We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed 9 June 2009

The perfect place to enjoy peace, simplicity, exuberant nature, very welcoming staff. The philosophy of the hotel is worth mentioning: eco-friendly, respectful of the surrounding environment, they work with the local community in the framework of sustainable development projects, have their own water reservoir, solar panels, energy/water saving tips. At the same time you receive a four star treatment. The food is also excellent, the staff speaks French, German and English, they organize everything for you, from a trip to the beach to rafting on the Rio Grande or even waterfalls 'climbing'. What especially made the difference were all those small details, such as the bottle of massage oil in the room, the complimentary cocktail on arrival, the complimentary ride to Frenchman's cove, etc etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PtitVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    51
    12
    14
    16
See reviews for
38
202
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Excellent service, warm hospitality, wonderful location, great decoration, luxuriant gardens. The restaurant "Mille fleurs" uses local ingredients to prepare savoury fusion dishes. I liked the owner's approach to tourism as a way to foster the sustainable development of the community.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnkatNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2009

vegetation great environment friendly.staff wonderful and warm. birdsa revealation.
food very good but expensive. room ,seemed like new .wellkept.seems like a good romantic spot for my girlfriend and i

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I never left the Hotel.

I am one of the most experiential travelers I know and never before have I been anywhere and felt so comfortable I did not want to leave!

I have a family house in Jamaica which I did not even make an attempt to visit because I was so satisfied where I was. RARE. Mockingbird Hill felt nothing like a Hotel- it was warm, personable, accommodating- it felt completely like visiting a great hostess.

The garden is heaven... and there is wi-fi in the Gazebo (shhhh!)

I am back in Jamaica on business in June and looking forward to take the near three hour trip from Kingston to stop in and say Hello... and I hope some curry lentils, oh no wait, some cassava crepes, uhhhh, make that callaloo pepperpot soup... okay any of the breakfast breads or dinner items.

Big smile from the dirty apple!

-t.i.w.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livesip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2009

This is a delightful hotel. The owners are knowledgeable and helpful, the staff happy and willing, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is good and the location is great. There is nothing to beat relaxing on the lounge balcony with a complimentary sundowner drink while the sun sets over Port Antonio in the distance. The grounds are extensive and carefully managed and the green credentials are impressive.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meditation30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Our stay at the MBH was a very pleasant surprise. Especially the food was more than great, with every day a big variety. The location up the hill near the woods and with a stunning view, also made our stay worth remembering. We'll defenitely recommend this to all you people who love fine cuisine, beautiful surroundings and a quiet atmosphere. The trips in the neighbourhood will be arranged from start to end by the lovely owners, to make it possible to enjoy the good, not having to worry about anything else.
People, just go there and see for yourselves!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlseMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

MBH is for the kind of independent traveler who likes to get off the beaten track. The owners are caring and environmentally conscience people who make your stay special. My wife and I had a great time in Jamaica and MBH was the best place we stayed.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank luxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
46.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Property: Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing