We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property....BUT”
Review of Frenchman's Cove

Frenchman's Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
US$128.75*
and up
Bikini Beach, Blue Lagoon and Rio Grande Day Trip from Runaway Bay or Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You've always wanted to enjoy elaborate, fruit-flavored cocktails on a beautiful tropical beach, so here's your chance; this beach offers spectacular sand, surf and service.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful property....BUT”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

...there was yellow tinged, salty, funky smelling water in the tap (ie the showers to wash off the sea water plus the rest room taps) And it was all day long, gross! (& probably unsafe) The property was beautiful and well kept otherwise. The beach and river were awesome! I would still recommend this attraction. Just be mindful of the water.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    174
    61
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful....like a botanical garden!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

There is a $10 charge per person to get into Frenchmans Cove but it's worth the visit! As you enter you will feel like you are I. A botanical garden with gorgeous foliage and flowers! Felt like I was in Longwood Gardens...the duPont estate! As you walk/drive through the gardens you will come to the beach. It's a fun beach with waves and a white sand bottom. Water is blue and refreshing. There is a lake that runs into it that is shallow with ropes for children or adults to swing on! Lots of fun! The "beds" there....beach chairs are $3 each to rent. If you sit on them you will be charged. Definitely worth the price of admission!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oatti0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A day at Frenchman's Cove”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Frenchman's Cove is a charming beach with amenities to sustain swimmers, and sun bathers for a day at the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise Indeed”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

When the man sang " no place no betta than yaad oh lawd", he was dead serious.

Though originally from Jamaica, I didn't realized just how beautiful the country truly is. I have lived abroad for over 30 years and am now just discovering the wonder and slender of Jamaica.

I spent the weekend in Port Antonio at Frenchman's Cove, it was reminiscent of being in a tropical rainforest, filled with birds, fruit trees, exotic flowers, emerald green and sometimes sapphire blue water, crashing on the rocks and shores. Paradise. (See attached photis)

If you are looking for privacy...this is the place, if you are looking for family fun, this is the place. The villas are scattered over the 40 acres of lush greenery and you only see the others guest on the beach or at breakfast.

I enjoyed my stay so much that I will be going back in August.



Helpful?
1 Thank Caribkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Frenchman's Cove last weekend looking for a romantic getaway...bwoy did we find it. It was one the most amazing natural properties here in Jamaica. The fauna and flora was so beautiful, we couldnt get enough. The beach was spectacular. It is definitely worth a return for us in December.

Helpful?
Thank Rose Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frenchman's Cove also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing