We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay nowhere else in Port Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 May 2009

This is a delightful hotel. The owners are knowledgeable and helpful, the staff happy and willing, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is good and the location is great. There is nothing to beat relaxing on the lounge balcony with a complimentary sundowner drink while the sun sets over Port Antonio in the distance. The grounds are extensive and carefully managed and the green credentials are impressive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meditation30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

Our stay at the MBH was a very pleasant surprise. Especially the food was more than great, with every day a big variety. The location up the hill near the woods and with a stunning view, also made our stay worth remembering. We'll defenitely recommend this to all you people who love fine cuisine, beautiful surroundings and a quiet atmosphere. The trips in the neighbourhood will be arranged from start to end by the lovely owners, to make it possible to enjoy the good, not having to worry about anything else.
People, just go there and see for yourselves!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlseMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

MBH is for the kind of independent traveler who likes to get off the beaten track. The owners are caring and environmentally conscience people who make your stay special. My wife and I had a great time in Jamaica and MBH was the best place we stayed.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank luxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2009

MBH was a very pleasant experience,nice rooms, panoramic views of the ocean and Blue Mtns.,but what made our stay was the genuine care and kindness accorded us by the innkeepers and their staff.The excellent cuisine is all locally grown and produced. For those who appreciate each other,good food,and natural beauty,all off the beaten path,this is a hard place to beat.
Jim McEwen

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paladin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Hotel Mockingbird Hill was a once in a lifetime experience. The hotel was gorgeous, set amidst the lush backdrop of Port Antonio and the ocean, with wonderful staff, amenities, and ambiance. I felt like I experienced the real Jamaica, beyond the typical resorts. Hotel Mockingbird Hill was like a home away from home.

Shireen and Barbara are truly dedicated and lovely hoteliers. I savored every moment of my stay! The new and expanding garden is a must see.

I recommend the hotel to everyone looking for a truly lovely and authentic experience. I enjoyed hiking in the area, Frenchman's cove, and lobster on Winnifred.

Thank you so much for a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shauna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

the vista from the second floor lounge is worthy of the best postcard overview of the island of jamaica. the harbor of port antonio, framed by the ocean and the surrounding hills, is elegantly picturesque.
mille fleurs, the restaurant at hotel mocking bird hill, can only be the best restaurant in jamaica. as a hotel restaurant, its only comparison, in my opinion, is the fishermen's loft b &b in port rexton, newfoundland, canada, where judi dench stayed when she film the shipping news. the chicken, vegetable, and fruit salad and the baked crab with vegetable and fruit salad lunches were exquisite. A creole lobster dinner brought back memories of a crayfish etouffee in the french quarter in new orleans fifteen years ago.
the accommodations were wonderful. our room, after the first night, prompted my wife to remark, "let's stay here again." It can't get any better than that.
the staff will take care of your every need without being intrusive. Barbara and Shireen are wonderful to get to know. We complement them on creating a quiet paradise on the island of jamaica.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scottjh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We chose Hotel MockingBird Hill after researching Caribbean eco-hotels. We came home pleased beyond measure at the care taken by the owners to cater to their guests, while striving to live lightly on the land, and give back to the community. Our room was spacious & immaculate, with tiled floors, original art, coordinated linens, & welcoming gifts such as Jamaican chocolate tea balls & allspice. Equal attention was given to the public rooms & gardens, with bright colors, simple lines, and art throughout. The staff is managed in such a fashion that most staff can multi-task, enabling a housecleaner to also be the breakfast waitress. The restaurant was elegantly casual at breakfast & lunch, dinner a notch or two above that, without being stuffy. Fresh salads, with different ingredients daily, an amusee bouche to start every dinner, and a choice every evening of 3 appetizers & 3 entrees(including a vegetarian selection), beautifully cooked & presented. Happy New Year, indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheshe411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
246 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
96 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: £193 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing