butterflys! It´s just freedom and beauty of nature at it´s best.
Port Antonio is a 20 Min-Car-drive, but this is morge because of the condition of the streets :-)
You can reach beautiful beaches, waterfalls and of course the Rio Grand, which is all not really far and reachable.
The two owners and their stuff will do whatever may be in their potential, to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Mocking Bird HIll is environmentally sustainable, and you can be sure, this is (in my opinion) a 5-star-rating, they get from us!
We hope that a lot of people all over the world will fall in love with this place as we did.
Thank you again!!!
TIP: If you book in this hotel, we recommend to book with breakfast and dinner. The restaurant (Mille fleures) and all their menues are awesome!

Room Tip: We recommend a room with gardenview. If you book in this hotel, we recommend to book with breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamsela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 5 day break at the Mocking Bird Hill Hotel. We wanted to find a boutique hotel away from the all inclusive hotels that are so common in Jamaica and this hotel met all our expectations.
Run to perfection by the owners Shireen and Barbara, surrounded by the most fantastic and peaceful gardens, and a short drive to two idillic beaches Frenchman's Cove and Winifred Beach. What more could you want? When we arrived we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the garden with a hammock to enjoy the view.
The food was first class and matched anything we have had in London, and all was served with love and attention to detail. We had our own car so did not need the hotel shuttle, We were so grateful for all the advice and directions from Shireen however who helped us plan our days and provided us with guides in the local area . If you are looking for a peaceful relaxing experience in the real Jamaica look no further than this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Going for Dinner at mocking Bird was recommended by Frenchman's cove. The drive from the main road to the hotel was really long and many parts of the road where very bad. We got a reservation at 7 pm and got there a bit early. We ordered food and waited 40 mins until we got shown to our table. I did ask for water and did not get it wile waiting, It seemed the hotel was a bit under staffed. The food was very good every part of it the bread at the beginning was full of verity and loads of flavoured butter. main was very good and at the end we got nice coconut chocolates. our waiter was not nice over all. the chef was very nice but did linger a bit long around our table.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jah186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hmbhpot, Manager at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We are happy to learn that you did enjoy your meal and the complimentary after dinner homemade petit fours and the variety of home baked breads. Thank you.
Unfortunately the roads in Jamaica are generally bad ( as admitted by Tessanne Chin, the Jamaican winner of NBC's The Voice competition recently) and we all have to contend with the challenges posed but as in all countries, road maintenance generally lies in the purview of governments and is not something that the hotel or any business is responsible for. Jamaica as a developing country has its minuses in terms of infra-structure which does make running a business here challenging but also compensates for it with the beauty of the landscapes, the warmth of the people and the lovely relaxing experiences one can enjoy here . When one does not know a road and the taxi driver is driving slowly to avoid damaging the car because of poor road conditions, then perhaps the drive seems longer than it is. Actually it is just a 5 min. drive up the hill from the main road and less than 10 minutes from Frenchmen's Cove.
WIth regards to waiting times, we only start serving as of 7.00 pm and we cook everything fresh once we receive the orders so this does take some time. We are a slow food restaurant where we cook everything from scratch starting with the home baked breads and petit fours and the pasta, sauces etc. No ready sauces or microwaves are used here. The idea is to enjoy a leisurely, relaxing evening and not rush people through. Most guests do enjoy a cocktail before dinner and we do not want to rush guests to table before they even finish their drink.
Finally we apologise if you felt that the waiter was inadequate. Part of our philosophy is to hire young, unskilled persons in order to train them on the job and give them a career opportunity. This young man has been working for us for less than a month and is still in training and has to develop the competencies of a fully trained waiter. We hope you will enjoy better service the next time you come in addition to the great food quality that you appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
46.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Property: Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing