We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$759
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Lagoon Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
US$727
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$706
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
321
57
15
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
57
15
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmille fleurshotel mockingbirdblue mountainseco friendly hotelchocolate teabird watchhomemade jamsdaily changing menufrenchman's covegourmet fooddeluxe roomwould highly recommend this hotelrio grandebreakfast and dinnergardens are beautifulperchlocal guide
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2009

the vista from the second floor lounge is worthy of the best postcard overview of the island of jamaica. the harbor of port antonio, framed by the ocean and the surrounding hills, is elegantly picturesque.
mille fleurs, the restaurant at hotel mocking bird hill, can only be the best restaurant in jamaica. as a hotel restaurant, its only comparison, in my opinion, is the fishermen's loft b &b in port rexton, newfoundland, canada, where judi dench stayed when she film the shipping news. the chicken, vegetable, and fruit salad and the baked crab with vegetable and fruit salad lunches were exquisite. A creole lobster dinner brought back memories of a crayfish etouffee in the french quarter in new orleans fifteen years ago.
the accommodations were wonderful. our room, after the first night, prompted my wife to remark, "let's stay here again." It can't get any better than that.
the staff will take care of your every need without being intrusive. Barbara and Shireen are wonderful to get to know. We complement them on creating a quiet paradise on the island of jamaica.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scottjh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We chose Hotel MockingBird Hill after researching Caribbean eco-hotels. We came home pleased beyond measure at the care taken by the owners to cater to their guests, while striving to live lightly on the land, and give back to the community. Our room was spacious & immaculate, with tiled floors, original art, coordinated linens, & welcoming gifts such as Jamaican chocolate tea balls & allspice. Equal attention was given to the public rooms & gardens, with bright colors, simple lines, and art throughout. The staff is managed in such a fashion that most staff can multi-task, enabling a housecleaner to also be the breakfast waitress. The restaurant was elegantly casual at breakfast & lunch, dinner a notch or two above that, without being stuffy. Fresh salads, with different ingredients daily, an amusee bouche to start every dinner, and a choice every evening of 3 appetizers & 3 entrees(including a vegetarian selection), beautifully cooked & presented. Happy New Year, indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheshe411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

We stayed at the Mocking Bird Hill Hotel in Port Antonio during Christmas 2008. We liked this little and familiar hotel very much.We wanted to spend a romantic vacation in a very tranquile and quiet place. We needed to relax! In the moment we arrived we felt like at home. We had a wonderful and romantic room (Nr. 2) with a wonderful view over the garden, pool, hills and ocean. It was very clean and everywhere were little gifts for us. The bathroom was big enough and also very clean. The restaurant has a wonderful view and the food is excellent. The prices were ok.
The staff was very friendly and helpful giving us all kind of information about the area what was very helpful. Kashee, Opal, Petrona and Cristal where always smiling and very attentive to our needs. The owners Barbara and Shireen were also very attentive, friendly and giving always good information about where to go: Frenchman's Cove, a beautiful beach and just 5 min. away by car. Winifred Beach, a real Jamaican beach with lots of friendly people and a really authentic restaurant called "Mama Cynthia". Everybody was very friendly and give us the feeling of not being a number!
I would recommend this hotel to people seeking for a quiet, romantic and peaceful vacation, that are interested in bird watching/jungle tours and who don't like the huge impersonal hotels and mass tourism.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Horripila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2008

We have just returned from 2 wonderful weeks in Jamaica of which one week was spent at the Hotel Mockingbird Hill in Port Antonio.
The welcome we received from all the staff was sincere and very warm. We were not just another customer but individuals (the other week was spent in two 5* establishments where we were just 2 of many) - having only 10 rooms we were called by our first names which made everything just that little bit more personal.
The good vibes started back in February when we first booked our accommodation - nothing was too much trouble. Any query was answered quickly efficiently and with no fuss. They were happy to assist with anything we threw at them. They organised two days of birding for us with a local guide into the John Crow mountains, rafting on the Rio Grande told us about Reich Falls which was a wonderful experience.
Because of it's location we decided to do the meal plan and were not disappointed - Breakfast was huge, a dinner plate of fruit each followed by museli which was full of seeds and dried fruit, then it was onto the cheese plate with a lovely basket of bread and fruit loaf which accompanied it and of course there was Guava preserve, honey and marmalade if you so wished, You may feel that this was the end, but no you were then asked how would you like your eggs which consisted of 2 eggs how you liked, bacon and tomato ( One day we had them scrambled with peppers and bacon which were just yummy!)
The evening a la carte was of an equally superb standard. They have 2 magnificent chefs, we had dealings with Anthony who was only too pleased to divulge some of his secrets and he even gave us some goodies to bring home - Thank you!
The hotel was celebrating 15 yrs and they had a family celebration while we were there. we joined them for afternoon tea it ws lovely to see them enjoying their success.
Kashee, Opal and Shireen were so very kind and attentive thank you all and the rest of the staff so much for an absolutely wonderful experience, Kind regards to Vivienne and her family(Shireen's cousin who was visiting from Holland for the family celebration). If you're going to Jamaica and you want to see something of the rain forest and be at one with the local flora and fauna - Mockingbird Hill is the place to be!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sandieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

I took my 13 year old son to the Mockingbird Hill Hotel for a week in October. Just want to record that we had a brilliant week. The staff are absolutely charming. the food is amazing and, best of all, the owners live their values. Loved the fact that there was no TV to be found on the premises. As a bird lover, I found the gardens heaven. Fantastic trips with some great guides. If there is a downside, it's the tiresome trip alng pot-holed filled roads. But it's possible tat the major raoaorks are now completed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Carmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews